×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Jester
     

The Jester

4.1 227
by James Patterson, Andrew Gross
 

See All Formats & Editions

Hugh De Luc returns from the Crusades to discover that his terrifying nightmare has just begun. Merciless killers have slain his young son, kidnapped his wife, Sophie, and destroyed his town in their search for a priceless relic from the Crucifixion. Hugh's quest to find Sophie is one of the most pulse-pounding adventures, mysteries, and unforgettable love

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Jester 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 226 reviews.
Mal_FL More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down once I started reading it. I didn't find any part of it slow, it was well written and it kept me wanting to read "just one more chapter". I even dreamt about the book after staying up late reading. While I do enjoy his 'stand alone' books more then his series... James Patterson doesn't fail to please me when I read his books. From a ordinary farmer, to the crusades, and then on to fight the greatest war ever seen between lords and their subjects.. Hugh is an absolutely loveable character. His men are loyal, and his love for Sophie -his wife, and his need to avenge her keeps the reader on their toes. Hugh De Luc is an ordinary inn keeper, little does he know that after he joins AND deserts the crusades that he coems back with the greatest prize in all of christendom. It takes him some time, and a couple of bloody fights to realize what it is. Once he does though, nothing can stop him, or his army of "simple" people on their march to the castles to take down the Dukes that have wronged them for so long. Along the way he finds some unexpected friends, one of whom he wants to hold forever.. I highly recommend this book if you like historical fiction ,or James Patterson. Even though Patterson doesn't typically right historical fiction he did a wondeful job. A+ ! :)
airline_fcti More than 1 year ago
I was taken aback with this book. I never thought of James Patterson writing a novel taking place in the middle ages. It was different and although it seemed strange (because of the author)it was an interesting book. I kept reading it because I am a real J. Patterson fan. His writing style is enough to keep the reader going. I also read his book "The Murder of King Tut" and was intrigued by it. I have read and studied a lot about ancient civilizations and this one seemed to follow with everything I had learned in the past.
ChrisCG More than 1 year ago
What a great read... I was interested, then scared, then touched... You feel so many different emotions throughout the book... I've read it twice already...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my top five favorite books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This by far is one of the best books I have ever read. Evn though it looks very long the chapters are very short and make it a quick read. It has a plot I have never read before and it constantly kept me on my toes. There are many connections to previous chapters and the characters were very relatable. I constantly was screaming while reading this book because the plot thickened in almost every chapter. I HIGHLY recommend this book to any reader who wants to read something new!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best james patterson yet
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fast moving with lots of blood and histroy. Don't forget the love thrown in for those that wantit.
mrzappa More than 1 year ago
Great read. Loved this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very well-written book, filled with action. The Jester was such a good book! I am a history fanatic, but you don't have to be to love this book. It was suspenseful, and full of surprises. Many of the characters were so well-described. I found myself feeling for the main characters, and really being able to relate to them. I feel like I learned so much about the Crusades just by reading this book. I could barely stop reading this book because I loved it so much! There are some scenes that are probably intended for mature audiences, but other than those few parts, its really an incredible, pulse-pounding story of a man who comes back from the Crusades to find his small town torn apart. There are so many parts in this book that make the reader happy for the characters, or feel bad for them. Throughout this book I learned a lot about the first Crusade...more than I would have thought from reading a 'fiction' book. Seriously, anyone who wants to read a historical fiction book that is full of suspense, read this one! The Jester is sure to not disappoint, and its story line is amazing itself. This book really explains to readers how the Crusades didn't just affect those who fought in them...they affected everyone. Truly an amazing book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am Grace. I do NOT want a chatroom
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
De0307 More than 1 year ago
Read James Patterson's books. They are all fantastic fiction reading materials. I can't say it any other way. He is an awesome writer and I love all of the books that I have read by him, old and new, alike. Read James Patterson's books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GtzLstNRding More than 1 year ago
Brilliantly written story about the crusades and a common mans journey for freedom and what comes out of the journey. The story will touch your heart in so many ways as well as shedding light on the brutalities and injustices of how the world was so long ago. The trails Hugh endures developes the incrediable leader role he thrust into while finally bringing his lifes journey full circle. This story will make you sad, happy, cheer and be outraged and will tug at so many emotions.