×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Knight (Patrick Bowers Files Series #3)
     

The Knight (Patrick Bowers Files Series #3)

4.5 257
by Steven James
 

See All Formats & Editions

In The Knight, the third installment in the bestselling series of thrillers featuring FBI criminologist Patrick Bowers, the stakes have never been higher.

Agent Bowers is used to tracking the country's most dangerous killers, but now it looks like a killer is tracking him. When he realizes the murderer is using clues from an ancient manuscript as a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Knight (Patrick Bowers Files Series #3) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 257 reviews.
Deborah_K More than 1 year ago
I'm just going to start off this review by saying that Steven James is one of the best authors I have read period. I have never been more engrossed or sucked into a novel as I have with his books. It's such a page turner that I managed to finish this almost 500 page book in less than two hours. This book was another roller coaster ride to read. There are many ups and downs, twists and turns, and sharp drops while you read this book. You better believe there are times also while reading when you want to scream and cover your eyes. This book is not for the faint-hearted. If you have a weak stomach, read the book with caution. While the book is not gory or overtly graphic in terms of violence, there are scenes where even the most iron clad stomachs could get a bit squeamish . I think what is more effective is that the fact that a lot of the details are left to the imagination. The reader is given the overall gist of the scene and left to infer on their own as to what else is going on. Not only is the book intense, it also makes you think about your beliefs and challenges them. There are several instances in the book where you feel very uncomfortable, not due to gory scenes, but just to the situations themselves. This is especially true when the POV goes into the mind of the killer. Patrick Bowers is such an intense character. Not only is his job life interesting but his outside life and the relationships he has with his family is captivating to read as well. The author does a wonderful job of making the reader want to read everything and not just what is considered the exciting bits. Other books put so much energy and focus on the action scenes and tend to neglect the character development sequences. This book is completely well rounded so with every page you are eager to find out what happens next. If you haven't read any of the books in this series, what are you waiting for? If you think that Christian fiction is boring, preachy, and predictable then I dare you to pick up this book and read it. It will blow you away with its edgy storyline and extremely well written plot. I've never had a more enjoyable time reading a suspense novel and I am dying until book 4 comes out. I've raved about this series so much, I've made my mom a fan! VERY HIGHLY recommended.
ChristysBookBlog More than 1 year ago
The Knight by Steven James is the third book is the exciting Patrick Bowers series. FBI Agent Bowers uses his unique geographic profiling skills to track down the most violent of criminals. He'll have to use all of his abilities to find a sadistic murderer who is killing people for a twisted story before Bowers and his stepdaughter Tessa become the next victims. This riveting thriller never lets up for a second. From tense courtroom drama to intense action scenes, every page zips by. I love how James has given Bowers an unusual ability, making him stand out from the overloaded FBI action genre. Bowers relies more on his brain than his brawn to outwit criminals, but he's a bit clueless about matters of the heart in interactions with Tessa and new love interest Cheyenne. If you're going through withdrawal this summer because of repeats on Criminal Minds, Numbers,CSI, etc, Patrick Bowers will satisfy your need for a smart and scary suspenseful thriller.
Janna6 More than 1 year ago
Whoa! If ever there was a book written that is just itching to be made into a movie - it is definitely "The Knight" by Steven James. Without even reading books #1 and #2 in the Patrick Bowers Thriller series I would say that this could be the next great trilogy of movies! I am literally sitting on the edge of my bed, my eyes skimming the pages as fast as possible because the writing is so tight and intense that I fear I'm going to miss something! Is the killer going to succeed before Pat gets there? The amazing thing is that at no time can you just assume as a reader that Pat will stop the killer, he has killed so many times already that no body is sacred and anyone could die at anytime. I was actually holding my breath! I will absolutely not giveaway anything that would spoil a moment of this book for any of you readers out there so I will not talk plot line at all, I will only emphasize that this is one of the single best suspense thrillers I have ever read. Do you love Brandilyn Collins? You'll love Steven James. Do you enjoy Colleen Coble? You'll love Steven James. Does Ted Dekker bring you to the edge of your seat? Add Steven James to your keeper shelf right next to Ted Dekker, he totally deserves to be there!
Smilingsally More than 1 year ago
Although I enjoy stories of suspense, I do not usually choose to read thrillers. I'm a wimp, and I don't like to be frightened. Nonetheless, I must admit that I loved this intense novel about a gory, serial killer. I would like to think that the world could not possibly contain a person as evil as Giovanni, but the author is quite adept at writing believable characters. Giovanni is a psychopath who meticulously plots his murders based on The Decameron. The plot moves at an intense pace. FBI Special Agent Patrick Bowers, a widow, struggles with balancing truth and justice while raising Tessa, his free-thinking teenage stepdaughter. Tessa has self-love/hate issues; she cuts herself when confronted with pain. Her grief over the death of her mom and the subsequent discovery of a diary makes for an interesting sub-plot. I doubt if you will figure out the ending; I didn't. Why, there's even an unexpected twist in the epilogue!
tegeorge More than 1 year ago
As the television thriller, 24, rose in popularity, "Jack is Back," became a familiar catchphrase. With his third installment of Patrick Bowers's thrillers, Steven James has given us the Christian suspense equivalent of Jack Bauer. In the Pawn, James introduced us to Patrick Bowers, an FBI special agent with his own unique and often distrusted ideas about finding the most sadistic and dangerous of killers. In the Rook, our hero developed a better relationship with his step-daughter, seemed to be developing a growing relationship with a fellow female agent, and thwarted an old nemesis from The Pawn. With those two pieces off the board, it's time for The Knight. The Knight opens with Bowers preparing to testify in the retrial of the first serial killer he arrested thirteen years earlier. Once again, James pits one killer against another all the while complicating Bower's life in new and unsuspected ways. Since saying anything more about the plot gives away the story, this reviewer can do the reader more justice by focusing on the themes of The Knight. Bowers has spent years believing in what he does and in the justice system's ability to end the careers of decidedly evil people. But, when his actions cause the death of a good man rather than a convicted killer, Bowers finds himself increasingly questioning what separates him from the people he considers evil. I have no doubt that inner conflict will carry forward in future releases in this series. Everything is here James's readers have come to expect: plot twists that spin so fast they leave one mentally nauseated, antagonists with twists of their own, a step-daughter who is both brilliant yet way too head-strong, almost realized love interests that never quite materialize, and a love-hate relationship with many of his co-workers. The dialogue is tight and as full of action as the plot itself. The only negative I mention is my disappointment James' did little to further the spiritual journey I thought Bowers was beginning in The Rook. While this doesn't lessen the strength of the story it is still something I hope the author will consider in future books. The Knight ends with our hero on administrative leave from the bureau and preoccupied with his step-daughter Raven. But don't worry; Patrick Bowers will be back in the next installment of his odyssey. He has to because the Knight has already surfaced to "tell a brand-new story to the curious, waiting world."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is Steven James third book in his Patrick Bowers series. This book was just as good as the rest, maybe better. From page one it had me hooked. Patrick is searching for another serial killer, and this time he has only a short time to find him. Never saw the ending coming...A must read series...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks in to room puls down pants the girls run over and felatiate me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*Walks into the meeting room for DHIs* As I walked in I noticed Mom, Dad, and the other DHIs. Then I noticed all the other Disney characters. "Okay so whats the problem?" I asked. *Leans on wall* "We are getting ready to tell you something thats been bugging us" Philby said. "What?" I asked "Percy Jacksons real?" The group looked at rach other. *I stared at them* "Your kidding me!" I screamed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gator1mom More than 1 year ago
I'm just starting the 4th book in the series. What I like most about it is that it's an awesome, exciting, can't put it down, book......but there is no cuss words in it!! I know most policemen, detectives, etc. use bad language, but it's refreshing to have an awesome plot, crime story and no cussing!! I'm glad I found Steven James books! I will be reading all of them!!
Sully52 More than 1 year ago
Almost finished-will finish this week-end then QUEEN!!! Can't wait for the KING to come out so I can buy it and complete the set!! Excellent author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
goldieinaz More than 1 year ago
Excellent!! Steven James is a fantastic author and I just can't seem to put his books down once I start reading them. Recommend to anyone who wants to be entertained.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another fast paced action thriller from James. Great characters and tangled plot that you will second or maybe third guess yourself before the end
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago