×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Jay's Journal
     

Jay's Journal

3.4 62
by Anonymous, Beatrice Sparks (Editor)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jay was a sweet, bright high school student who cared about his grades and his friends. He had ambitions. He was happy. And he thought he could handle anything.
He was wrong.
When Jay falls in with a crowd that's dabbling in drugs and the occult, he finds himself in over his head and doing things he never thought possible. Fascinated by the dark arts and in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Jay's Journal 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 62 reviews.
Ashley MacPherson More than 1 year ago
this is not a true story. it is a lie made up by beatrice sparks that ruined this boy's family's life. for the true story read a place in the sun: the truth behind jay's journal by scott barrett, the brother of who this book was 'based' on. that book has his actual journal photocopied into it, so you can see the truth.
MarthaV More than 1 year ago
I know this book is supposed to be the "diary" of a teen boy who gets sucked into the occult, but it seems to leave out so many things that it's just a confusing mess. Also, if you look up the actual author, Beatrice Sparks, you'll find that she pretty much made up most of the book to serve as a cautionary tale. It would have been much more useful had the book actually made sense!! If you're looking for "true-to-life" books, stick with Ellen Hopkins' Crank, Glass, etc. and not this made up, jumbled garbage that was written in SEVENTIES.
KitanaiBaish More than 1 year ago
Beatrice Sparks is at it again. She took a journal and added her own things to it to make a "compelling" story. Go ahead and read it but expect to read a lot of propaganda to keep kids in line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just like go ask alice looks deep in to the mind of a teenager that no one but them sees. I love this book just as much as i loe go ask alice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a sad story. Such a sad story like Go Ask Alice, this book will leave on your edges of your seats as you enter the world of darkness that which we all have been taught not to fall into..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really? "Sketchy gaps", because of your need to fill in sketchy gaps with your own personal thoughts and feelings, you ruined a families life, why couldnt you have just pulished the journal the way it was? Put your thoughts in like an Afterword or something? I feel it is so selfish, that you did this, a boys life and his families has been turned into something so vile. This isnt even their life anymore, its a lets scare children handbook, a weird 70s propaganda movie on paper
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks around, searching for food to feed her sick mother. She was hungry herself. She was about to give up and go hungry when suddenly a big juicy rabbit ran by! She ran after it, makng sure it stayed in her sight. Her silver, blue-striped fur shone in the sun. She was getting closer... closer.... and.... LUNGE! She jumped on top of the rabbit, pinning it down. The rabbit struggled, but Glitterstream bit down on its neck. The rabbit went limp. She triumphantly picked the rabbit up with her mouth, when a rustle came from behind her. A squirrel. She shrugged and padded back to camp.
ErinC13 More than 1 year ago
This review may contain spoilers. Read with caution. Based on how the synopsis of this book was written, I was expecting to read a book that was equal measures entrancing and heartbreaking. With this being written as journal entries, I believe I may have set my expectations a little high. The witchcraft, a subject that interests me immensely, was interwoven into the entire book, as expected, except the details and the lines were blurred. Back in 1978 which this book was published, I suppose it could have been more shocking to those who were not yet used to exposure of sensitive topics. After learning this book is based loosely off of the journal of a real boy, I can't help but feel for him and his family. This book wasn't a cautionary tale meant to steer lost teens away from a dangerous path, the author failed to be helpful. Instead he's depicted as some twisted teen who has veered off of a forged path and decided to go down another. This book could have been written beautifully provided it was handled with care, which it wasn't. I would say Beatrice Sparks was negligent with this story. What could have been amazing and provocative was monotonous and insulting to the real family of the deceased. Handled with respect, Jay's Journal could have been the book to raise awareness for those who have gone down a difficult or dangerous path. It could have taught them about possible consequences. I wish there was a message that it's possible to get out of difficult situations. I'm just thoroughly disappointed with what I read. If any readers are looking for a book they will cling to and need to finish immediately, Jay's Journal, unfortunately, is not that book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
????
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read the other books from the anonymous journal series and was looking foward ti another thinking I would like this one too. Having said that, this book was a waste of my time and money. The writing is.really bad and a lot of the ideas make no sense. Typically I would read a book of this length within a day, but it is taking me.several days and I am still not though it. Wishing I was the type of person who could stop reading a book that stinks. Ugh!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He followed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She watche closely then ccame out afte he cought it and said "Good job!" Let get back to camp. She said picking up a rrabbit and sparroe.headding off
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
~$ilverstar
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
:3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutley loved Go Ask Alice. It was and still is one of my favorite books. Thats why i wasso excited to read this one...but it SUCKS it is horribly written and confusing. It is drenched in fake writing. Go Ask Alice was so much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The back of this book says that it's about a kid who gets addicted to drugs, and his life spirals out of control. NO. This book is about cults, dark magic, the devil, and selling your soul. This book is DISTURBING. It is disgusting. It is scary. After I finished it, I got it out of my house as soon as I could. It starts out interesting, gets really boring, and then gets plain creepy. I don't know if this book is true or not, like it says, or if only parts are true, but the point is, don't read it if you think it's going to be about drugs. THE BACK OF THE BOOK LIES TO YOU.