×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry Series #1)
     

A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry Series #1)

4.3 848
by Laurell K. Hamilton
 

See All Formats & Editions

My name is Meredith Gentry, but of course it's not my real name. I dare not even whisper my true name after dark for fear that one hushed word will travel over the night winds to the soft ear of my aunt, the Queen of the Air and Darkness. She wants me dead. I don't even know why.

I fled the high court of Faerie three years ago, and have been hiding ever since. I

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Kiss of Shadows (Meredith Gentry Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 848 reviews.
8149 More than 1 year ago
The first in an ongoing series; this book was simply amazing. Hamilton's imagination is astounding. This book, as well as its subsequent parts, is definitely for the adult reader.
The story is very unique and very action packed and definitely sexy! Some say that her Anita Blake series is better but I find this series to be so imaginative that it blows everything else out of the water. (mind you all of her books are good!)
This book lays the ground work for all of the rest and the story just keeps getting better and better! A MUST read if you enjoy Paranormal Fantasy Romance!
MaGicAllyGeNuisJ More than 1 year ago
My twin sister got one of her books from the library. And she was telling me about what kind of author she was. And at first I thought her book was going to be lame, and about vampires. And it wasn't, it was totally different then what I aspected. I really enjoyed this book,but a WARNING for anyone who never read her writings before. If you do not like erotica books. DON'T GET IT!!! This book is a non stop read. LOL. I read ths book in 5 days, I would have read it quicker. If it wasnt for me working. But if you have low expectations about this book. Please give a shot and try it out. Because believe me, I thought the same thing.
preciselyjen More than 1 year ago
This is the first book of hers that I have read, but I know much about her others series. I am hooked completely on this author now! She combines fantasy with sex so beautifully. (It's the mystical lusty sex that all women dream about!) :O) On top of that the story line is very good, and keeps you wanting to know more. Can't wait to progress further in this series and soon the 'Anita Blake' series also!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Disappointing in the extreme. She stopped any pretense of plot or character development.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can read these books over and over!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a lover of paranormal/horror/and romance, I love the books. I tried this series after reading the Anita Blake novels, which I love more. I am far from a prude, but there is a little too much sex with too many different people even for me. (That is why it is a 4 instead of a 5) I'd rather she just stick with one or two. The story line, and the characters, though? I love them. Her Aunt "The Queen of Air and Darkness," is horrifying and demented. Laurell K. Hamilton is some author! She has quite an imagination! (I'll bet she's pretty open-minded, kinky, and has some dark fantasies in real life!) P.S: If you like this you will like the Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter novels. And there is at least 20 of them!
Enjoys_Paranormal More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of Laural K Hamiltons Anita Blake series and thought I would check out her less complicated (as in lead character) Merry Gentry series. I was plesantly surprised. It started off a little bit slow for me but I think that was only because the Fey vs Vamp differance. It didn't take me long to get hooked. It has the adventure, death threats, crazy family, and wonderful sexual tention. I highly recommend this book.
flowersophelia More than 1 year ago
Kiss of Shadows, the first book in the Meredith Gentry series, starts out a little slow. You have to get a few chapters in before it really starts to pick up but it is well worth it. The series is great fun. Every book has humor, and I mean laugh out loud humor, at least once in it, usually several times spaced through out. The sex is graphic, but so much a part of who the characters are that it is all just part of the story being told. I recommend this series to anyone looking for a good time, but keep away from children. LOL Enjoy!
msuchoas More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up because I was dying for more or LKH Vampire Books. I thought it was very well written and engaging. She is a very creative writer no matter what the topic. The characters are great, the plot is imaginative and I will definitely pick up the next book.
Peekajinx More than 1 year ago
I found this book while surfing the shop on my nook and the title sounding interesting, so I thought I would check it out. I was pleasantly surprised and found that I could barely put my nook down while reading this book. I really enjoyed Laurell K. Hamilton's writing style. It did seem odd that the story completely twisted away from what I thought it would be after the first couple of chapters, but it was still a very fun read. I hope to read more from this series, and have already added them to my ebook wishlist! I certainly recommend this book to anyone looking for a break from the ordinary.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read over 50 paranormal romance books. I have been making my way reading all the different series in this catagory. I did all the Anita Blake books, the first 6 or so were good, then went down hill fast. I was leary to read the Gentry series and was very suprised, it was original.I tend to look for vampire/were stories, this is all about the Fae world. I felt the books were far more "thought out" and put together better than the birdwalks that Blake had. Hamilton seems to write with purpose in this series. Merry is far more likeable than Anita, and her world is colorful. I must say I couldn't wait for the kids to go to bed to pick it up every night. This series shows a softer, more sweet side of Hamilton.
kitkat3ny More than 1 year ago
There are over 300 reviews for this book already, so my review will be brief. I've never read anything from this author before but decided to take advantage of the free download from Kindle. Even though I'm sure some of the complaints concerning Laurell's writings have merit; I let a lot of the negative reviews surrounding Laurell's books get in the way of me discovering a fantastic author. If you are disturbed by multiple sex partners or frequent sexual activity, I don't recommend you read this book. This book was a very exciting, creative, dark and dangerous fantasy that completely delivered. I enjoyed this book so much; I greedily devoured it and could hardly put it down. I am always looking for dark urban fantasy books that involve the fae and cater to adults, and I very pleased to be able to add Laurell's Meredith Gentry series to my short list. I highly recommend this book to dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to reading the next book A Caress of Twilight.
3monstersmom More than 1 year ago
I was honestly surprised by how much I enjoyed this series. Being a fan of Hamilton's Anita Blake series I was familiar with her writing style and thus wasn't shocked by the amount of sexual context. It's not a series for the prudish or squeamish, if BDSM freaks you out you might have trouble seeing past it and to the entertaining plot line. I highly enjoyed this series and can't wait for the release of future books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
OMG!!! This is AMAZING! I can't stop...I finished this book in 1 day! i was just soooo into the story and the SEX!!! WOW! I better stop and breath now. LOL. Am defenectly Hooked on this one, am going to start the second book right now.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldnt put this book down for a second! Normally im a fast reader and can read a book of about 600 pages in 2 days, but this book of about 470 pages i read in one afternoon! It was that great. I usually dont go for the books that have real settings, but this was just too great a book to not read. Youll have a lot of fun reading this because of merry's character. and some of you will be panting over the guys, i know my friends were. even the straight guys were. this was a great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This whole series is one my favorites, it leaves you wanting more. The characters are well developed and ask have their own personalities, no character is black or white, many have shades of grey. Don't get me wrong there are definitely "evil" characters, characters that have no redeeming quality. Most of the characters you can relate to in some way or another. This was an extremely well-written series. Would definitely recommend to anyone who is into fantasy.
Boundlessbookreviews More than 1 year ago
Laurell K. Hamilton had been on my TBR list forever, and when I say forever, I mean years.  I had originally thought about reading the Anita Blake series, but it never quite appealed to me; so Meredith Gentry wound up on the TBR list,  I was finally offered the first audiobook in the series for a steal, so I jumped on it.  I’m not sure what it was, but I had trouble getting into this audiobook.  Even my husband came in and commented that he didn’t care for the narrator.  I think it was Merlington’s voice, it was like being spoken to by a scolding principal, or librarian.  It just didn’t fit my idea of a young character.  As for the story; all I’ve ever heard was how incredibly erotic Hamilton’s books are.  Maybe I’ve just read some kinky stuff, because this book was tame, to me, it was on the verge of yawn.  The only kind of emotion I felt was revolution, and a bit of holding back bile during the blood drinking scene.  That was just disgusting; I will say spot on for the imagery! Point to Hamilton!  The world is intricate, with many creatures and intrigue.  However, the overall plot just didn’t capture my interest enough, so I really didn’t care where the overall story was going.  This first book was good, but I didn’t fall in love with it so much that I am dying to find out what happens next....Sara
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If I could rate lower than a 1-star, I would. I'm so disappointed with this series. For some CRAZY reason, I was hoping it would be like her vampire series - I could not put that one down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why did this series end, I was very disappointed with that. This will b my 3rd time maybe more reading this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I end each book in the series dying to know what's next! !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved getting caught up in the story, great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first read this book in high school and it was my first read by Laurell K Hamilton. After the first chapter I knew I was hooked. I couldn't put it down, and I couldn't stop reading just this book. I had to read them all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago