×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Jamie at Home: Cook Your Way to the Good Life
     

Jamie at Home: Cook Your Way to the Good Life

4.1 27
by Jamie Oliver, David Loftus (Photographer)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Home is where the heart is . . . This book is very close to my heart. It's about no-nonsense, simple cooking with great flavors all year round. When I began writing it, I didn't really know what recipes I would come up with, but something began to inspire me very quickly . . . my vegetable patch! I came to realize last year that it's not always about looking

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Jamie at Home 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I received a copy of the book as published in England, before it was available in the US. It offers delicious recipes as well as interesting stories about gardening and ingredients. One of the most enjoyable parts of the book is Oliver's charming personality and the distinctly English turns of phrase and vocabulary. Many of the recipes and ingredients are characteristically English and so the cookbook is also an interesting overview of another food culture.
joegrycow More than 1 year ago
I love this book because it shows the reality of where our food comes from. Whether its grown in a garden at home, raised on a local farm, or wild game "captured" on a hunt, this not only shows how to prepare great food, but shows us that the origins of great food is supremely inportant, and something that most people nowadays are disconnected with.
lovinlife2itsfullest More than 1 year ago
This book follows his same titled TV show perfectly. There is such great information on growing, harvesting, hunting, and preparation of food, it's a "must" for any cook wanting to take ingredients to their most flavorful level. I've bought this book for friends who are self-professed "foodies" and they loved it!
pinkyAA More than 1 year ago
A refreshing take on cooking old favorites and new recipes... really creative... beautiful illustrations... a very unique and delightful chef!
MarySue More than 1 year ago
His recipes are so easy and taste great. Love all the tips. I've watched Jamie At Home on the Food Network and had to buy this book (was using all my DVR space) I feel he has the best show on The Food Network and not happy they took it off. Used to be on Saturday mornings, then they switched to Fridays, now I don't see it at all. He definitely has more talent than anyone else on that channel and I hope they bring him back on.
CraigFL More than 1 year ago
Jamie takes you on a journey from "How I grow it..." to exciting and innovative preparation techniques and recipies, allowing you to develop a connection, a "feel", and a flair with your meal's construction! Beautifully illustrated and exciting pairings; if you appreciate Jamie, you're gonna love this book! A must for any home gardner who lovingly grows some or all of their own foods--a great deal in today's economy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. I am a novice gardener, so not only do I get great recipes, but Jamie talks about how he grows his veggies and gives great tips. It is really 2 books in one. If you aren't a gardener, you will be inspired to start one, or just adore the recipes. I made the roasted potatoes and tomatoes (minus the chicken) for Easter and they were a bit hit!!! BUY THIS BOOK for you or as a gift!
TheNeonNarwhal More than 1 year ago
Excellent food, without fail.  I actually purchased this book after visiting the Jamie Italian restaurants in London and Bath (which are to die for, by the way!) and have been extremely pleased with every meal I've made from this book. Some recipes are fairly simple, but that doesn't take away from how impressive the final result is.  Do know that this book includes a lot of extra information on how to garden, obtain fresh foods, etc. With that in mind, remember that even though this book is quite thick, not all of its content is recipes. Overall, I'd say this book is absolutely worth the money, and looks beautiful to boot. 
GeekyBookworm More than 1 year ago
I loved the Jamie at Home series so much I actually ordered the UK version of this book because I couldn't wait for the US version. The pictures are beautiful and the book is arranged into seasons and seasonally available ingredients in them. While not comprehensive, it has many great recipes and its arrangement makes it easy to find some good recipes for what you have fresh from the garden. It also features some game meat so if you have a hunter in the family, you can find some intriguing ways to cook the meat. Another interesting section was the one on wild mushrooms. I know a couple mushroom hunters and was able to get some of the wild mushrooms from the book and show from them. One of the best things in the book that would appeal to nearly everyone is the pie with steak and Guinness. I make it every year. While the stew takes time to make, it is worth it for the delicious filling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like that this book is well-organized around main ingredients and, of course, that the recipes are great. I had a ton of leeks (not home-grown sadly) and found a bunch of recipes for them. The directions are easy to follow as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago