×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Kleopatra
     

Kleopatra

4.0 17
by Karen Essex
 

See All Formats & Editions

High drama and ancient history combine in this novel of the early life of Egypt's infamous queen, at once a beautiful seductress, brilliant politician, and the most powerful ruler of her time.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Kleopatra 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read kleopatras daughter and wanted more, so i picked up this book to keep the feel of egyptian buzz going. This is a great book. Very historical yet it has a wonderful story. Im starting the second book now and am excited to learn about her relationship with ceaser and antony. I cant wait!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Kleopatra was a fascinating look into the culture of Egypt. From one chapter to another, its pages are filled with incest, intrigue, and excitement. A must for anyone interested in ancient culture and politics, it appeals not only to the historically inclined, but to the general novel-reader as well, as it intertwines facts with fiction in a way few can.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Cleopatra (as the title is called in the Netherlands) is a very good book! I loved it! You could really see the life of Cleopatra within her point of view. That's what I liked about it! I can't wait to read the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anyone who loves ancient Egypt and stories about its most famous female ruler will absolutely love this book. I could not put it down. Cleopatra comes to life in this book. You come to admire her more than ever. She was 2000 years ahead of time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Kleopatra was very fun and entertaining and kept you on the edge of your seat to find out what happened next. If you enjoy fiction based on non-fiction events, this book is the best. Tells some history of the ancient Roman/Greek/Egytian civilization, but much more entertaining than an actual historical book. The end of the book will leave you hanging, so you'll probably want to buy the next one as well.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read many books on the life of Cleopatra but this one is the best. Seeing Rome and Egypt through the eyes of Kleopatra is a real treat for the reader. I can hardly wait for book two. I must admit I kept my dictonary by my side while reading Kleopatra, I loved every word.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The young Cleopatra shows her intelligence at an early age in spite of growing up in the decadent court of her pitiful father Ptolemy. Her half-brother hates her out of jealousy for her Machiavellian skills (is that an anachronism?) and with the help of her lover Archimedes she raises an army to help her attain the throne she desires. However, Kleopatra¿s obvious intelligence and abilities fail to keep her from exile as the Romans rule the world, but she plans to conquer Julius Caesar (see the next volume).

This is an incredible fictional biography that contains a fantastic look at Ancient Egypt and Rome using historical tidbits to tell the story of Cleopatra, the early years. The novel turns a legend into a person while concentrating on the heroine¿s adventures, political machinations, and the classical Greek culture that she wants to emulate. Fans of Ancient historical tales and Cleopatra will want to read this book, the upcoming sequel (the Caesar-Anthony years of her life) and Colin Falconer¿s WHEN WE WERE GODS as a companion piece. Ms. Essex capitalizes the H in historical as she provides a rich textured, fast-paced tale that should lead to the latest Egyptology boom.

Harriet Klausner