×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Kronos
     

Kronos

4.2 65
by Jeremy Robinson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Two years after his wife's death, oceanographer and former navy SEAL, Atticus Young, attempts to reconcile with his rebellious daughter, Giona, by taking her on the scuba dive of a lifetime--swimming with a pod of peaceful humpback whales in the Gulf of Maine. But the beauty of the sea belies a terror from the deep--a horrific creature as immense as it is ancient.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Kronos 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
theGhost1982 More than 1 year ago
Jeremy Robinson is an author to watch!! I am a huge thriller fan and found r. Robinson by accident... After reading everything that James Rollins, Matthew Reilly, Steve Alten, Steve Berry, and Brad Thor have had to offer Jeremy Robinson is a welcome addition to the home library!!!
Megalith More than 1 year ago
Jeremy Robinson delivers again! Kronos is another positively addictive page-turner. Atticus young is a former Navy SEAL trying to come to grips with the death of his wive and increasing disconnect from his teenage daughter, Giona. On a scuba diving trip, Giona is swallowed by a massive, unknown beast of the sea. The only thing keeping Atticus alive is his desire to hunt the creature that took his daughter. Into his life walks Trevor Manfred, a ruthless multi-millionaire who wants the beast as a hunting trophy.

The story moves forward at Robinson's typical fast pace. Manfred is a shady character, and there are tensions between Atticus and one of Manfred's primary henchmen. The tension is ratcheted up when Atticus's former military colleague Andrea, now an officer in the Coast Guard, enters the picture. The blend of action and mystery never relents. The publisher should put a warning label on the cove: Do not open this book unless you have time to read the entire thing. A few scenes feel either a bit forced or contrived, such as an early scene in which Atticus roughs up some street toughs who mess with his his daughter, but does it in such a way that the reader is apparently supposed to conclude that he is a tough guy, but not a "bad" guy, though he could be if he wanted to. Atticus's conversation with his mother after Giona's loss is a bit cliche, as is much of the Manfred story line. The plot is engaging enough that it more than outweighs these areas of relative weakness.

In many ways, this book is reminiscent of the early works of James Rollins, Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, and Steve Alten. There is a satisfying mix of mystery, monsters, and action. Action-Adventure fans who have not yet discovered Robinson would do well to make this their first exposure to one of the most talented writers in the genre. Buy your copy of Kronos today!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this story. The sea monster idea is far from new, but this one has some twists. The main character, who seems to have a heaping helping share of grief and loss, finds he still has a spark for life all the while dealing with a sea monster who ate his daughter, a crazy billionaire and his henchmen, and an old love who wants to save him. Definitely worth the read! I suggest the author's other stand alone books too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very good because all the characters had depth and the plot was good. i loved how it ties everything together but there were some points i thought he could have made better and sometimes it got a little too far fetched. overall i would recommend it to anyone who loves to read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I have read all 5 of the Origins and enjoyed them all. This was one of the best. The Didymus Contingency was also really good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kronos was an awesome read! It was suspenseful and fast-paced.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was a really good read. I enjoyed the suspense, action, romance (NOT SEX) and the real spiritual element. . Thank you for writing a book that wasn't filled with cursing and sex. I stop reading books if they descend to that level.
NewtMS More than 1 year ago
This book was really interesting right up to the last 80 -100 pages. I knew where the story was heading and was looking forward to going there as I enjoy christian stories at times but this went there to fast and to much. If you are looking to read a religous story go back and reread "The Robe"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fun read, I recommend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book interesting and entertaining. It made one think of their own beliefs and what they would do in the situation. It was hard to put down once I got into it.
Kelnyg1 More than 1 year ago
Kronos is one of my favourite stand-alone books from Jeremy Robinson. The hero isn't shown to be perfect, he has faults and is willing to do whatever it takes to get revenge on the sea-monster that swallowed his Daughter. The bad guy isn't likeable at all and from the beginning you know he is the bad guy which is refreshing. The female characters are capable. The story was exciting and I found it difficult to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was inspired by a pliosaur called Kronosaurus
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was quite good, especially taking into consideration that it was one of Robinson's first books. This is clearly the work of an amazingly creative mind. I will definately be reading all of his books and recommend them highly. Fans of James Rollins in particular will love this auhor. Stephanie Clanahan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very creative, fast read and enjoyable!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago