×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Kennedys Amidst the Gathering Storm: A Thousand Days in London, 1938-1940
     

The Kennedys Amidst the Gathering Storm: A Thousand Days in London, 1938-1940

4.2 17
by Will Swift
 

See All Formats & Editions

In The Kennedys Amidst the Gathering Storm, Will Swift presents a fresh, empathetic interpre­tation of the ambassadorship of Joseph Kennedy and explores the intricate, often shifting relation­ships among Kennedy, Chamberlain, Churchill, and, of course, Roosevelt.

Arriving in London in early 1938, the Irish-Catholic Kennedys were welcomed

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Kennedys Amidst the Gathering Storm 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've always been a fan of reading about the Kennedy family and this book was a great read. Kennedy Sr. expressed a lot of isolationist views throughout his ambassadorship and this sort of attitude led to his political demise. The book focused on a variety of topics that all relate to his ambassadorship and the social aspect of Kennedy's time as ambassador to England during pre-WWII. I do believe that there too many names to remember and social events that were often referred to later in the book. Many of the social events and people seen throughout led to me to look back in the book to remember what happened. This was the major downfall of the book and made me frustrated at times. Otherwise, pick this book up the next chance you get!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the way history should be written. Carefully researched and filled with facts 'some never before revealed', the book moves at a fast pace keeping the reader intigued and never bored. Will Swift captures the formidible Kennedy family at a turning point in history that many have forgotten - the prelude to World War II. He portrays the self-made, vastly wealthy, crafty and tenacious Joseph Kennedy - admired by some and distrusted by others - as a true patriot who worked steadfastly in an attempt to keep his beloved country out of war. It was a war he felt would lead to disaster. Living with Ambassador Kennedy during his 1000 days in London, the reader sees an Irish Catholic family capture the attention of the lavish and flamboyant society that flourished at the time and the respect of a Protestant nation. The opinions and attitudes of world leaders during that crucial time are well detailed. There is also time to observe the children in Joseph and Rose Kennedy's tight-knit family (among them Jack, Bobby and Ted) mature and take on some of the talents of their accomplished parents -talents that would serve them well in their later careers. It is a book worth every minute of the read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The intriguing information yielded by the author's broad and thorough research, presented interactively with such a fluid and engrossing narrative, makes for a captivating and delicious read. Dr. Swift's book casts Joe Kennedy in a new and somewhat more appealing and admirable light while also offering a better understanding of and sympathy for Neville Chamberlain as well as new insights to other luminaries posturing on the eve of World War II. Swift's profile of the era's behind the scenes drama with high level players such as Franklin Roosevelt and Winston Churchill, punctuated by juicy references to their private sides vis-a-vis involements with friends and enemies,is guarnateed to satisfy on all fronts.
SantanaTN More than 1 year ago
Not only were Joe Kennedy and his family involved in all of the intrigues that led up to World War II, they were pivotal in the final days leading up to the inclusion of the United States in the war. As a novice ambassador appointed by Roosevelt after much political pressure, Joe's candor was greeted with disdain on both sides of the Atlantic. An in depth look at the dealings of Roosevelt, Secretary of State Cordell Hull, Prime Minister Chamberlain and Winston Churchill as the world teetered on the brink of a global war show how political appointments often lead to disastrous consequences. The author did an outstanding job of providing the reader insight into the drama occurring as this period of history unfolded.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sits down in a small room with a piano and starts playing let it go....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cleaned off the instraments
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sees Reign she puts her beats down so they wrap around her neck "Hey Reign"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Goes into a soundproof room.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*Practices piano and sings to "The Scientist".*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A recording and DJ room in one place and a room of instruments in another. One room has all glass walls facing the lake for inspiration and anither room has racks and racks of music albums.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We are SilverClan. Our leader is Wolfstar. Our deputy is Shiningmoon. Our medicine cat is Riverdapple. We are kind and generous, but we are strong and fierce when it comes to fighting our enemy. Our Clan is located at 'Silver Moons' 1-11 results. -Icestorm
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mossclan is a new clan located at night moon. I, Icestar, am the leader, amd my deputy is Darkheart. My medicine cat is Mosslily, and her apprentice is Featherpaw.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Idk...wonder where my leader is anyway...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Corrections to the below entry by Firesteel.) Clan name: Wolfclan. Leader: Ghoststar. Deputy: Iceshard. Senior warriors: Firesteel, Scarloke.