×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Kommandant's Girl
     

The Kommandant's Girl

4.1 84
by Pam Jenoff
 

See All Formats & Editions

In her luminous and groundbreaking debut, bestselling author Pam Jenoff shows the unimaginable sacrifices one woman must make in a time of war

Nineteen-year-old Emma Bau has been married only three weeks when Nazi tanks thunder into her native Poland. Within days Emma’s husband, Jacob, is forced to disappear underground, leaving her imprisoned

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Kommandant's Girl 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 84 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
firs of all sorry for my english - its not my native language. thats true - i couldnt put down that book... but it just made me angry to be honest. author made so much historical mastakes! for example - Poland was fighting with Germans for a month, not for two weeks (like France). Emma/Anna is buyng oranges or drinking orange juce all the time - dureing war in Poland it was almost impissible to buy bread - what about oranges!!! author is writening also about fridges - first fridge in Poland was made in 1956!so long after the war... next thing - the Resistance movement - the book says that there was only Jews fighting for freedom, what about the Poles? in the book ther is only one polish freedom fighter and many Jews. in reality it was just opposite. i understeand that its kind of historical fiction but its just sooo unreal that it hurts, especialy that Pam Jenoff was vice consul in Cracow - she should study some more history beafore writening that book. shame...
momof3drmy More than 1 year ago
This book was a great read. I was able to read it and not worry about setting it down and not be able to pick up where i left off. I really enjoyed this.
gaele 9 months ago
I couldn’t help but grab for this title when the review opportunity arose. World War II historic fiction with all of the grey areas brought forth with a need to survive versus your own moral code. Jenoff created a romance to play in the foreground of major political and societal upheaval. But, there were plenty of good ideas brought forward in this story, and I was completely wrapped up in the reading to the end. With an initial premise that could go any of several different directions, Emma is a newlywed, young, rather sheltered girl when her homeland is invaded by the Nazis. Her husband, a Jewish Activist, flees for his life, and Emma must be smuggled out of the city to a gentile Aunt’s home in Krakow, assume a new identity and live through the war. Now living as Anna, an introduction to Kommandant Richwalder results in the offer of a position in the Kommandant’s office. As is not uncommon, youth and inexperience when faced with power often leads to situations that are loosely termed romance. The power imbalance here is so great, the consequences so dire, that I cannot see Anna/Emma’s attraction as more than infatuation. Even though, Jenoff did make the character of Georg reasonably sympathetic – and rightly so. Everyone in the war was not all good or all bad – even as their actions did skew their reputations later. So – we have a not-so-unusual romance or flirtation in a time of war, and then the story starts to fail the premise. Too many coincidences to neatly wrap-up threads started, with a heroine who seems completely unaware of the devastation around her. A timeframe that is, at best, problematic in terms of actual history – a failing that I wish didn’t add to the negatives here. Facts are easy to verify and check, and while personal accounts shared through family may have additional details to share, the trajectory of the war, the presence of the occupying force, and the questions around when Germany realized that they could (not would) lose the war all play in far too early in the story to hold the pieces in place. Intriguing and engaging despite the holes in timeline and failure to actually develop the heroine will provide readers with an interesting story, but one that could be much more satisfying. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via Edelweiss for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Felt like you were right there. So many complex situations and people involved but you understood the emotions and motives of each of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like this story, you've got to read My enemy's Cradle by Sara Young.
mandi1082 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I love reading historical fiction and this book talked about something that I never have read about and that was the Resistance. I think the book moved with great speed even thought the ending did not do the ending justice I wanted to know more. I wanted to know what happened so I guess I hope she writes another book to put my mind at ease with the main character.
MandyMona More than 1 year ago
It was a great story, but I didn't care for the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the characters in this book! I thought about them all day, couldn't wait to get home to read more. A well written hitorical fiction book. Will absolutely read more from this author !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One fantastic read. Loved the Kommandant...so will you. Buy it and you won't be disapointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent!!!  Highly recommended.
catch20nj More than 1 year ago
This story had so much promise but came up a bit short in the end, in my opinion. I wonder what factors led to the author cutting it short. That said, the writer definitely has a knack for telling a story which, combined with such an interesting theme, made this book enjoyable.
StacieRosePittard More than 1 year ago
An easy read that I finished very quickly, partly because of it's lightness and partly due to my interest in how the story would resolve. I loved how the characters were believable, no one was perfect and the ending wasn't exactly a "happy ever after" for all involved (not to give away spoilers). However, I felt as if the author took advantage of such a dark time and place in history. I felt the author's attempt at acknowledging the horrors of the holocaust, but those details were brushed over too quickly. I couldn't help but to feel that the author used the holocaust in order to tell a good romance, and that really bothered me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really love this book! I couldn't put it down. This book is very intense and made tears come to my eyes at the end. This book has my seal of approval!
sassypickle More than 1 year ago
While a sad story, it was quite enjoyable. A nice novel based on dreadful history. The book should have been edited more closely - perhaps by a Polish speaker. The mistakes in the few Polish words and names that were used would have been easily caught by someone who knows the language.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AngieJG More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, but felt that it was too short. There were so many places where the author could have expanded on the plot and provided more character development. The interaction between the kommandant and his assistant could have progressed at a slower pace, adding more tension and excitement to the relationship. Having their relationship continue, would have provided much more for the plot. But instead the novel stopped rather abruptly leaving me wanting so much more. I read the follow up to the book - The Diplomat's Wife and it rarely touches on the main characters from this book. I still give the book 4 stars, because it kept my attention and it was interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago