×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Jingle Dancer
     

Jingle Dancer

5.0 8
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jenna, a contemporary Muscogee (Creek) girl in Oklahoma, wants to honor a family tradition by jingle dancing at the next powwow. But where will she find enough jingles for her dress? An unusual, warm family story, beautifully evoked in Cornelius Van Wright and Ying-Hwa Hu's watercolor art.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Jingle Dancer 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book book for children to learn about the tradition inolved in jingle dresses. It is well written and my 6 and 7 year old foster children love it !
Guest More than 1 year ago
What? No teepees or war paint? Bravo! Cynthia Leitich Smith¿s JINGLE DANCER is a refreshing story about a Muscogee-Ojibway girl wanting to participate in a powwow by performing a traditional dance. This contemporary picture book story is free of the stereotypes sometimes associated with Native American tales, and instead shows Jenna watching her grandma dance on a video tape, visiting a friend in a new duplex in the community, and talking with her lawyer aunt. The reader is also introduced to information about a traditional story, game, foods, and dance. Smith¿s lyrical narrative and captivating story makes this a perfect read-a-loud -- as my five-year-old daughter will attest to. As an Asian-American, I¿m always thrilled to see contemporary stories with multicultural characters shown in real and positive ways. Beautiful illustrations by Cornelius Van Wright and Ying-Hwa Hu.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Until very recently, there were no large press picture books about contemporary Native children written by Indian authors. For this reason, Jingle Dancer is particularly notable. The story of Jenna, a member of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation living with her family in Oklahoma, is written by a Native author. Rather than focusing exclusively on Jenna's Indian identity, however, the book presents Jenna as an average American kid, living in suburbia, who calls on her Native sensibilities and her broad community of supportive females to overcome a problem as she tries to put together her regalia for the Jingle Dance. Readers who are not familiar with the customs presented here will learn much, but above all, they will learn that Indian children are alive, well, and living rich lives amongst them, a lesson infrequently taught, and rarely so pleasantly. Rich, bright, cheerful watercolor illustrations by husband-and-wife team Cornelius Van Wright and Ying-Hwa Hu enhance the presentation and bring Jenna to life. A significantly informative Author's Note and Glossary make the book even more effective.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Cynthia Leitich Smith's, JINGLE DANCER, is a delightful book. Ms. Smith weaves a loving story of the strong female ties in Native American societies. Smith celebrates the sharing spirit of friends and family. The passages of Jenna dancing through her day, from dawn to moonlight are pure poetry. Cornelius Van Wright's and Ying-Hwa Hu bright, lively illustrations are a perfect match. I am looking forward to reading Ms. Smith's next contribution for our children. Cynthia Leitich Smith's talent is to be applauded as a great addition to the world of children's book authors.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have a daughter who is part Blackfoot Indian through her father. I obtained a copy of Jingle Dancer and shared it with her. We both truly enjoyed the book and learned together about Native American traditions. I also enjoyed the illustrations. I recommend this book to anyone, Native American or not.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jingle Dancer is a story rich with sensory details and vibrant characters. The most vividly drawn character of all is Jenna, whose heart beats 'to the brum, brum, brum, brum of the powwow drum' as she daydreams about jingle dancing like her beloved Grandma Wolfe. But to dance, Jenna needs her dress to sing with 'four rows of jingles.' Young readers will delight in following Jenna on her quest to find jingles for her dress. Cynthia Leitich Smith's text is graceful and poetic. In Jenna, the author has created an engaging, absolutely believable young heroine who will win over the hearts of those who read her story. The paintings of Cornelius Van Wright and Ying-Hwa Hu bring Jenna and her family to life in gorgeous, warm-toned colors. Jingle Dancer is an outstanding choice for families and schools alike.
Guest More than 1 year ago
JINGLE DANCER is a poetic and charming book about a young Creek-Ojibway girl who works on her regalia and acts respectfully toward women in her life. I have jingle dancers in my own family, and this is a great gift book for them. I really like that there are Indians in this book with some higher education.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recommend this book not only for its heartwarming story, but also for its real-life approach to Native American culture.