×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Junky: The Definitive Text of
     

Junky: The Definitive Text of "Junk"

4.3 40
by William S. Burroughs
 

See All Formats & Editions

Junk is not, like alcohol or a weed, a means to increased enjoyment of life. Junk is not a kick. It is a way of life.

In his debut novel, Junky, Burroughs fictionalized his experiences using and peddling heroin and other drugs in the 1950s into a work that reads like a field report from the underworld of post-war America. The Burroughs-like

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Junky: The Definitive Text of Junk (50th Anniversary Edition) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wonderfully written. One gets the feel that the narrator is truly an addict. I found most intriguing that which was purposefully NOT written in this book. This man's life IS his addiction. Other events, which for most people are major milestones or reasons for celebration, are merely glossed over - barely mentioned. To the discerning reader, it even greater emphasizes that this man's life, love, dedication, drive, and passions are soley committed to that of heroin. Its ending just seels this masterpiece.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Huh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
POPCORN WITH PICKLE JUICE AND TABASCO SAUCE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im srry to say it * lays down gun* i just shot the lorax
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THE PARTYS BEEN MOVED TO FRUIT SMOOTHIE RES 1 BYE PLEASE COME
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is honest. Thank the lord, this book is honest. Any description of condition or of desperation is accurate, and shows the human nature of the narrator. There is no pretty sugar coating, and if it is, the description isn't over-done. This is what an Autobiography should be. Honest, descriptive, comprehensible, and exposed. Thank the lord.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was like entering a new world for me. I know a lot about drugs (and that is why I myself don't do them), but I am not around drugs everyday like Burroughs was. That's all his life was about...junk. Burroughs' life revoles around junk and no matter what he does to try to quit he just ends up doing it again. I personally did not like this book because it did not catch my interest, but it was written very well. The stories he told of his life with junk were very descriptive and the life he lived was easy to visualize. If you like a life of uncertainty and wildness (with drugs, of course) then this book is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Need to score
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
H
Anonymous More than 1 year ago