×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Lake of Dead Languages
     

The Lake of Dead Languages

4.2 104
by Carol Goodman
 

See All Formats & Editions

“A GOTHIC AND ELEGANT PAGE-TURNER.”
–The Boston Globe

Twenty years ago, Jane Hudson fled the Heart Lake School for Girls in the Adirondacks after a terrible tragedy. The week before her graduation, in that sheltered wonderland, three lives were taken, all victims of suicide. Only Jane was left to carry the burden of a mystery

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lake of Dead Languages 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 101 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
my absolute favorite book of all time. I am a very avid reader, but this one gets me again and again. countless times I have read it, and it never gets old. I recommend this book to anyone reading this review! great read, you wont regret it.
Beth Spencer More than 1 year ago
Lake of Dead Languages is one of my favotite books. And because it is, I have read all of Carol Goodman's other books and liked them just as much. I would recommend her novels to any of my friends.
emily_reads More than 1 year ago
Of all Carol Goodman's books, this is my favorite. This shape-shifting novel is suspenseful and engaging, while still fitting the hallmarks of a coming-of-age story. If you liked this book, I recommend reading Donna Tartt's The Secret History. It is a more sophisticated, though slower moving, but very intricately woven novel. Follow me on twitter for more books reviews!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I came across this novel and have since been a huge fan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lny11 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book but I couldn't help but keep questioning the integrity of the main character. The plot was great, if a bit sad, but definitely keeps you reading.
JKtypist More than 1 year ago
A creepy first effort by an author that has several titles available, but is new to me. I really enjoyed parts of the novel while others dragged a bit. Still, the spookiness will make me pick up a second offering from Ms. Goodman when I get the chance.
BookWorm1989BI More than 1 year ago
One of my all time favorite books!!! (:
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good character story pliot and good mystery idea and good with myths well writing you will love it i fell for teen and twe ntyyearsold
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Meg Cannon More than 1 year ago
Read this book with my bookclub. Our opinion of the novel was split. A few of us loved it but the majority of the club just thought it was alright. I had a hard time getting into the story, in fact it wasn't until the middle of part two, which is about halfway through the book that I was hooked and actually wanted to keep reading. Overall, the plot was intriguing and dark but the end was a bit predictable.
Imitation More than 1 year ago
I first came across this book when browsing through a site dedicated to reviewing recommended works. From the sample read on this site, I was immediately pulled into the altruistic love Jane received from the two people who would change her life forever. It was too good to pass up, and after purchasing the book it took me little over a day to finish. Even after the deaths of her three friends during her stay at Heart Lake, Jane Hudson returns as a Latin teacher in hopes of starting anew. When the apparent suicides begin happening again, she is forced to face her past and find the connections between the two sets of scandals, as well as the hidden secrets she never expected to discover. It was a mesmerizing read. Carol Goodman has become one of my favorite authors as she flawlessly wove the past and present together into one tantalizing novel you'll find hard to put down. The few imperfections are minor, having to do with the unrealistic reactions the characters sometimes display. However, Goodman's alluring style, written in the perspective of Jane herself, can easily conceal those faults, instead attracting readers to the chilling and jaw-dropping storyline. Once read, it is not a story one is able to forget about with ease.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago