×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Kiss from Maddalena
     

A Kiss from Maddalena

4.3 23
by Christopher Castellani
 

See All Formats & Editions

It is 1943, and Santa Cecilia has become a village of women. All the young men are away at war, except for Vito Leone, his best friend, and the shopkeeper's son. When Vito falls in love with Maddalena Picinelli, the shy and beautiful daughter of the town's most powerful family, a few obstacles appear in his path. Maddalena's sassy, iron-willed sister Carolina thinks

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Kiss from Maddalena 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A beautiful love story that twists and turns its way through a war. The author had a wonderful way of making war-torn Italy seem tragically romantic and yet the story is surprisingly realistic in it's plotline.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I could not put the book down. It is such a wonderful story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. I felt the plotline was very intriguing espcecially the ending. It appears the author did his homework as the details are accurate. Having grown up in central Italy I found the the character's personality very true to life and it reminded me of life in small italian town.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book kept me up late--I couldn't wait to discover what happened to Maddalena and Vito. Castellani's prose is elegant and vivid--you will feel transported to another world and another time. Castellani brings to life a whole village, Santa Cecilia, and each of the characters. I just hope there's a sequel in the works, because I want to spend time with these characters again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful story...just lovely
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story is amazing, it really pulls you in and holds your heart... I wanted it to go on! I can't wait to see if there is a part 2. If you are interested in a great story, a romance, a story of stregnth and courage, of love and life, this is the book for you!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book. I could not put it down. I met the author at the National Italian American Foundation Youth Retreat in August of 2003 and he said this is part one of a (hopefully) three part series. He has given me a passion for reading again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a delightful and magical debut novel. Typically a selfish reader, I paced myself in order to treasure each and every passage. The character development is beyond explanation. I adore this boo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down - I highly recommend it to anyone! Beautiful writing where you forget you're reading and the story just flows off the pages. Although it is a love story there are (thankfully) no "steamy scenes (they would detract from the story anyway). Overall an excellent read that I wish had aa second (or third) part to it like a sequel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book twice; lyrical, romantic and definitely a good page-turner...I can't wait to read Castellani's next novel!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so wonderful I didn't want to finish it. I want more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Growing_rocks More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing read! It was a touching, sweet story. I loved loved loved it :o)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read for those who enjoy fiction based on history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Written with crisp, sparse prose this WWII romantic story of out of reach love will play like a classic movie in your head. Vito finds himself in love withthe youngest of four sisters from a family in his village that owns the village store. The family, having sent two sons to fight the war, deems Vito a mama's boy not fit for anyone, especially their most precious daughter. The war years send the family away to a relatives vineyard while Vito remains in the village, proving his worth caring for his ill mother and proving himself worthy of respect as a potential husband. What happens when the family returns to the village is not predictable. The ending happened more abruptly than I would like. The overall style of the novel was well written but the ending came in a summary narrative that seemed out of sync with the rest of the story. That's my only complaint. I would also recommend SKELETONS AT THE FEAST, CHOCOLAT, and TOMATO RHAPSODY if you like this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Say no. Not worth a pennny. Don't fall for it. Its fake