×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Journey in Time
     

Journey in Time

4.8 12
by Chris Karlsen
 
London attorney, Shakira Constantine finally agrees to spend the day with her handsome client, Alex Lancaster. While riding in the countryside, the couple finds themselves caught in a time warp and transported back to the 14th century-and an England preparing for war. Everyone believes Alex is the Baron Guy Guisard, a baron who died in the upcoming battle.

If they

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Journey In Time 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Book-Reader-Seattle More than 1 year ago
Ms. Karlsen is a meticulous writer. She researches her story to make sure history is accurate. I love Medieval stories anyway, so this was bound to be a favorite for me. Ms. Karlsen's story-telling, character development, and well-plotted story keeps the reader glued to the pages... it makes the reader want to move in with the characters and be part of their life. I'm looking forward to more books by this author. Congrats on a good read Ms. Karlsen.
AJSC11 More than 1 year ago
This is a story that anyone intertested in history will thrughly enjoy. Ghost Knigt killed in battle is given a second chance in life. His new love and he are thrown back to his life's time. The writer makes the reader feel they are also with the couple in their experience. Amost delightful story.
MayrasSecretBookcase More than 1 year ago
Shakira Constantine is a beautiful, independent, successful London attorney. One night she meets handsome Alex Lancaster. There's no denying that the sparks are mutual, even though she isn't impressed by his riveting good looks and acting career. Then fate plays a trick on her when he is unjustly sued for sexual harassment and she ends up representing him. Of course, now that he's her client, they get to spend a lot more time together. Risking venturing into the boudaries of unethical behavior, she accepts his invitation to spend a weekend in the countryside. He promises to behave and also swears that the weekend will be strictly professional. Nothing, however, prepares her for what happens next... Walking in the woods one day, they experience a moment of abrupt, strange disorientation and find themselves in front of a Norman medieval stone castle. Everyone around them is dressed in medieval fashion and speak in an archaic way just like in The Cantebury Tales. Unable to believe her eyes, Shakira thinks the setting is for one of his movies. But nothing prepares her for the truth... Journey in Time is a steamy, time-travel romance story with a strong, independent heroine and an irrisistible, warm and caring hero. Karslen does an excellent job with the historical setting and characters. I really felt myself transported in time and enjoyed all the historical details. There's also a lot of good humor at times to balance the serious segments. Abundant love scenes spice up the prose and there's enough tension to keep readers turning pages. I look forward to reading more novels from this talented author.
CornyMyers More than 1 year ago
I just read Heros Live Forever and loved it. Journey in Time was just as wonderful. I loved this wonderful time travel romance! I can't wait for her next book to come out. Hurry, hurry… Journey in Time is beautifully written and engaging. Ms. Karlsen did a great job of keeping tension throughout. I connected with both Alex and Shakira. The transition into medieval times was interesting and well-researched. This was one of the most meaty romances I've read in a while. Excellent job!
theladydarlene More than 1 year ago
Sharkira and Alex are well-drawn characters unexpectedly thrust back in time to a date one is very familiar with - and the other is not! A breathtaking, heart-felt romance, sprinkled with humor, Journey in Time is a fantastic read full of vivid historical detail. You will not want to miss this one!
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Review by Bri: Chris Karlsen delivers again. I read the first book, Heroes Live Forever, in this double feature of awesome reading. I have to say Alex Lancaster was my favorite character in Heroes. Which is funny because he wasn¿t the main protagonist, that¿s just the kind of character he is. Charming, intelligent, handsome with the right amount of alpha male qualities I crave. Therefore, when I saw that he had his own book I had to have it. Our fearsome leader, Jen, here at Romancing The Book contacted Chris and she sent me a copy to review. I thank them both. Heroes Live Forever and Journey In Time essentially have the same formula. If you are unsure of what that is then I¿ll explain. Romance authors will use a formula to build a story around. Most often times they don¿t even realize it because with different settings, times, characters and conflicts the story is very different. However, Chris Karlsen has a formula¿a successful one and she should keep using it. She knows her characters tremendously well. They grow in the course of the book as they would if they were real people. Shakira Constantine is the perfect woman for Alex. Both are prideful, independent, attractive, and successful. But something else that I love about Chris¿ books is that the conflict comes to a head. She does not shy away from the true challenges or heartaches in the relationships of the hero and heroine. Then like a great movie she provides a resolutions that leaves you reeling but blessedly sated.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. To me it was an emotional book, but I couldn't put it down. I definitely recommend this book.
jojoNE More than 1 year ago
This is an intriguing time-travel romance full of emotional angst and vividly depicted scenery. I found myself drawn to many of the characters and rooted for their happiness every step of the way, particularly amongst the male characters. Alex/Guy, whose story was touched on in the previous book, is one of the male characters that I'm particularly drawn to. He's charming and protective of those he cares for and easily navigated between the past and present. He always tried to do the honorable thing even when the course was not an easy one and I admit to a bit of a crush on him. His fellow knights Simon and Stephen were also appealing with vivid and immensely likable qualities. I would love to see more of these characters and with a word of warning given to Stephen late in the story I have high hopes of his storyline continuing. While the males in this story are a highlight, I was a bit disappointed in the heroine. Shakira is an outspoken woman in the world of law and a musician. In the present those qualities are admirable and likable. Once in the past though a more unpleasant side of her comes out. She's only concerned with her well-being and angered that Alex adjusts so easily. She wants modern things immediately and to be treated in a modern way regardless of how it appears. During her time in the past I found her shrewish and overbearing. I'm sure that the circumstances of being thrown into the unexpected caused her unappealing nature and ultimately, once back in the present, she became more likable and worthy of the hero. In most time-travel stories the cause of it is left unexplained for the most part. This story takes a different course and spends a bit of time debating the cause which felt out of place and was a bit too scientific. Time spent on debate could've been used better elsewhere. With it being a romance, I wish the mysteriousness of the situation had been left open-ended. All-in-all I found this story intriguing and well worth the read. Even though this is a sequel I never really felt lost but I think reading the previous book would've added to the enjoyment and fleshed-out some of the lesser characters. Fans of time-travel will not be disappointed and will find this a worthy addition to the genre. My rating for this is 3.5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this wonderful time travel romance! Shakira is one of my favorite female characters- she's smart, beautiful and doesn't take crap from anyone. It's obvious Karlsen has done her homework in regard to the historical aspect of the book- I loved how Shakira's viewpoint made me feel as though I was there, experiencing the 14th century as a contemporary woman would. This is a great follow up to Heroes Live Forever. Read it, buy it. I know you won't be disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for more
Jesse_Kimmel-Freeman More than 1 year ago
I love the amount of research that Chris invests in her books. She isn't just shooting from the hip here, she's taken her time and found things out. This is the fourth book that I've read by Chris and I love them all. She has a way with characters and settings that I think transcends the genres or subgenres that she writes in. I think she would do just as well writing any form of fiction that is meant to reach out and touch the reader. I loved the element of time travel here. It's done in a way that isn't boring and really makes you think about the situation, like "what if?" Once again she gives you characters that you really want to know about. You want to find out what will happen to them. You invest in them, like they're friends. The setting is just as great as the first in the series as well. Chris is truly gifted with words and I hope to see many more books from her. I definitely recommend this book as a great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago