×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lady Jasmine
     

Lady Jasmine

4.5 30
by Victoria Christopher Murray
 

See All Formats & Editions

The beloved—and hated—Jasmine larson bush returns to battle her own past in a compelling new novel of love, faith, and shame from the Essence bestselling novelist. In Temptation, A Sin and a Shame, and most recently, Too Little, Too Late, Jasmine Larson Bush—a scheming, manipulative, man-stealing diva who was “saved” just in time to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lady Jasmine 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
mandersj More than 1 year ago
It's hard to categorize "Lady Jasmine." I thought maybe it was a religious book, being that Jasmine Bush is the wife of Pastor Hosea Bush, whose father is Reverend Bush. Then I thought it might be romance when the semi-graphic sex scenes started rolling in. Rather than classify the genre, I'll just appreciate it for what it is. Jasmine is torn when her father-in-law is gunned down in the City of Lights parking lot one night. Reverend Bush ends up in a coma with an undetermined amount of damage to his brain. This means the Reverend's son, Jasmine's husband Hosea, will take over as Senior Pastor of one of the biggest churches in the area. Which means, Jasmine will become First Lady, a spotlight role Jasmine has always aspired to, although not necessarily if it meant her father-in-law paid the price. The only problem is that Jasmine has quite a past. One that includes tricking her husband into thinking he's the father of Jasmine's daughter, sleeping with married men, stripping and prostitution. In a previous novel, Jasmine thought she had told Hosea all her secrets, however in this installment, a blackmailer turns up threatening to compromise Jasmine's First Lady status with some forgotten sins of her past. I cannot understand how Jasmine and Hosea ended up together, and maybe that's because I missed the previous novel. Jasmine is a manipulative, greedy, slutty woman who doesn't seem to want to spend any time with her young daughter, and would in fact rather dig up dirt on the other members of their church just in case one of them is her blackmailer. It was gratifying to eventually learn exactly how mortifying Jasmine's past sins were, since in the beginning we were only doled out the information that she was worried about Hosea finding out she was a stripper. In fact she did much worse things than that. The story seems pretty contrived, however, and it felt like the author started making things up as she went along, never revising earlier parts of the story that pertained to the outcome. By the way the book ends I'm betting the author wants us to like Jasmine, however she does not paint Jasmine as a very likeable person no matter how much Christian faith she proclaims to have.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing! The prlouge really hooks me! I am excited to read the fist chapter!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This brings out fun and interesting features the author as done it again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
highlyfavoredKH More than 1 year ago
Forgiveness at its best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shay Hobbs More than 1 year ago
Victoria Chistopher Murray nevee stops. she keeps you wanting more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OOSABookClub More than 1 year ago
Jasmine is back and still married to her husband, Hosea, with her daughter, Jacquie. Of course, the only difference is that she is the First Lady of City of Lights at Riverside Church and Hosea is now Reverend Hosea Bush. Readers many have thought that Jasmine did change and was ready to put her devious past behind her and move forward. But then there is always that thing called...karma. With her back against the wall, will she reveal all the lies and drama to Hosea about her past? Will Hosea stay this time? "Lady Jasmine" by Victoria Christopher Murray is an absolutely fantastic read for everyone! I did not realize I was reading a Christian novel because it contained so much drama that made it impossible to put the book down. This novel really made a detour down "Drama Street!" I enjoyed every page. Victoria, you have done it again! Job well done. I recommend "Lady Jasmine" to others as a "wake up" call. I will continue to look for more of Victoria Christopher Murray's books in the future. Reviewed by: Tekisha
jasmbea More than 1 year ago
quick read, great for a rainy day!
BABBookClub More than 1 year ago
Lady Jasmine is my introductory read into the writings of Victoria Christopher Murray. Boy, what a way to start! This is one book I could not put down. The story just got better and better. And who does not know on sight the antics of "church folks" and the plots they can cook up. A bit of backstabbing, a little gossiping add a blackmailing and the game is on for Mrs. Bush. Lady Jasmine's higher purpose through all of the twists and turns in her life is to hold her family together. Her methods are only clear and reasonable to her. You have to wonder if the costs of the results she desire is to high. This was a truly fabulous read. I strongly recommend that you add this book to your library. I know you will enjoy it as much as I have. Review: 4.5 Beignets Reviewed by: Melinda Books and Beignets (BAB) Book Club
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jenniece More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure how Victoria was going to pull off one more book surrounding Jasmine, but she did and she did a great job. The book opened up the possibility of a series for two other characters and I hope that is the direction she goes. A very good book but I expect nothing less from Ms. Christopher-Murray.
harstan More than 1 year ago
A plotter all her life in order to gain positions of wealth and respect, Jasmine Larson Bush knows she is fortunate that her beloved spouse Reverend Hosea Bush forgave her lies and plots. A lesser man would have kicked her to the curb for her Jezebel transgressions (see TOO LITTLE TO LATE and TEMPTATION. She has vowed to God (and her husband) to always tell the truth and to stop her Machiavellian machinations and tells both her lies in a massive confession. When his father is shot in an accident, Hosea is named temporary pastor of the City of Lights Riverside Church though he has doubts and so does several selection board members. Jasmine relishes the glory and respect she and their daughter will receive as the wife and child of the pastor. However, the one transgression that she hid from her beloved Hosea surfaces when a blackmailer demands money. Jasmine used to fighting the opposition goes after the blackmailer with plans to counter blackmail by threatening double exposure and those board members who loudly objected to her husband as the interim pastor. As she charges into the frays she wonders if God and Hosea will forgive her this time. LADY JASMINE is a terrific inspirational contemporary tale that is filled with church intrigue, a light mystery, humor and pathos. Fans will appreciate LADY JASMINE as she falls back into her scheming ways though her cause is not quite as ugly as in the past, her method is as she considers the end justifies the means but also learns once again how merciful the Lord is towards those who trip up. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! I love to read about all of Jasmine's antics! This is a great book for the summer and I promise you will not be able to put this book down. Victoria Christopher Murray nevers disappoints her readers! I have read all of her books and they are all great page turners!! This book was worth every single dime! You will laugh out loud and scream out in anger, but mostly you will not want this book to end!