×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Jean and Johnny
  • Alternative view 1 of Jean and Johnny
  • Alternative view 2 of Jean and Johnny
     

Jean and Johnny

4.0 25
by Beverly Cleary, Beth Krush (Illustrator), Joe Krush (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

First Date

Fifteen-year-old Jean is astonished when a handsome Johnny whirls her ‘round the dance floor. She's never given much thought to boys before; now Johnny is all that's on her mind. Finally she finds the courage to invite him to a dance. But the excitement of a new dress and a scheme to take Johnny's photograph

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Jean and Johnny 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was very inspiring for females to realize that guys aren't as beautiful inside as they may appear on the outside. Not everything that shines is gold. Johnny was the typical high school stud that every girl dreamed of, however, he wasn't what a caring girl would want her significant other to be. I totally recommend this book because it shows that people's looks aren't the most important thing in a relationship. I read this book a couple of years ago when I was 15 and it affected the way I look at guys. I think all teenage girls should read it (or non teenage girls who are teenagers at heart).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read most of Beverly Clearly's books starting with Ramona and Beezus. A few years ago, I saw Jean and Johnny and read it. It was a fun read and I looked for more about Jean. Jean is a young women who is enjoying high school and a new friend. With so many teen books focusing on the lewd things; you wont have to worry with this book. Beverly Clearly takes you right to the heart of a young girl who wants a boyfriend and how she treats others along the way. Jean is an exceptional student has has good manners. When JOhnny comes along, Jean's attitude toward others changes. Read it and find out.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great because even though it came out in the 50s, it kinda reminded me of one of those 80s teen movies I loved as an 80s teen (and still love -- I'm a teen at heart) JEAN is the Molly Ringwald character, of course. JOHNNY, is the handsome Emilio Estevez/Rob Lowe/Andrew McCarthy-type dream boy. HOMER, was the cute-in-a-dorky-way guy who would be played by someone like John Cusack or Jon Cryer or Anthony Michael Hall. Johnny may have been going steady with himself, but Homer was funny and sweet a la Duckie Dale/Ted the Geek/Brian Johnson/Lane Meyer/Lloyd Dobler.
Guest More than 1 year ago
IF YOU ARE A PRE-TEEN TO TEENAGED GIRL, THEN YOU'LL LOVE THIS BOOK. HAVE YOU EVER MET SOMEONE AND LATER FIND OUT THAT YOU GO TO THE SAME SCHOOL? OR HAVE YOU EVER THOUGHT THAT YOU LIKED SOMEONE WHEN REALLY........ READ THIS GREAT BOOK[AND MAYBE YOU CAN FINISH MY SENTENCE] ABOUT THE FUN TEENAGE LIFE!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the story fo a teenage girl named Jean who is not at all popular. She only has one friend, who is her best friend. She is helping her friend's mother decorate a club's ballroom for a ball. She watches the dancers twirling about and wishes she could be one of them. All of a sudden, one of the young men srand up to her and ask her for a dance. She somehow finds herself dancing clumsily along. He is a very talented dancer. At school later, she learns that his name is Jonny. He is a very popular boy. She starts tagging along with him and walking with him from school. When her best friend decides to give Jean a birthday present, she (Jean) requests a photo of herself with Jonny. In the picture she looks terrible, while Jonny looks great, seeming to be the center. When the school has a dance where all the girls invite the bous, she invites Jonny. He agrees to go very condescendingly. Them later he says his grandmother is sick so he cannot go with her. She decides to ask Jonny's friend to go instead. There she finds the attention Jonny had was superficial, because at the dance she sees Jonny with anither girl there. She starts to like Jonny's friend and they go to the friend's hpuse afterwards and have a swell time. I give this book only 3 stars because it is a cheap kiddish romance. Even though it has a good moral, it is not my type. If you like it, good for you, but I don't. Beverly cleary is a good athor, hough. Reviewed by C. J. O.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What is this suppose to be there is no interesting parts and i just kept reading to see if it got any better but no the end was like the saddest think ever cause i wasted my time reading it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the book so fare i did not get that fare the book!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its just ok i mean its goo so far in the story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I <3 Bevrely Cleary!!!!!
maria mauceri More than 1 year ago
it was a really GOOD book :+)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
... eh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go to rumpelstiltskin first result. See you there.
Guest More than 1 year ago
She makes her best books come to life and she makes them funnyand very good to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My friend Ranae recomended this book to me and it's sweet. A great book for any girl. Thankyou Ranae!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think girls should read this book and see what this girl goes through.I don't this should happen to girls.I think guys need to learn how to treat a girl be for dating a girl.