×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Julia's Chocolates
     

Julia's Chocolates

4.1 91
by Cathy Lamb
 

See All Formats & Editions

I left my wedding dress hanging in a tree somewhere in North Dakota. I don't know why that particular tree appealed to me. Perhaps it was because it looked as if it had given up and died years ago and was still standing because it didn't know what else to do. . .

In her deliciously funny, heartfelt, and moving debut, Cathy Lamb introduces some of the most

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Julia's Chocolates 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 91 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've been interested in reading since I was in second grade and very few times can I remember a book making me laugh out loud.....but this one did! If you just want an entertaining book that can remove you from your every day life for a few hours....this is it. I laughed, I was inspired, I was angry, I was sad and I felt proud. You won't be disappointed. Also, just to let you know how much I liked it...I bought 5 copies to give out at Christmas.
RitzyDi More than 1 year ago
This is an outstanding book, while I lean toward humorous, contemporary mysteries and romances, Ms. Lamb intertwined all of that in this absorbing story of women working through contemporary issues of health, marriage, religion, careers and the dark ugliness of abuses. Some of the characters are hard to believe, some are more than you could hope for, but she makes them come alive right off the pages. I cheered, I cried, I laughed and I hated to finish the book. There is alot of graphic violent abuse in the character's background and it is described in detail, almost as if the author is working her own way through a healing process. At first, I thought it might be too much, but I stayed with it, skipped over the most painful parts to read the fun parts. Loved the leading ladies and their psychic nights of good food, wine and discovering their intimate feminine powers. This is one of those books I'll always remember because it hits so many chords of deep emotion yet delivers a happy ending, tying up all the loose strings and ugly pieces with laughter along the way. It only happens in the best of books, never in real life! Which is why we read!
Kevee89 More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite books. Couldn't put it down!
Heinze2104 More than 1 year ago
This book is fantastic!! Laugh out loud funny, and heartbreaking all at the same time. Its one of my favorite ever. I loved it. Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the greatest books I've ever read!!! Do yourself a favor and pick it up!!!
lmmomma More than 1 year ago
The humor alone makes it a must read!
RaeStar More than 1 year ago
The women in this book are wise and quirky. They are strong when they need to be, funny at times, and always warm. The subject matter is unfortunately, one that exists in our world and often swept under the rug. The joy with which the circle of women walk into the valleys of their lives and emerge holding hands for support is inspiring and heart warming! As the story draws to its conclusion, there is a time of nail biting, breath holding suspense. Then the courage of the main charcter, Julia kicks in and she triumphs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had just finished "The Last Time I was Me", and I was browsing in B&N found this book. I related in so many aspects to all the women, although I have never been beaten, or had cancer; I have fought my own demons in my life. The way the aunt takes charge and makes them women confront their demons is awe inspiring. The fact that each women finds their strength through the weakness' in their lives, is a reality of life. Through the rough times and storms we learn to survive and rely on others. The book lets you know that you are not alone and can't handle everything on your own. Loved this book can't wait for the next one this summer.
OurBookAddiction More than 1 year ago
This is the first I’ve read by this author and it certainly won’t be my last. A couple of the weekly meetings got a little goofy, but what speaks to me so loudly is the power of female friendship. The bond between women can be so strong and gripping. We have many friends in our lives, many come and go, but true and deep friendships are few…and those are the ones that last forever and weather any storm.
kate413 More than 1 year ago
what a great book, i think i knew some of her characters, couldnt put it down so have ordered some of her other books .... sooo good. loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although the subject matter is often serious, there was incredible humor to balance it out. I laughed out loud many times and loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This wasmy first book i read from her. Absolutely loved it. I am excited to start reading the rest of her books.
NIcole Fontenot More than 1 year ago
This author writes great stories...definately chic lit, but good
GHott More than 1 year ago
This book is a must read - and reread. I've read it three times already and when I get back to it I always find something I missed before - whether it's the comfort of friends who understand, being with people who actually like the real you, or just remembering that just because the right man hasn't come along doesn't mean that you should just take what's there. Grab the book and a box of Kleenex - but be prepared not to put it down!!
CraftyGirlRC More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and would suggest it to friends. The books starts out a little slow but other than that a great read. The book has romance, frienship, mystery, heartache, humor, and over coming struggles. The characters eill touch your soul and have you lauging and crying on the same page. Cathy Lamb the author writes in a way in which you feel you are there with the characters experiencing the love, heartach, friendship, stuggles, and terror in their lives.
lollibear More than 1 year ago
I have to admit that when I first picked up Julia's Chocolates I didn't think that I was going to like it. But I was more than surprised at how much I fell in love with the characters and in turn with Cathy Lamb and her style of writing. I look forward to reading more of her work!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! The characters were so real. It made me think. This is one of those books that I will read several times.
Hot_Mess8885 More than 1 year ago
I love this book! I generally only read non-fiction, but I took a chance on Julia's Chocolates and I was not disappointed! I love Cathy Lamb's writing style and I felt that I could really relate to the characters. I still have a few chapters to go, but I decided to jump on B&N really quick to order Cathy Lamb's first book, as well as pre-order her next one. This book is heart-warming, funny, and a must-read for any woman!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the characters in this book they are caring, strong, and funny.
WTC More than 1 year ago
I found the writing of Julia's Chocolates to be fresh and endearing. The characters were funny and enlightening. The plot had a nice twist, while keeping things light. Definitely a must read!
Kate_Sullivan More than 1 year ago
The very first line of this book, "I left my wedding dress hanging in a tree somewhere in North Dakota", drew me in and I was not disappointed. If you are a woman, this story stresses the importance of how imperative it is to have a support group of women friends. I absolutely adored Lydia and laughed out loud at the "Psychic Night" meetings. Great read and I would love to see a sequel to this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be an enjoyable read with wonderful characters, who will keep you wanting to turn page after page! Some parts of the book were convenient situations, like Julia making the very best chocolate ever! But overall, the book was well written, the characters enchanting, and had a great overall theme of womanhood and the power in numbers. You'll root for Julia through the whole story. I am looking forward to discussing this one at our next book club meeting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is one of the most wonderful books I have ever read. I've passed on to many of my 'sisters' and we have all loved it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Though there are underlying sad circumstances in this book, Cathy Lamb brings to life the story of one very real woman who finds herself through the strength of friendships. A dear friend recommended this book to me and now I have recommended it to many other women. I found if difficult to set this book down and really enjoyed Cathy Lamb's ability to paint a vivid picture of women from varied backgrounds and cultures coming together to make one another stronger.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. As a survivor of an abusive relationship it was hard to handle in a few places very realistic and almost too close to home. Talk about flashbacks! I found, even though parts were truly dark 'to me, anyway', the humor that was infused throughout made this a delightful book to experience. I occasionally felt the positive characters were a bit too good to be true, but I was rooting for them anyway. I want to be as free as Aunt Lydia! I regularly found myself anxious for time to be able to get back to the book and am now experiencing the mourning phase that happens once you have finished reading a book that genuinly touches you.