×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Kisser (Stone Barrington Series #17)
     

Kisser (Stone Barrington Series #17)

3.5 227
by Stuart Woods
 

See All Formats & Editions

The New York Times bestseller

A fetching Broadway actress has a pout to die for, a past to hide from- and Stone Barrington on her case...

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Kisser (Stone Barrington Series #17) 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 227 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Stone Barrington, of counsel at Woodman & Weld, is at Elaine's restaurant in Manhattan when he notices beautiful Carrie Cox who is in New York with dreams of becoming an actress. After she tells Stone about a great audition she had with a director who tried to rape her afterward so she threw his dinner onto his lap at a gala they both attended separately. Stone advises her how to handle the situation; she soon gets the part and a great agent. Stone and Carrie like each other's company, but he has to place his personal life on hold when Bill Eggers wants him to get Hildy Parsons out of trouble. Her father is a client at Woodman & Weld and knows his daughter is involved with a gigolo who anxiously waits for her trust fund to revert back to her control. Stone learns the con artist is also dealing drugs and partnered with Larsen who is managing a Ponzi scheme. They become Stone's problem when someone he cares about wants to bring them down. Making matters more dangerous is Carrie believes her former husband is trying to kill her; she needs protection that she wants only from Stone until they obtain proof of her assertion. Although Stone proves there are a zillion stories in New York even in one novel, Stuart Woods provides another exhilarating Barrington tale filled with serial sex, plenty of other action, and several fun investigations. After Key West (see Loitering with Intent), Stone vows divorce cases only, but he wonders how he got so involved in so many other matters though he knows the exhausting answer is women, women, and more women. Kisser is a fun lighthearted Stone Barrington thriller as the lawyer finds the mean streets of Manhattan as both welcoming and dangerous. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the worst Stone Barrington book ever. I really enjoy the series but this one was awful. It was boring and slow moving. I usually don't mind Stone's sexual antics, but in this one he was shagging anything that stood still long enough. Terrible plot line and poor character development. Was Stuart Woods on a strict deadline ... this one was not up to par.
libraryladyHC More than 1 year ago
I was a Stuart Woods fan until I read this book. I was appalled by the filthy language and x-rated content in this book, and I would not recommend it to anyone. Stone Barrington needs to climb out of the gutter, clean up, or loose all your fans!!
pabenham More than 1 year ago
Just another Stone Barrington book--more sex, less story.
Kayceedee More than 1 year ago
I've read most of Stuart Woods' books and this is THE WORST. First, the editing was horrible, leaving an ending that made no sense. Stone is always falling into bed with some gorgeous woman or other, but this book read like a men's magazine fantasy forum. The storylines were also lacking in suspense: you knew how it was going to turn out from the beginning. If you have absolutely nothing else to read, go ahead, but if you have anything else to do, skip this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I pre-ordered this book, only to see it didn't even LEAVE B&N at 9pm, a full 21 hours after the release. It is now apparently on a s-l-o-w snail from New Jersey. Why would anyone EVER pre-order a book from B&N? I can find it cheaper at my local Costco and I could have had it 4 days sooner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stone Barrington is at it again, but this time with a lot more sexual escapades. Right off the bat, Stone meets a rising Broadway starlet and immediately makes his conquest by offering to protect this damsal in distress, or is she? While working for Woodman and Weld, Stone meets more women and the fun begins. The villians are a crazy ex-husband, a Broadway producer, an Art Gallery Owner and his daughter, a wanna-be Picaso and a Bernie Madoff type investment scam. Dino, as usual, has his back. Eduardo and family resurface. The police department needs Stone's help. When he gets a temporary badge, he isn't very happy. With his retirement at stake, and a stalker on his street, you will enjoy the ride to see how it all turns out. Mr. Woods characters are at their best, eating, drinking, and well....you know.........
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read most of Mr. Woods' books and have enjoyed the majority of these. However, "Kisser" is a waste of time. I quit reading on page 126 due to lack of interest and will not keep it in my library nor will I donate it to the library. I can appreciate the use of the f... and the s... bomb when it fits the characters and the realism of the story; but, to frequently and randomly toss them in where they do not fit is a silly attempt at shock value. The main character's,Stone Barrington's, inability to be introduced to any female without being in bed for wild sex before you reach the bottom of the page gets absurd as a recurring theme chapter after chapter. Mr. Woods, please re-read your earlier works and go back to what made you suscessful.
shirl2242 More than 1 year ago
I'm still reading Kisser. I'm waiting for it to get better. Maybe Stuart/Dino should go back to the Keys, those were fun reads. Sorry. I'm not going to finish reading this one.. It's going back to the library.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is nothing terribly new in this latest in Wood's vast collection but,as always, it's well worth the read.
justjoanJP More than 1 year ago
A lot of repetition and too many trips to Elaines!
Beau_Diddley More than 1 year ago
Stone Barrington is back again with an exciting assignment involving several interlinked challenges. A very enjoyable quick read.
LibrarianCC More than 1 year ago
This book left me flat, the sex is ridiculous and boring after a time. I am no prude but this guy cannot be real. He never ever uses protection? No mention of it, just goes around doing anybody anytime. I usually enjoy the escape aspect of Woods' novels, but this one didn't even come close.
drbcabarete More than 1 year ago
As a long term reader and collector of Mr. Woods' writings, it is always fun to read his works. Recently he has become more "boiler plate" than original. It is almost easier to refer to former books for more of the same. However, "Kisser" is better. Since the author was "asked" to write three books a year rather than two, he has become too much of the same, but herein is a good read. "Hothouse" and "Kisser" show more sexual maturity and grit than his early works, I am sure there is some compatibility between his private life and his public writing. Whatever, "Kisser" is fun, fast and more enjoyable than last years' works. Keep it up and though I enjoy his books, I think two is better than three a year.
Avid4books More than 1 year ago
The basic story and characters were good, but it reads too much like a trashy romance novel, to the point of absurdity. This is not Stone Barrington at his best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think Stuart Woods is a great author but........this book is not good. To much detail on Stone's sex life. I was looking forward to a good mystery but all I got was a lot of pron.
KathieH More than 1 year ago
I have read all the Stone Barrington books by Stuart Woods and while not heavy reading they were all good. There was so much gratutious sex in the KISSER it was hard to find the plot. I am not a prude by any means and I know Stone likes his sex but come on! Let's hope Lucid Intervals coming out in April has a better plot
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
susanneleist More than 1 year ago
The main character, Stone Barrington, is a retired police detective turned lawyer. He loves women and sleeps with every one he meets. Then he complains about being tired. His women are all beautiful. I don't know if they really are or their beauty is just in his mind. His case is to protect an heiress from succumbing to a con artist. He also has to figure out who is stalking a new girlfriend. A third woman is found watching his apartment. The first two issues are resolved while the third is left open. This part of the story must continue in his next book. The book was easy to read. The characters had fun with sarcasm and humor. Stone reminded me of old-time detectives who liked their women easy and fun.I could have used less of these easy women.
ebcEC More than 1 year ago
waste of money. this was an old book and should have said so.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AvidReader51BW More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy all of the Stone Barrington Series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not necessarily a bad thi ng. Lots of good food, good dialogue and easy to read story
MJ6 More than 1 year ago
Another enjoyable read. Stone Barrington is always a good story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Woods melds Barrington, Barker, Lee & Eagle in such a manner that they flow together as if one continuing story. All are must reads!