×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Knight of Maison-Rouge: A Novel of Marie Antoinette
     

The Knight of Maison-Rouge: A Novel of Marie Antoinette

3.4 11
by Alexandre Dumas, Lorenzo Carcaterra (Introduction), Julie Rose (Translator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

A major new translation of a forgotten classic

Paris, 1793, the onset of the Terror. Brave Republican Maurice rescues a mys-terious and beautiful woman from an angry mob and is unknowingly drawn into a secret Royalist plot—a plot revolving around the imprisoned Queen of France, Marie Antoinette, and her enigmatic and fearless champion, the Knight of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Knight of Maison-Rouge: A Novel of Marie Antoinette 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SugarCookie More than 1 year ago
Bravery, loyalty, chivalry - is there anything more a woman could want? Oh, yes - good looks. This is a terrifically entertaining story, and certainly not a complex as The Count of Monte Cristo. It may take some readers a chpater or two to settle into the language and style, but it's worth the initial awkwardness. Those more familiar with the writing style of older novels will truly treasure this long-lost gem.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't know if I can finish this one - the translation is poor - the sentences/phrases almost make you laugh - ridiculous. The quality of the digital image is poor - lots of little numbers (footnotes maybe) stuck all over the pages .. . distracting. The story looks like it could be entertaining if the translator had done a better job . .. there is no option to return an ebook so may just be deleted into cyber space . . . . . If I can plod through it, I'll update my review for "story quality" . ... . I wish I could read French - !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Janus More than 1 year ago
After reading the Count of Monte Cristo, I found myself hooked on Dumas' work. Not wanting to read the more commonplace Three Musketeers, I decided to read the Knight of Maison-Rouge. How was it? I honestly have no idea. It is rare that I give up on a book out of sheer frustration, but this was such a scenario. It was not the writing that bothered me so much as the poor translation. On virtually every page there was information that, unless you are extremely well versed in French history, required explanation. On most pages there were about four to six sentences or words that had subscripts next to them indicating there were explanatory notes. Where were these notes? In the back of the book. Ordinarily this wouldn't bother me, but when every few words I'm forced to turn to the back of the book just so I can understand what is going on, that tells me this version needs to be re-worked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Amazing book! I think this is one of the underestimated works by Alexander Dumas. It is not much known but definitely deserves being read. I could not stop reading the book - very captivating: humor, love, intrigues, history - everything is in it. 100% recommended!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This rating reflects neither the skill of Dumas nor the quality of the book, but the translator. The best comparison, I think, is to call it the New Living Translation of 'The Knight of Maison Rouge.' It may take a talented bit of translation to dumb-down Dumas into more modern idioms and catch-phrases, but it takes mental gymnastics to imagine Dumas writing some of this stuff. I've read the Count of Monte Cristo and the Three Musketeers Trilogy unabridged and haven't come across such difficult reading in all those thousands of pages. The writing style is choppy, the diction distasteful and it affects the story significantly. I'm sure you will enjoy this book if you find another translation I'm half-tempted to buy a new copy rather than stomach the rest of this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was absolutely amazing!Dumas really emphasizes the power of true love and real friendship in a very unconventional way. This book is captivating