×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Kitty Steals the Show (Kitty Norville Series #10)
  • Alternative view 1 of Kitty Steals the Show (Kitty Norville Series #10)
  • Alternative view 2 of Kitty Steals the Show (Kitty Norville Series #10)
     

Kitty Steals the Show (Kitty Norville Series #10)

4.4 61
by Carrie Vaughn
 

See All Formats & Editions

Kitty has been tapped as the keynote speaker for the First International Conference on Paranatural Studies, taking place in London. The conference brings together scientists, activists, protestors, and supernatural beings from all over the world—and Kitty, Ben, and Cormac are right in the middle of it.

Master vampires from dozens of cities have also

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Kitty Steals the Show 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 61 reviews.
LadyUni More than 1 year ago
This book takes us back to the old country and brings up the oldest fudes of the vampire and werewolves. Kitty, Ben and Cormac along with old friends battle aginst not only old fudes but old ideas and old ways. A worthy ready and once again a triumph for author Carrie Vaughn!!! A MUST read for ALL Kitty fans!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always love my brief forays into Kitty's world, and Carrie is such an amazing and entertaining author, sometimes i have to even look around Denver and wonder....
ondreea More than 1 year ago
Personally I have found that this series has grown quite well with each subsequent book. In this one, Carrie Vaughn comes full circle and wraps up some unresolved aspects of previous stories like with the Dr. Paul Flemming v. Alette and Emma subplot from book 2 (Kitty Goes to Washington). Ms Vaughn further explores the developing conflict and resolution of the "End Game". This book was more of a call to arms and cusp before it spills over into war between Roman's followers and what I see as Kitty's followers. Kitty is a crusader through and through and does what's right even when it would be easier to walk away. The author also introduces more characters who are really interesting like Ned, Antony, Marid, and Caleb as possible allies and enemies. I'm still a big fan of Ben and I think one of the reason's I like him so much is because he's really supportive of Kitty without being a wuss. When Cormac was first introduced, I had wanted Kitty to hook up with him, but now I see the brilliance of Ms Vaughn by not going with the obvious choice because they would not have been right together. Ms Vaughn also explores the polarization between the humans and supernaturals. On the surface it can be seen as good vs. evil, but readers of the series don't think of Kitty and her friends as evil so that's not the answer. I see the conflict of the humans (who are against the supernaturals on principle alone and not based on who they are) represent the intolerant component that has been a mainstay element of human history. The supernaturals such as Kitty are simply those who are different and therefor are to be feared and destroyed by the intolerant. By discussing the issue in a novel and disguising it with the supernatural aspect, it makes it a safer topic for consumption. What's great about the book though is that it's still entertaining and the message is subtle enough to not disenfranchise the reader who doesn't want such deep thoughts. Therefore, it is a successful book.
BookwomanNC More than 1 year ago
Carrie Vaughn just can't write Kitty's story fast enough! Looked forward to this and was not disappointed. A different setting was great fun. Enjoying the "ghost" perspective very much. Can't wait for the next installment!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all the Kitty books. This one is as fun as the rest.
InvestedIvana More than 1 year ago
Characters drive the plot as Kitty heads to London and meets up with a new vampire Family, the local English pack, and goes to head to head with some old enemies. While in London for the first ever scientific conference on the supernatural, Kitty learns how the rest of the world’s vampires treat her fellow werewolves, and how pervasive Roman’s influence is on the world’s vampires. She gets tangled up in one plot to take out the Master of London and in another, spearheaded by an old enemy (or two), to capture werewolf soldiers for use in building a supernatural army. As with all the Kitty books, we get to meet some great new characters, like Ned Allen–vampire, Elizabethan stage actor, and Master of London. I love how Kitty gets all giddy at the idea that Ned knew Shakespeare. We also meet Caleb, the Alpha werewolf of the British Isles. Kitty attempts to move Ned and Caleb’s relationship from “ignoring each other” to “working together,” based on the relationship she has with Rick back home in Denver. We also get to meet some awful characters. The delegate of world vampires are awful; in particular, they way the view and treat werewolves is horrific. Kitty stirs up trouble by refusing to cow to their self-importance and accusing some of them of working with Roman. She also talks with their wolves, attempt to incite riot and defection, telling the wolves they don’t deserve to be cannon fodder for the coming war. As usual, she has some success, and earns the title Regina Luporum from some of the vampires — Queen of Wolves, a wolf who will stand up for her brethren against the vampires. Carrie Vaughn has been great about letting us revisit characters from previous books. In Steals the Show, we get to spend time with Allette in D.C. and her descendant Emma in London, Dr. Schumacher and Joseph Tyler at the conference, and Luiz, the were-panther with whom Kitty had a fling while in Washington D.C. for the Senate hearings in Book 2. Assuming she’s still single, Luiz greets Kitty VERY warmly. Once he learns Kitty is married, the scenes where Luiz toys with Ben, much like a cat would, are priceless. One of the smaller story lines I really enjoyed in this book was Cormac meeting Amelia’s family. It’s interesting to see Kitty observing the changes in Cormac since he “partnered” up with Amelia. It makes me look forward to Low Midnight that much more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Berls More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sissy143 More than 1 year ago
Loved this book and already reading the next book Kitty rocks the house!!!!! waiting for the next to release!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
stormie19 More than 1 year ago
I love this series. It is a great quick escape. Carrie Vaughn does not disappoint with this one. If you enjoyed the other books of the series you will enjoy this one. Happy reading!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WolfGirlAB More than 1 year ago
I love Kitty and all the trouble she gets into :) The book was a great read.
Katana357 More than 1 year ago
Kitty takes on London! Vaughn has another fun little ride with this one. Whether your a old fan that has run with the pack before or are a young pup raring to go, I think you will enjoy this. Vaughn has a fun way of bringing her characters together. Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful trip into Kitty's world again. I have read all of the series and even though it seems impossible, the books continue to get better every time. This is a perfect example of Urban Fantasy at its finest! No romance angst crap to mess it up--just pure UF? I hope the series continues for a long time and I will always be a fan. I have also read others by you and they did not disappoint. As always this was 5 stars all the way.