×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ladies' Night
     

Ladies' Night

4.2 172
by Mary Kay Andrews
 

See All Formats & Editions

LOVE CAN BE LOST
Grace Stanton’s life as a rising star in the world of lifestyle bloggers takes a surprising turn when she catches her husband cheating—and drives his pricey sports car straight into the family swimming pool. Grace suddenly finds herself locked out of her palatial home, checking account, and even the blog she has worked

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ladies Night 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 173 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed Ladies' Night. It was a quick read with lots of laughs. This is the first book of MK Andrews that I have read. She is an excellent writer and very insightful. This book is a real page-turner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
That's it for me. I just bought my last Mary Kay Andrews book. I cannot stomach another one of these books; the half-wit female always being saved by the handsome, rugged guy, the typos (seriously, there are a ton of people being thanked for making your books "possible"...can you not get ONE of them to proofread this crap for you before it goes to print?!?), the implausible story lines, ALWAYS knowing what will happen next (because it's the EXACT same thing that happens in EVERY MKA book!), etc etc. This was probably the worst MKA book thus far! If I read the name "Jungle Jerry's" one more time or had to suffer thru another descriptive of that place, I was gonna scream! What a depressing, gross location for a school trip. And it's 2014...who is going to take their class somewhere like that, pay money to look at a bunch of dying trees, overgrown, unkempt landscaping & have said class be served apple slices & juice poured in a cup by the location's bookkeeper?! No one! I can't stand books like this that are, in a word, ignorant. And makes me feel ignorant for spending money to read them. Well, no more. I'm through! Get a proofreader, get a lead character with some balls that can REALLY take care of herself, instead of one that you build up like they're independent only to, in the end, need saving, get a good overall premise (by new premise I mean something fresh & original and not Savannah Blues with a different title!) & stop putting out crap books that don't even make decent "beach reads"!
susiebAR More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of Mary Kay Andrews, this is a good book has humor and good story. I am looking forward to next book which is followup of other funny characters in previous books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the Savanah series I became totally hooked on Mary Kay Andrews, I love the references to design, architecture, and antiques; absolutely adore the remakes on houses and relationships. I've read Little Bitty Lies which was great as well and Hissy Fit very entertaining and well written, but Ladies night has come as a disappointment. The story is okay, but no where near the page turner the earlier books were. In the beginning of the book the back stories are repeated so much it is as if the author forgot that we had already read it all. It takes a very long time to develop, seems to kind of wallow for two-thirds of the book and then finally come alive. Seemed hurriedly written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not her best I too have read all of her books. This one was a disappointment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so bad , i skipped thru 100 pages and still could not finish it-stupid and predictable at best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great bok by Mary Kay Andrews It was a little long but still very good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have purchased and loved all MKA books and am beyond disappointed in this one. None of the typical light hearted humor or colorful characters. If this is the author's idea of a Ladies Night, she needs to include the tequilla with the book purchase- you are gonna need it to get through this depressing pile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was great, takes you away without ever leaving your house
irishclaireKG More than 1 year ago
Predictable and Illogical. I have read all Andrews' books, and I enjoy an easy/breezy beach read as much as anyone else. But I do like my beach reads with logic and some type of character development. This book is almost 500 pages yet there is not a fully developed character in it; there are large gaps in motivation, plot--halfway through I found myself saying 'what the???' out loud. The protagonist, Grace, is cruelly duped and cheated by her husband--an awful, wretched man who seems to have only one side: being hideous. What did Grace ever see in him to marry him? As he is characterized as totally one dimensional, it makes no real sense that he was able to fool her all these years. As Grace is supposed to be smart and super-industrious, it makes absolutely no sense to stick her with this guy and give us no insight, at all, into how she ever trusted him, how she ever believed him...indeed, other than a couple of 'blink and you'll miss it references' we are given no 'backstory' on this relationship at all. To further complicate. Grace then turns around and throws herself into--and at--the first good guy who seems interested. What??? She has been mistreated in horrible ways; she says she 'hates' men and can no longer trust them but gets totally bent out of shape when her intended seduction seems hesitant to rebound with a woman who is not even divorced yet and claims she has no use for men?? It makes no sense. While other Andrews' novels like 'Spring Fever' and 'Savannah Blues' display some really fun humor and some great supporting characters--especially the female best friends--this does not. All these characters show one side and no depth; the only exception is Camryn, a member of the divorce group, and she is not nearly as developed as she could be. That being said, if the lack of logic and some real plot gaps (this ends with some questions for those of us paying attention) are not factors, then this is otherwise a totally easy read that will go down nicely at the pool. One truly unique addition to the plot is using a past its prime animal park/botanical gardens as one of its settings. Oh--and this has nothing to do with the book--can someone PLEASE post on here how to give a review a heading that is NOT cut off in mid sentence or word??? I thought I had it figured out, but I obviously don't. I thank you very much ahead of time:))
SharonRedfern More than 1 year ago
I started this book on audio and had to switch to the book because it was making me crazy that it was going so slow. Not the story, just listening to it. Once I got the actual book, I really enjoyed the story. My only quibble; for a smart person, the heroine was a bit of a doormat after she caught her hubby Ben "being assisted" by her assistant J’Aime. My aggravation level dropped once she got divorced and had to start rebuilding her life. Grace loses everything, her husband, blog, and lifestyle after catching her hubby in the act and then destroying his car in a hissy fit (LOL). While she is licking her wounds, he is neatly taking everything away from her and even sabotaging her efforts to recoup her life. She ends up in a touchy feely anger management group with a bunch of other divorced people who had the misfortune of having their cases heard by the same judge. The best part of the story takes place from this point onward as Grace discovers a way to get her self-esteem and even her career back on track. I like that she realizes that she doesn't need all of the expensive and fashionable things which defined her life and even her blog before the divorce. Grace gets back to her essential self and rediscovers the joy in rehabbing a small vintage house not a mcmansion. She meets Wyatt in her divorce group and they make a real connection after some false starts. He has also been taken for a ride by his ex, but he has a child involved, which makes it worse. The members of the group start to figure out that there is something fishy going on with their so-called therapist and the judge that heard their cases. The ways that the group investigates the situation add some real humor to the book. There are also parts that show just how toxic divorce can really be if the parties don’t work hard to prevent that from happening even after the court hearing is over. I have to say that Ms. Andrews is a nicer person than I am because I think that Ben and J’Aime don’t suffer enough in the end. But, that is really the lesson that we learn in a divorce. I remember reading in a book something about the anger you keep in your heart leaving less room for love to come in. Grace learns that lesson and is the better person for learning it. PS… Now that I have read the book, I am going to re-listen to it because the narrator really did a good job. It wasn’t her fault that I was too impatient to wait and enjoy the book.
VirtuousWomanKF More than 1 year ago
This is just a great, fun novel.  A little heat, a little mystery, a little romance, a little blogging, and a little photography.  Great for a summer beach read.  I will be reading more of Mary Kay Andrews!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good Lord,were you having a bad day or what!!?The first thing I asked myself was why you even read it in the first place.But l'm guilty myselve if I get ahold of a book that I don't care for I would keep reading it to"get my moneys worth".I think though if it brought out the "crazed animal"in me l would hang it up verses a heart attack!!I found your review very amusing.In fact it got me to laughingSure wouldn't want to get on your bad side!~~~~Granny B.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I kept asking myself throughout this read if it was really written by Mary Kay Andrews. Disappointing as I LOVE all her other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun, enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How can I say what needs to be said about this book without it sounding horrible?  The premise and the plot were good but the how-to was awful, unbelievable and shocking to say the least. Mary Kay Andrews really needed to take the advise of her legal advice team prior to writing this book instead of stating in the acknowledgments that she chose not to do so.  It was really hard for me keep reading the book but my Mother-In-Law told me to continue so I did. If it had been any other author I would have chucked it.  Do not bother to read this book it will only get you angry at how improbable the situation is
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MKA has outdone herself on this one. After just a few chapters I was emotionally attached and invested in the characters, and laughing aloud! As a native Floridian, it was wonderful to reminisce about "Old Florida" and the old tourist attractions, also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago