×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Joy Takes Flight: A Novel
     

Joy Takes Flight: A Novel

4.6 17
by Bonnie Leon
 

See All Formats & Editions

Kate Evans and Paul Anderson are finally married, settling in, and starting a family. They rejoice when Kate finds she is pregnant, but soon it is clear that there are hurdles ahead. Should she continue in her dangerous profession as an Alaskan bush pilot? Can she really fall into the role of a wife? Then tragedy strikes, life begins to unravel, and Kate fears she may

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Joy Takes Flight: A Novel 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book
JoHuddleston More than 1 year ago
Kate, a bush pilot in Alaska, has forged her position in an area where men pilots dominate. Before Kate and Paul, a medical doctor, marry he promises her she can continue her role as pilot. When a doctor is needed in any part of Alaska, she flies and he is the doctor she takes to where ever the need awaits. When tragedy hits the newlyweds, Paul blames himself. His brother calls him that their mother is near death and Paul returns to his former home in San Francisco. Kate, impatient that Paul hasn’t returned when planned, flies to San Francisco to urge him to return to Alaska. Can the two find a compromise that will meld them together? A great conclusion to Leon’s Alaskan Series of books. The vivid description of setting makes the reader feel the cold as Kate pulls her parka’s hood tighter around her face. Action-packed adventures, romance, and memorable characters.
Adam412 More than 1 year ago
Joy Takes Flight by Bonnie Leon Here’s another good book in the Alaska Skies series by Bonnie Leon. Bonnie brings reality to the airplane cockpit flying in and out of the primitive frozen Alaska runways . You hear the crunch and feel every bump as the wheels touch down or prepare for takeoff. The author brings readers to the skies and into the frigid valleys of Alaska but Bonnie Leon doesn’t live in there, and she’s not a pilot. How does an author write effectively from a location where she doesn’t live and a career she’s never experienced? Bonnie Leon says you pick brains and do research. Ah, but there’s more to Bonnie Leon than that. She also knows how to plot a compelling story. We get the feel of flying through blue skies, looking down on moose, bear—and the rustic cabin where a murderer probably is holed up. Bonnie characters are so true to life it feels like a close friend is telling (actually showing) you the story about real people. Newlyweds Kate and Paul fuss and have head butting arguments just like normal couples, but their love is deep, their risks and problems large. As with many Christian novels, there is spiritual pay dirt in this book and good advice on making sound marriages as characters discuss the challenges and the way to work them out. The story is wrapped in brilliant writing and inspiration. Writers will notice good craftsmanship, strong active verbs, and good examples of showing instead of telling. How you dodge bullets and an attacker when you’re flying a plane? The way to find out is to read this compelling book. A great read. Note: I was provided a review copy, but the opinions here are my own.
nurseljo More than 1 year ago
I loved this book as I love the excitement of flying from a women's view point. I love Alaska and its natural beauty . I like strong women who also love what they do and a love story too. I read this book first because I did not know there were others but enjoying all of them. This is # 3 so its best to start with #1.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To be posted
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the first 2/3 of the book but once Paul went back to SF the book dragged on and on. I could barely stand it and skipped to the end for the reunion thinking that's it?!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SarahSundin More than 1 year ago
Joy Takes Flight is a gripping story filled with adventure and excitement, but it also shows wonderful character development for both Kate and Paul as married life forces them to stretch. Those who have enjoyed the first two books in this series (and they DO have to be read in order) will love watching the sub-plots come to satisfying - although never easy - conclusions. I highly recommend this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yeah. Get used to spectacular miracles with me. I have my ways. She smiled at armorkit.