×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Lady in Gold: The Extraordinary Tale of Gustav Klimt's Masterpiece, Bloch-Bauer
     

The Lady in Gold: The Extraordinary Tale of Gustav Klimt's Masterpiece, Bloch-Bauer

3.4 16
by Anne-Marie O'Connor
 

See All Formats & Editions

The spellbinding story, part fairy tale, part suspense, of Gustav Klimt’s Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer, one of the most emblematic portraits of its time; of the beautiful, seductive Viennese Jewish salon hostess who sat for it; the notorious artist who painted it; the now vanished turn-of-the-century Vienna that shaped it; and the strange twisted fate

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Lady in Gold: The Extraordinary Tale of Gustav Klimt's Masterpiece, Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is a good example of life in vienna. wealth, culture,arts and the looming nazi takeover. it gives a human element to a spectacular painting and how life intertwines with it.. so many people were connected. the final outcome is good and we can hope that the future outcome of stolen treasures will benefit the true owners of these masterpieces. loved it!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
interesting as far as to the historical background of Vienna, its culture, artists, Nazi occupation and persecution of the Jews and theft of their art works. A bit too long
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you for stocking this excellent book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book tells the story of the artist Klimt and his most famous painting, The Lady in Gold which now hangs in the Neue Galerie on 5th Avenue in New York. The history of the painting is tragic and fascinating but the history of pre-war Vienna is perhaps the most important part of the book. It is a little hard to keep all the people and the interrelationships straight - I had to draw a schematic to do this. But this is an important book and highly recommended to everyone who is interested in history and art.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally an author that writes above a high school leval.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting read full of nice factoids and back story. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The scholarship of MS O'Connor is evident from the first page to the last.  "Lady In Gold,"  gives an excellent portrait of time and place.  A reader is swept along in the descriptions of the lifestyle of pre-WW2 Vienna, and the salons of the elegant Adele Bloch-Bauer. Among the guests present would be famous authors,  including, Mark Twain.  And artists, such as Gustav Klimt. "The "Lady In Gold' refers to a painting of Adele Bloch-Bauer by Klimt.  "The lady In Gold"  takes on a life of its own when it is stolen by the  Nazis.  As the painting's subject and creator are swept along by history, it is the painting that becomes most important. Adele's niece, Maria Bloch-Bauer fought Austria for decades, to have five paintings returned to the Bloch- Bauer family.  Among the  paintings was "The Lady In Gold"                                                   The recovery of the paintings brings us up to the present day .        
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely brilliant!  I love the historic research and the history that belonged to that ERA.  Wonderfully written.  We read the book as part of our book club selection .  The timing was perfect.  Once again today more of these Masterpieces were found hiding in someone hanging in  another home that had no right to the paintings.  For same on all who knowingly stored these pictures on there walls. The history background of this story is extremely important.  I loved every minute of the book.    
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
HALRPH More than 1 year ago
My Mom & Grandmother were from Vienna I had higher hopes for this book - while very historical and factual, the author chooses to color the narrative and dialogue between Klimt & the characters as if she were present when they were alive! Seriously? Investigative, newspaper columnists should stick to that genre of writing - it doesn't translate to historical events. The book was interesting - but more because my family hails from Vienna & I wanted to kn0w me about that period of time. The book was too long - could definately have been condensed -= I skipped over paragraphs & paragraphs - and still found that it dragged
gutdoc More than 1 year ago
This book had potential. The terrible history behind the famous Klimt painting could have made for an important and interesting contribution to the many books concerning the Nazi era. However, the way this book is narrated kept me from getting into the the story as it was very dry with too much attention to the little insignificant details. It was highly reviewed by critics and I respect that, however, I found it boring and very draggy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a book club member, I often find it helpful when a revier or report on the book includes study/discussion questions. It seems these are missing in this case. Maybe somebody could offer a few to stimulate discussion sessions for the reader(s). mable-in-lagro+st.pete
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was like reading a history book and not in any way entertaining was a waste of money
kitty-kitty More than 1 year ago
The order was canceled and never got the book