×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Kane and Abel
     

Kane and Abel

4.3 174
by Jeffrey Archer
 

See All Formats & Editions

William Lowell Kane and Abel Rosnovski, one the son of a Boston millionaire, the other a penniless Polish immigrant. Two men, born on the same day, on opposite sides of the world, their paths destined to cross in their ruthless struggle to build a fortune.

An unputdownable story, spanning sixty years, of two powerful men linked by an all-consuming hatred, brought

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Kane and Abel 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 174 reviews.
fr0zench1ck More than 1 year ago
Having read a dozen of Archer's book this book is on par with the quality of writing that he shows in all his book's. If you like a well crafted story with several unforseen twist, this is a bokk to definately read. When you finish the book, you can pick up the next (Prodigal Daughter) that partially continues the story. However, reading in order is not neccesary as both books can stand out on their own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read so many novels, so far this book is the best. The characters were tough but full of emotion. I love the twist of fate of the major characters.
taylor55 More than 1 year ago
Kane and Abel was the book that introduced me to the writings of Jeffrey Archer many years ago. The story still haunts me today. Superb storytelling!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A classic generational novel. Story telling should always be this good.
Pappou More than 1 year ago
Jeffery Archer creates such wonderfully complete characters and the story line is so good I never wanted to put the book down.
MichelleMarie More than 1 year ago
I have read some great books in my life... However, this is by far the best story I have ever read. AMAZING!
CherryBlossom More than 1 year ago
"Kane and Abel" is a wonderful read. It brings together two people from two different backgrounds. Abel is a poor Polish immigrant who through many hardships comes to America to become rich and famous. Kane on the other hand is from a well established banking family and is already rich and famous. The story shows how the two men differ in their upbringing and the intertwining of their two lives. The two embrace their own friendships with two men they have known since a younger age. They both fall in love, marry, and have children. Abel, an orphan, lives a lowly life until he meets up with the Baron and is taken under his wing. He is tutored until war starts and Poland is under siege by the Russians. Abel is held captive and sent to a Russian camp far away in the cold icy north. He escapes and makes his way to America. Kane is raised in the style of the elite banking family of America. Generations of his family have been in the banking business with each new generation falling into the previous footsteps. The plot brings the two men together into a forceful and thrilling story. Without knowing what each men mean to each other, Jeffrey Archer, tells the story with a dramatic and touching dramatization. You must read this book to find out how Abel and Kane touch each others lives and the outcome. It definitely is a must read. I am now looking forward to reading "The Prodigal Daughter", a continuing story of "Abel and Kane". Cherry Blossom
4grandkids More than 1 year ago
I read this book years ago when it first came out and think Jeffery Archer is a wonderful writer.I have read other books by this author and all of them where great reads.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great read, hard to put down at times. Fast reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I very much enjoyed this book. I had a hard time putting it down. Great historical fiction.
williebug More than 1 year ago
Excellent story. A must read. The sequel to this novel is Prodigal Daughter. You must read the end of the Kane & Abel story. Dorothy Thompson
rondl More than 1 year ago
This is probably the best book I have ever read. And one of the few books I have ever read twice. Fantastic plot and nice twist. This is a MUST read!!!
dprefer More than 1 year ago
A great, well-told story of two men, born worlds apart, whose drive to succeed at everything they do, leads to an intertwining of fates. Great characters, great plot, very well-written. Don't be surprised if, after reading Kane & Abel, you then want to read all of Archer's books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Every once in a while, one comes across something that they adore so much that they long to tell everyone they meet about it, everyone in the world if they could, - this is it. I found this book incredibly entertaining I was enthralled from the beginning and absorbed into a world other than that in which I preside. The story also makes its readers realize aspects of their own lives that they never considered before from its numerous themes, some obvious, some quite subtle. Despite its seemingly large size, it won't be large enough by time you reach the end, for you get swept up into both the lives of Kane and Abel to the extent that you never wish to reach the last page.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i read this novel when i was fifteen years old. since then, i've read it several times over and over again. jeffrey archer is magnificent in his writings...kane and abel is a masterpiece!!! i encourage all folks old and young to read this book. you will become envolved in the characters lives as it unfolds before your eyes. this novel is more than outstanding...its phenomnal!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book about six or seven years ago and even though I forgot most of the story, I never forgot that this book had just swept me into another world. It had a tremendous effect on me. Archer did an excellent job. After all these years I looked up the book and I'm going to read it again. Its just unforgettable!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Archer is truly a master story teller and while that title may sound trite -- its very REAL in this case. He flows and his characters come alive and his story is timeless. Its a long book but a very fast read because there is NEVER a good stopping place. A big fat juicy novel with real meat for everyone!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book, besides the book that it took forever to read, but it's worth it. I loved how Jeffrey Archer connected everything and filled it with irony. I love books like that. This book has something in it that any kind of person would like.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What an awesome book. The plot twists and turns like no other book I've ever written. Mr. Archer simply held me spellbound.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is excellent. The characters are extremeley well developed and the book has so many ironic parts as well as twists it is a must read!!! One of my favorite books
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so amazing. The whole week that it took me to read it, I was intrigued but I kept thinking I was some kind of genius because I was predicting everything. But I didn't see that ending coming. He keeps you so wrapped up in the details the big picture will just blow your mind. Recommended to the utmost degree.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first Jeffrey Archer book that I have come across, but be guaranteed I will read more. Kane and Abel is one of the best books I have read!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read novels from various authors in the past. I can only say this is the best story i have ever read. The plot is simply perfect. Jeffrey Archer remains unchallenged with 'Kane and Abel'. You got to read this book. You'll not regret.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is and by far will always be one of my favorites. Its one of those books you can read over and over again and never get tired of.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The opening sentence had me hooked, then I could not put it down till the last period. While story has a timeless theme it is the evocative detail I liked. It is the kind of storytelling can not be jamed into a 160-190 minute movie. I will be reading the sequal.