×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Jesus Is: Find a New Way to Be Human
     

Jesus Is: Find a New Way to Be Human

4.6 38
by Judah Smith
 

See All Formats & Editions

A New York Times Best-Seller!

Jesus is ____. How would you finish that sentence?

The subject is there, and so is the verb, but what comes next? Your answer could shed light on the path to becoming who you were made to be.

In these pages, Judah Smith fills out that sentence again and again, each time further revealing the character of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Jesus Is: Find a New Way to Be Human 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 38 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book beautifully points the reader to Jesus. It is simple, yet profound. Thought provoking yet an easy read. I found that the true beauty of the book is that it is written to each of us: the self-righteous, the broken, the religious, the skeptic, the mature, you, me, everyone. The book discusses the character and nature of Jesus. As a believer in Christ, I found myself challenged and encouraged to evaluate the way I represent Jesus. Far too often, as we grow closer to the Lord, we forget how to relate to people far from God. It is a must read, for everyone.
PJtheEMT4 More than 1 year ago
Jesus Is __________. Find A New Way to be Human By Judah Smith is a new book written for today's modern generation. This book introduces both the non believing reader as well as the Christian to a new way of thinking about Jesus and His purpose. This book challenges the strongly held traditions and misconceptions about Jesus that many people hold onto. As the title indicates, the author, a young pastor of a large church, invites the reader to think about who Jesus is and what Jesus means. The reader is challenged to fill in the blank with what he or she feels Jesus means. Additionally, Smith takes the reader on a journey that focuses on the traits of Christ and how the reality of Jesus as depicted in the bible stands in direct opposition to the myths that society and traditional religions have created. For example the author points out that "in reality, for many people, the greatest hindrance to receiving the grace of God is not their scandalous sins- it's their empty good deeds". (page 15) I am sure that many readers will be offended by this confrontation. Nevertheless its the truth that Jesus taught- about salvation based on grace and not works. Smith continues on, by using biblical passages and stories to illustrate the concepts and points. For example, he provides several examples from the gospels where repentant sinners such as tax collectors were justified in contrast to the hypocritical Pharisees. The book is divided into several sections based on a specific trait of Jesus in which The Jesus Is _______ (blank) is filled with a specific adjective. For example, the blank is filled with the following adjectives and descriptions: friend, grace, point, happy, here and alive. Each trait is covered by three chapters for clarity. In a personal tone, Smith actually speaks to the reader in easy to understand language that is true to biblical teaching. he combination of biblical accuracy as well as the personal conversational tone is sure to draw in readers of all ages: believers and nonbelivers alike. In fact, the format of the book encourages the reader to fill in the blanks with his own options as well- as the adjectives listed by Smith are just the beginning of the possibilities. As a blogger for booksneeze I received this book published by Thomas Nelson publishers for the purpose of writing this review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book will leave you asking that question. It's simple, and yet sometimes its the first thing that we forget. Who Jesus really is. I love how quickly I can pick up this book and delve into it and get so much out of it. It's packed with biblical truths that will leave you wanting more of Jesus. I picked it up the other day and couldn't put it down. I promise you if you are questioning your faith, or who Jesus is...pick this book up. You'll love it! It's my prayer that as you read it you will grow in your walk with the Lord, and truly be an example to the world of who Jesus Is...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An absolute must read. Pastor Judah Smith examines Jesus from every possible angle. Giving common misconceptions while pointing the readers to the truth of who Jesus really is. This book brought me back to the joy of my salvation. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Today there are so many books about Jesus, but to me, this one is the most thought-provoking book about Jesus. Judah Smith makes it clear that, as Christians, we need to have a clear understanding of Jesus. In the journey together with Judah Smith, Judah Smith does an incredible job of focusing on WHO JESUS IS. And in this process I was thoroughly engaged in the discussion. Jesus is _____ leaves room for the readers to think about who He is in their personal lives. The book, then, begins to uncover the main character, giving attributes and examples to show Jesus. In doing so, Judah also reveals the common misconceptions about Jesus, and uses examples from the Bible to depict a clear picture of who Jesus REALLY is. He is very clear in narrating the story of Jesus. With a casual tone, the readers can easily fall into the book and read, as it is not a hard read. Judah Smith does a great job in incorporating the truths from the Bible with other stories and application. Personally, I have enjoyed reading this book, because there is so much truth in the book. I have been convicted AND encouraged by Judah's descriptions of Jesus. There is certainly a lot to learn in this journey to finding Jesus, and it is a great journey to be on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very seldom do I pick up a book and read it within the week of purchase.  My ADD and note-taking OCD never make for a good combo while reading.  However, it was different with Jesus Is… as I found it onerous to put the book down.  The ‘swagger,’ as Smith calls it, writing style seen throughout Jesus Is… makes for an easy, but yet, thoughtful read.  Jesus Is… is meant for a simple read because everything should be simple, even following Jesus.  Jesus Is…is broken down into six sections: Jesus is Your Friend, Jesus is Grace, Jesus is The Point, Jesus is Happy, Jesus is Here, and Jesus is Alive.  Using stories from scripture and his own personal life, Smith uses each section to address certain issues.  From the loss of a loved one to the exhausted individual, there is a section all can relate to.  Smith uses this personal connection to engage the audience on who Jesus is, why Jesus is, and what Jesus is.  In doing so, Smith gives the reader an understanding of how deep Christ’s love is for each of us.   This is a worthy read and one that I will probably read again.  It gave me clarity on some issues and provided me with reassurance on the love Jesus has for me, the exhausted sinner.   I hope this book opens your eyes as much as it did mine.  We are called to follow Jesus, to evangelize and spread the Good News.  But we are not called to exhaust ourselves while doing so. 
AndrewJ12 More than 1 year ago
Have you ever wanted to hang out with Jesus? What would it be like to just chill with jesus? Would it be like sitting in a church with the wooden pews, the stain glass windows and a Gigantic Jesus action figure hanging  by cords from the ceiling? or would it be like hangin out with a good friend. a best friend. I vote the latter.  In Jesus Is _____. Judah Smith paints a picture of Jesus Christ that is contrary to popular belief.  (the guy who never smiles in  the pictures You see on the internet, or the big guy upstairs with a halo creating rules for mankind) Thats not it at all. By going through the bible,  Judah Points us towards Jesus, as a friendly person, who loves us, wants to hang out with us, and show us his mercy, his love, his grace and abundantly more than this.  It does not matter who you are, what you have done, Jesus is for you. This is a book that you will never regret buying. No matter who you are. @Judahsmith writes in such a way where it is easy to read,  easy to understand, and easy to get to know Jesus for yourself. As I was reading this, I laughed, I cried, but most importantly,  i had a better understanding of who Jesus Is to me.  #Jesus Is the point of life. @Judahsmith Pick up this book. it's a must have.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This has been the most enjoyable book i have read in a while. All the quoted scripture verses are actually provided for you right there when you actually need them. No stopping to go look anything up. Nice. And Jesus is the answer how often I need to be reminded.
JiM01 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The author really expressed how Jesus is full of grace and mercy without holding back truth. When you read about Jesus in the bible he talked to those who are in need of a Savior(as we all are)he used two things Grace and Truth. This book points that out. A great read of our Lord and Savior; Jesus.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I lve this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im only in chapter 4 but ive been so blessed by it already. The book is pretty blunt (not a sugar-coated message) but its necessary. Ch 1-eyes wide open; ch 2-realizations made abt myself; ch 3-repenting; ch 4-crying! I think every church or small group should do a study on this book...it can only help.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing book! Love the way Judah writes. So many nuggets I will treasure forever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great! I would recommend it to anyone. The content is fantastic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I received an advance copy of this book and once I started reading it I could not stop. It's a unique book in as much as it manages to speak to to all people at various walks of their faith. You can read this book if you're an unbeliever, a new believer or someone who has been in the Christian faith for years. One thing Judah Smith does so effortlessly is deliver the message of Jesus in such a simple yet profound way. When you read the book you feel as though you're speaking to a friend. You feel as though Judah is sitting in the room having a casual conversation with you. Judah Smith reminds me of that friend we all have. He's fun to be around, he's chatty, he's jokey but once you enter a deep conversation with him, he effortlessly makes profound statements which make you gasp, nod voraciously and change opinions you may have held for years. He describes the concepts of grace and love with a combination of such ease and depth. As you read the book, you feel as though Judah has written a book about his best friend and can't wait to tell you how amazing he is! Which is exactly what he's done. His excitement about his personal relationship with Jesus is so evident throughout the book that you can't help but want to know more about Jesus. Then as you read you begin to discover exactly why Judah is so excited about Jesus. Each title is titled Jesus is _____ with a word filling the gap, which made the book easier to read, as it came across as a collection of short stories compiled to piece together one bigger story. Each chapter stands alone in describing Jesus, yet combined they all fit together to give the reader an understanding of Jesus' purpose on earth, his divinity and his role in our lives. Personally, my favourite chapter was 'Jesus is Happy'. It made me smile. It made me laugh. And it made me realise that above all, Jesus was happy because of us, because he's proud of us, because he cares for us; because he loves us. I would recommend this book to everyone and anyone. There is absolutely no-one,in my opinion, who would not have something to gain from reading this book. So if you're looking for a book about Jesus not drenched in complex theological terms but simply introducing you to Jesus, go for this one! You'll laugh a lot reading this book. A heck of a lot. But more importantly, you'll get to know more about Jesus than you probably ever thought possible.
Bro_Chris More than 1 year ago
-I had the privilege of reading "Jesus Is ___ ." a few weeks before the official release date and I was completely in awe of the Revelation that Pastor Judah had for his audience. It's a book for Veteran Believers and the fresh Christian alike. And what's even better, a reader with no knowledge of Jesus or a Doubter of Christianity, would walk away with a clear understanding of the Gospel, and why we as Christians put our Faith in God. Pastor Judah opens up his life and shows us the things We All struggle with, but never talk about. I laughed more than a handful of times while getting into this great book... Pastor Judah is a comedian, but I don't think he can help it, which makes it funnier. I encourage any and all to read this book. It is an awesome companion to your Bible. It will bless you in ways you can not imagine. What do I mean? Well, I was inspired to write a song after reading this book. What will this book inspire you to do?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I received a copy of JESUS IS __________: FIND A NEW WAY TO BE HUMAN by Judah Smith from Thomas Nelson via BookSneeze.  The foreword is by Bubba Watson.   It is a great way to open the novel.  It really spoke to me, as a human, with its strong, down-to-earth quality.  In it, Bubba mentions connecting with Judah via Twitter.  My literary agent has been pushing me to become more involved in social media.  The foreword proves again how you can build an audience for yourself using Twitter, and other online sources. JESUS IS __________ tells the story of Jesus in different lights, such as “Jesus is your friend” and “Jesus is grace.”  Each section starts off with “Jesus is ______” and the rest of the sentence is filled in using a different font.  The sections are quick and easy to read.  I shared this with family, who also found great enlightenment.  In our hearts, we know how to live meaningful lives, but sometimes it takes someone telling us for it to really sink in.  On page fifty-eight, Judah Smith says, “Make rules and follow rules as needed, but don’t focus on rules.  Focus on faith.  Focus on grace.  Focus on Jesus.”  Sometimes rules become overpowering and we, as humans, focus solely on them, becoming blind to the things around us.   I highly recommend this book to anyone hoping to revitalize his or her life.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had a wonderful time reading Jesus Is by Judah Smith. It's a refreshing reminder of why we love Jesus and how much more He loves us. Judah's chapter on grace was so perfect. This is an easy read for any age and is current, relevant and REAL! This is a book that I will be buying for our high school and college youth for sure. I just cant say enough great things about this book. LOVE IT!