×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Kiss of Frost (Mythos Academy Series #2)
     

Kiss of Frost (Mythos Academy Series #2)

4.4 170
by Jennifer Estep
 

See All Formats & Editions

Logan Quinn was trying to kill me.My Spartan classmate relentlessly pursued me, swinging his sword at me over and over again, the shining silver blade inching closer to my throat every time. A smile tugged up his lips, and his ice-blue eyes practially glowed with the thrill of battle. . .

I'm Gwen Frost, a second-year warrior-in-training at Mythos

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Kiss of Frost 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 170 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I finished the book within hours of buying it. The plot is exciting and it is an easy ready, however,the author repeats herself a lot. There are quite a few paragraphs and at times even pages that are just not necessary and detract from the plot. I don't need to be reminded every couple chapters how her gift works or how her mom died. Maybe reading the books back to back made this all too apparent. If you can overlook this then it will be an enjoyable read.
ScooperSpeaks More than 1 year ago
Book two in Jennifer Estep's Mythos Academy series picks up a few weeks after the events of the first book (Touch of Frost). Do not attempt to read Kiss of Frost until you read book one. The story is geared toward young adults and is told from Gwen's POV. More intriguing to me than the overall story line of good versus evil, is the story of a girl becoming a woman. Learning to make decisions and to trust in herself. Falling in love and speaking her mind. Simply becoming secure with herself as a whole. All important parts which make up the journey to womanhood. Unfortunately, as most of us know, that is a path full of heartache. I felt Gwen's pain at seeing her crush with another girl. The insecurity, sadness and confusion that filled her as she speculated on the reasons she wasn't the girl for Logan. Secrets come out in the latest release in Estep's Mythos Academy series. Kiss of Frost is a quick read filled with various individuals from mythology. Remember, this book is written for a young adult audience. Don't be surprised when you correctly guess the villain's identity and at least one of the secrets kept in the book. It does nothing to detract from the story. As a matter of fact I've placed Kiss of Frost in my daughter's room in hopes that she like it just as much as I did. Some people may not like: scenes which revolve around teens drinking and making out. Neither bothered me, but hey, to each her own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've never read Jennifer Estep but I thoroughly enjoyed the first in the Mythos Academy Series Touch of Frost and this second book Kiss of Frost was equally enjoyable. Then I find I have to wait until June 2012 for the #3 in the series. It's going to be a long winter & spring. Good read.
booksonmynook More than 1 year ago
Bought it yesterday, finished it today. Loved every minute reading this.
BJ_Hartt More than 1 year ago
This series is definitely out of my usual choices for reading but honestly I'm really glad I read this book and the one b4. It starts off a little slow and a lot of repetition from the 1st book but by chapter two it picks up and and the adventures starts and all the main characters start to understand what is really out there waiting for them and why it's so important to learn the skills they are taught and wry of who they befriend . I can't wait for the 3rd one :)
suzpharmd2003 More than 1 year ago
I love this series. I read tons of books and this series is one of my favorites. I am anxiously awaiting the next installment!
pagese More than 1 year ago
I love it when the second book in a series doesn't fall completely flat. It seems that it happens quite frequently. And while this book has some points that bugged me a little, it was still a worthy sequel. Gwen has a tendency to be "woe in me" in this installment. While, it's not overly annoying, she doesn't seem as strong willed as in the first book. I'm taking it that the events from before have shaken her confidence. I don't think she feels worthy of being Nike's champion. She currently sees herself as "just" the gypsy girl. She makes some poor decisions in this book, but I think she can bounce back from that. I really feel like she's a little distracted by a certain someone. That someone of course is Logan. I find it interesting that he's trying to protect Gwen from who he really is. Basically it's all a game to keep people from getting close to him. While he secret is really horrible, I think I was expecting more from it. I am happy to see that maybe he's learning that it doesn't have to define him. I really think Gwen and him would be really good for each other. My biggest disappointment (which really wasn't a big deal) was who was trying to kill Gwen. It completely wasn't a surprise to me. I was hoping more for the shock value of finding out about someone who we thought was good all a long. I like how the events have helped Gwen build a stronger circle of friends. I think she'll need them in the end. I enjoyed it overall and looking forward to the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I held my breath hoping this one was as good as the first, and..... it was. It was every bit as good and fast paced and tense as the first and I like the characters more and more. Jennifer certainly found her niche in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!! It is my personal favorite so far in the series. Can't wait for the next one, Dark Frost : D, to come out!!!!
Twilightsdance More than 1 year ago
If you are not familiar with this series, you might get a little spoiled reading this review. This is the second book in the Mythos Academy, so if you haven't read the 1st this review might give some stuff away pertaining to the 1st book. You can read my full review of Touch of Frost HERE. If you are not familiar with Jennifer's writing, make sure to become acquainted soon. Jennifer has a great way of complimenting her story with her words, everything gels together without a flaw. The characters development in this book was excellent, she dived in deeper with them all. Everything about this series just makes you read and not stop until you are done with the last page. Kiss of Frost begins shortly after Touch of Frost ended, Gwen is a second year student at Mythos Academy and is training with some of the warriors. Gwen began training after what happen recently to her at the library. Its not everyday that you are chased by Reapers in Gwen's life and live to tell about it. Gwen being Nike's Champion now wants to figure out how she can become like the students at her school. She wants to be able to be a warrior and fight Reapers just like the rest. Its seems though that others have different plans for Gwen. Things begin to affect and happen to Gwen again, she tells no one. She wants to figure it out on her own. Easier said then done. Don't get me wrong Logan and the Spartans have been training her everyday and she is making tiny progress but its progress. Her BFF convinces her that she has to go to the Winter Carnival with everyone, so Gwen says yes and plans on getting away from all the drama for a few days. The thing about drama it will follow you. Logan and her crush for him won't be the only thing heavy on Gwen's shoulders. Its not a good combination when you add avalanche, wolf and hot new guy to the mix. SO much will happen in Kiss of Frost, you won't have a minute to rest or blink. I enjoyed each part of the suspense, action, drama and romance Jennifer wrote. I could not put the book down until I was done with it. The hot and cold relationship between Gwen and Logan is so good and such a tease. The new characters will sparks some interest as well. Then we can't leave Vic out of the loop, Gwen's talking sword keeps on giving some of the best one-liners ever. The teaser of Dark Frost at the end of the book will definitely wet your appetite for more now. Cant wait! I recommend this series to everyone and what a great gift these books would make as a Christmas gift.
LindaFictionFervor More than 1 year ago
The cover of this book is so pretty! (Sorry, I love snow–which is highly uncommon down here in Louisiana.) I like it the most out of the four covers in the series released so far. (In my opinion, Crimson Frost looks the worst. Cringe.) Anyway. Though Kiss of Frost had much of the same cons that its prequel did, I did enjoy it more. Time to insert a list. The cons. (Might as well get the bad stuff out the way first.) 1. Once again, I was bothered by how predictable the story was. As soon as I met the guy (or girl!), I knew he (or she) was the Reaper. Call it bibliophile’s instinct, but I knew, right off the bat. It’s a cliché move, actually. And the predictability here was even worse than in the prequel. 2. There was a lot of repeating. Gwen continually explained the things we learned in the first book–like, the statues on the campus. It would certainly have been helpful if it had been a while since I’d read the first book, but I practically read Touch of Frost and Kiss of Frost back to back. So it was exhausting to read the same things over and over. I know that most authors aren’t sure if they should recap, so it isn’t a big deal, but my suggestion is that if they want to recap, they should do it in a prologue. That way, readers can choose to skip it if they’d like. 3. The character development, once again. Gwen’s being stupid again for missing who the Reaper was, but she might have gotten slightly less stupid. Or made an attempt at being slightly less stupid. However, I still think Gwen’s too absorbed in being poorer than her classmates. She’s also quite whiny about her mom’s death. And she’s quite absorbed in Logan Quinn, but who can blame her for that? Logan’s also pretty one-dimensional again, but thankfully we finally had a taste of what’s been causing him so much grief. The pros: 1. Plot twist that I totally didn’t expect. Obviously, I can’t say much, but let’s just say that things mentioned in the first book might not necessarily have been true. 2. The romance. Sure, it’s clichéd, but I can never stop myself from smiling at the cute and swoon-worthy moments. Logan’s HOT, so it’s not like I can help it. 3. Vic. THAT SWORD. Oh, he cracks me up. 4. A certain amazing Fenrir wolf. I don’t have a pet, but I’ve been dying to get a puppy since the beginning of time. Sure, Fenrir wolves are probably twenty times as big as a little puppy, but I WANT ONE. In other words… Did I like Kiss of Frost? Yes, but the series still hasn’t really impressed me yet. I need a big BAM–something that knocks me off my feet. However, I did like Kiss of Frost more than its prequel, so I hope the pattern continues with the next book, Dark Frost. Source: Paperback won from giveaway
Some_Reading_Required More than 1 year ago
Hmm. Where to start? Well… After finishing Touch of Frost (book one) I immediately e-purchased Kiss of Frost. I was THAT hooked. Just knowing that I could continue the journey right then and there lead to the imminent one-click. The Mythos Academy series is quickly becoming one of my guilty pleasures. Kiss of Frost had everything I wanted and then some. All the great characters from book one were back including some new ones mainly in the form of a gorgeous guy from the “New York” branch of Mythos Academy. Between Logan’s hot-and-cold tendencies, the threat revealed at the end of Touch of Frost, and new guy’s advances, Gwen’s heart is in danger, physically and emotionally. Touch of Frost was a perfect sequel. Sometimes book series suffer from the a second-book slump but I think book two was even better than the first. Now that we’ve got to know our characters and their world, the story was able to branch out and progress. Although Gwen Frost found herself a loner in Touch of Frost, she now has a great, knit group of friends whose got her back. She is definitely going need some backup because the action rises threefold in this installment. Freak accidents keep occurring and the only thing connecting them is their blatant target: Gwen. One aspect of Kiss of Frost I really enjoyed was the arcs the characters took. Although at some points I found Gwen a little stubborn she still remains one of the strongest heroines I know. Although she doesn’t always think a plan through, she’s got a great heart, always putting herself on the line for others. This is a *small spoiler* but I’m really happy with Gwen and Daphne’s friendship progression throughout Kiss of Frost. Daphne really helps Gwen break out of her loner-shell. Even though Gwen spends a good chunk of the book solo, Daphne always, and thoughtfully includes Gwen in her plans and outings. A lot of times Gwen’s what they refer to as a “third wheel” but Daphne being a great friend, always makes her feel welcome. Their new-found BFF status really is a shining point throughout the book. Also, I want to give a small shout out to Vic the coolest, funniest, and blood-thirstiest talking sword around. A lot of my favorite lines come from that little guy…er… man..sword…thing. "Vic wanted to kill things-Reapers, specifically. Until we’re both bathed in their blood and hungry for more! he crowed to me more than once when I was alone in my dorm room practicing with him." I giggle every time Vic speaks, I can’t help but read his lines with a mock-British accent. “Bloody” this and “bloody” that. He’s so cute with his snarky attitude and constant need to kill. If I ever had a magic sword to wield, I’d totally want a talking one just like Vic. When it comes down to, Touch of Frost was an exhilarating ride. I give it a 4/5 star rating due to it being chock full of snark, action, drama, and humor. The story keeps getting juicier and I’m quickly falling deeply in-love with the characters. There’s such a great mixture and I’m anxious to see where they are headed now due to the end-of-book revelations. Gwen’s plate just got a lot heaver and I can’t wait to get my hands on book three so I can see how she manages it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is full of twists,turns,action,and romance. It's a must read fantasy that captures your interest from the very beginning. I would recommend this book for any person who loves a romantic and action-packed thriller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The auther has made another great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best in the series so far! I can't wait for the third "Dark Frost" to come out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read both Touch of Frost and Kiss of Frost. They were okay. I felt frustrated at times, author repeats herself a lot, uses froufrou and mambo jumbo a million times. She will go into a rant on what Gwen was thinking, like off topic, it was awkward to read and didn't flow right. I found myself skipping like a page just to go back to the topic. Overall, it was a good story. I feel like it had the potential to be better though.
lissasue25 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It's the first full book that I've read by Jennifer Estep and I have to say that she is an excellent writer. In this book you read about Gwen Frost's adventures at Mythos Academy, a school where she is supposed to learn how to control and use her Gypsy gift. You feel sorry for her because in the beginning she has no friends and is miserable there. During her adventures, she develops a crush on a Spartan, Logan Quinn, and becomes friends with Daphne, a Valkyrie princess. She also learns a little bit more about her family's history and what is to come. Next on my to read list is Kiss of Frost.
kopsahl More than 1 year ago
In this follow up to Estep¿s first book in the Mythos Academey series the reader is transported just a few short months after Gwen¿s showdown with Jasmine. Gwen is training hard now that she has become the champion for the Goddess Nike in the war against the Reapers. Killing does not come easy for Gwen. Her gypsy powers, which are growing stronger, are triggered through touch. Now her power smight just help her in the fighting department. Gwen is still best friends with Daphne and that bond has grown stronger in the last few months. Her crush on Logan is very apparent and his rejection has cause Gwen to hurt deeply. The Reapers have continued attacking and Gwen is number one on their hit list. Reapers are known to revenge their own. Students being students still want to have fun. And what can be more fun than partying at a secluded skiing resort with other Academy¿s from around the world. Daphne convinces Gwen to go even though there have been several attempts on her life which of course she does not rely this information to anyone because Gwen wants to fight it herself. This sets up for some hairy situations and will clearly test Gwen¿s strength and Logan¿s devotion. With the introduction of students from another Academy, Estep creates the perfect set up for us to wonder who is out to get Gwen. Is it someone close to her or someone she has just met? Another great book by Estep and one of my favorite moments is a very intense moment between Logan and Gwen (when you read or if you have read you should know what moment I mean). I did find that the person out to get Gwen wasn¿t a surprise to me but overall it was an astounding read. I was not able to put the book down once I started reading it. Perfect for YA urban fantasy lovers.
TrappedInABook More than 1 year ago
Just finished "Kiss of Frost", book #2 in the Mythos series. The author does provide background, but would highly recommend first reading "Touch of Frost". Ms. Estep renders the teen heroine Gwen beautifully as she tries to fit in to a seemingly crazy new world so close to the old, but oh so different. Where decisions can mean the difference between life and death. Gwen's sarcastic humor and changing view of the world promise to make this series a continuing success. I'm already looking forward to the next one.
Unwasted_Words More than 1 year ago
Get your tickets. Mythos Academy is having it's annual Winter Carnival. Fun. Friends. And an Assassin. Yup, this is going to be one killer class trip. How will Gwen ever survive. High school. Boys. Constant threats of imminent death. Life has definitely gotten a little surreal for Gwendolyn Frost. While normal kids her age are focused on SATs and the opposite sex, Gwen's busy with weapons training, and the frustrations of the unusual courting rituals of Spartans. When Gwen's not suffering the daily humiliation of nearly avoiding an untimely death by an errant spear, mace, or getting skewered by some comparably sharp pointy projectiles, she's brooding over Logan Quinn. Yeah, life kind of blows when you're firmly situated at the bottom of the social totem pole with a massive crush on the top spartan who's basically the equivalent of a rock star, captain of the football team, and demigod all rolled into one. But there are plenty if warriors on the battle field and with an upcoming school trip on the horizon Gwen's looking to find someone to take her mind off the infuriating Spartan. Unfortunately Gwen's got more happening than homework and boy trouble. Her magic is doing some new and interesting things that could come in handy if she can master them in time. Plus you would think that having a harbingering Grandmother would curve your misfortunes yet Gwen's luck isn't any better, since someone is doing an almost spot on job of trying to kill her. Again. With the attempts on her life mounting her odds of survival are dropping. Frost is going to have to use all her cunning and magical skills to find the reaper before they find her. I must admit that when Touch of Frost came out, I thought her powers were wimpy. Her character's magic didn't really befit the moniker of heroine, and well Gwen seemed kind of weak for the headliner. She conjured up images of victim or damsel in distress. I didn't know how her magic really fit into the whole warrior motif. Until Kiss of Frost. I love where Frost's powers are going. Estep's YA series mirrors her adult series with her comic book hero branding, and in how the heroine evolves and builds relationships, each book layering the complexities of Gwen's magic and earning the respect of her peers. The repetitious catch phrases are lessened. And we learn a few interesting threads including one about Logan, but I don't believe it's his deep dark secret. While I love the book, there were a lot of transparencies in the storylines. It wasn't hard to figure out what was going to happen, but I did like that the story didn't end at the resolution of the main plot point or story arc. That's where the surprises came and the overall series plot started to form. I think Estep could have pushed things further. She can pull off more complex threads. This world and it's characters deal with mature themes and could just as easily continue in the adult realm later on. Mythos has an abundance of great ideas and possibilities that need equally great plots to set them off. Nevertheless Kiss of Frost's storyline maybe simple yet was elegantly executed while the series arc so far looks to be much more complex and compelling. Regardless of how intricate you like you storylines, the Mythos Academy books are just a fun series. There's action, wonderful world building filled with great characters, and the kind of romance all girls go gooey over. It's just a great book to get lost in. Kiss of Frost is a killer
wheems01 More than 1 year ago
I love how fast paced these novels are. This is the second installment in the Mythos Academy series, and it starts out with plenty of action, and doesn¿t let up until you turn the last page. In many ways this book is better than the first because the author could step right into the story, without a lot of world building. I really enjoyed the setting for this novel. Taking us off campus to a winter ski resort was a fantastic twist. We got to see the Mythos students having fun, kicking back, and partying. This novel also had some very nice meat to it that progressed Gwen¿s story well. I love the action, I love the characters, and I love the mythology. This novel leads to some important revelations, and Gwen developing new abilities. Gwen¿s character progressed and developed through this story, and it is nice to see those changes. After turning the last page there was only one thing I could regret--that I have to wait until May for the next installment Dark Frost. That is going to be one very long wait. I can¿t wait to see what happens to Gwen and friends next! Overall, this is a fun series that I will continue to read and recommend to teens looking for more action packed paranormal mysteries. I can¿t wait for the next installment.
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
EVERYONE! CAN I HAVE YOUR ATTENTION PLEASE! YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK. IF YOU DON'T, I WILL SEND VIC AFTER YOU! OMG! I. LOVED.THIS.BOOK. I mean really loved. Loved it so much that I want to bathe in the literature if I could. (You know I would too! LOL) This book is the bomb diggity. Right from the very first page, I felt the anxiety and excitement of reading every goodness of the page. The plot was dynamic. Filled with action, fighting, major flirting, and forbidden love, I fell in love with this book. I loved that Ms. Estep really guided the reader into the story not leaving them confuse or shut out. I was able to step right back into Mythos Academy as if I have never left. The favorite part of the story is Vic, the talking sword. Yes, he is my fave man in the book. He part is small, but I adore his advice, sarcastic comments, and just the way he bugs the living daylights out of Gwen. You don't know how many times I snickered every time I read,"Shut up Vic." I love it!!! The love interest in this book really blew up in the readers face. Ms Estep brought a love that passionate and real to life. I adore the tension between the characters. The masochist feeling I get out reading about Gwen and Logan really made my heart swell. I like that they fought and bickered but most importantly, I love their loyalty to each other. As I said before, read this book. You will fall in love with Mytho's Academy, action, and non-stop flirting. This book will have you turning pages faster and faster. The love in it will have you yearning for more and more. Trust me with I say Ms. Estep write one heck of a book. Read it!
Anonymous 22 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago