×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Lady Elizabeth
     

The Lady Elizabeth

4.1 143
by Alison Weir
 

See All Formats & Editions

Following the tremendous success of her first novel, Innocent Traitor, which recounted the riveting tale of the doomed Lady Jane Grey, acclaimed historian and New York Times bestselling author Alison Weir turns her masterly storytelling skills to the early life of young Elizabeth Tudor, who would grow up to become England’s most intriguing and powerful queen.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lady Elizabeth 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 143 reviews.
Brigit More than 1 year ago
As a little girl, I thought that there could be no better life than the life of a princess. As I grew and started reading history rather than fairy tales, I realized that the life of a princess is not an easy life to lead. Especially if you happen to be the daughter of King Henry VIII. I became fascinated with the Tudor era, especially the reign and life of Queen Elizabeth I. I would read or watch whatever I could find. I am very happy to have found The Lady Elizabeth. The Lady Elizabeth deals with the Queen's life from birth through her ascension to the throne. It is the first work I have read which is Queen Elizabeth's life woven into a very well told novel. I loved this book from the moment I started reading it. The attention to every detail of the period, the personalities of the people involved with her life, the way she was treated, the way she had to shrewdly deal with interrogators to save her own life at a very young age are so vividly described you almost feel like you are living through it with her. If you enjoy historical novels, I would definitely suggest this one.
Nan53 More than 1 year ago
This was my first historical fiction book. It certainly made for livelier reading than another book I had read about Elizabeth. As long as the facts of her life haven't been tampered with I think this is a brilliant way to learn about history. It was fun reading.
mollify More than 1 year ago
Taking credible facts and spicing it up with probable "what if"s, Alison Weir enchants all with the tale of Queen Elizabeth I's turbulent childhood. Throughout the book we witness the development of an innocent and bright child into a captivating young lady who wields her wit and charm to save her life on many occasions. A great read for any lover of the Virgin Queen, the Tudor Dynasty, history in general and strong independent women.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Standing ovation for Alison Weir ladies and gentlemen! I adore this book! I am only 317 pages into it but my goodness, I felt as if I was there. I love Elizabeth I. She is my rolemodel, and to read how strong,smart and amazing she was made me fall in love with her all over again. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. I love,love love this book and I am not even finished with it! For those of you that are looking for an exciting read and want to learn more Elizabeth I and Henry VIII....please go buy this book. I promise you will enjoy every single page! Honestly, I literally felt as if I was there. There was a certain part in the book when Elizabeth kisses her father King Henry VIII on his forehead, and mind you this is when he is very ill in bed and she says to him 'it will be my constant prayer that God will soon restore you to good health sir'. And he looked up at her with tears in his eyes......I swear to you I felt like I was right there standing next to the young Elizabeth watching the whole thing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want a refund. This is trash.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bad format, unreadable. No wonder it was on sale. DO NOT BUY.
crazyquiltmom More than 1 year ago
I think Elizabeth I is one of the most fascinating persons in English history. Ms. Weir's fine historical novel brings alive Elizabeth's life prior to her ascent to the English throne upon the death of her half-sister. Read this book!!!
keb1001 More than 1 year ago
I have read several other books by this author, but this was a total waste of time. The author simply repeats known facts/legends and rumors about Elizabeth I, and the few original plot lines are totally unbelievable...worse, they're boring.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, but I thought it would be better. I read her book about Jane Grey which seemed to be more story were this one seemed like you were reading a history book
Tatania More than 1 year ago
Don't bother with this one. Complete garbage! Full of historical inaccuracies and graphic sexual content. I picked up this book in hopes of learning more about this incredible historical figure and was bitterly disappointed. Don't mistake this book for historical fiction—it's a cheap romance with a pretty cover.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A novel that has as strong historical cridencials
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, historically accurate. It proposes some what if scenarios about Elizabeth's early life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was well written with a great deal of historical background. I did not want it to end where it did but to continue the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i liked this book very much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is more like a soap opera than a historical fiction. Iwill stick with phillipa gregory.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For pity's sake! THREE year olds do not talk/think this way. Every page like an iron bar thrown in a bathtub.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago