×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lake of Fire: Book Three in the Yellowstone Series
     

Lake of Fire: Book Three in the Yellowstone Series

4.2 16
by Linda Jacobs
 

See All Formats & Editions

In 1900, Cord Sutton travels to the newly developed Yellowstone Park. Born one quarter Nez Perce, Cord intends to gain respect by buying the Lake Hotel. On his way, Cord rescues Chicago heiress, Laura Fielding, from a stagecoach robbery, and soon discovers her father is his rival for the property. Original.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lake of Fire 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Debra Molinoli More than 1 year ago
When I try to read reviews I would like to know whether the book was a good read, written well and was worth the money to buy. I dislike people telling the story. The purpose when I buy a book is to read the story. It decreases my desire to buy a book when I already know the story. This is disrespectful not only to the readers but also for the author. I have not bought several books after reading all the so call reviews. Why spend the money when I read the story through the reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was good but not as great as the other two. There were parts that didn't flow smoothly.
LaHReader More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, but not as much as the previous two in the series. SUMMER OF FIRE and RAIN OF FIRE both had romantic elements to them, but the natural disasters the characters faced had a bigger role, keeping the romance as more of a side story to the main action. LAKE OF FIRE can't claim that distinction. The plot is driven by the romance between the main characters rather than having the love story as just a part of the plot. I did like the characters, and if was a compelling read. If you liked the romantic aspects of the previous two books, you'll enjoy this one, but if you read them for the natural disaster action/adventure theme, you won't be as impressed here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ms.Jacobs has kept true to her form and written her stories to keep you going.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rebecca Clarkson More than 1 year ago
I want to know if the reader liked the book, if it was well written and worth spending my time and money on. I already read what it is about.
Leslie Amaya More than 1 year ago
Why are these people rewording the overview of this book instead of giving a critic? This does not aid in buying the book. They should filter comments; most helpful, most critical, most favorable, etc. (Sort of what ipad offers when buying books or apps.) It would be a lot easier than reading who can rewrite the best overview.
MaryTrimble More than 1 year ago
Laura Fielding and Cord Sutton's first meeting isn't under ideal conditions. Laura, dressed as a boy, but really the daughter of a wealthy banker, is a passenger on a stage going to Yellowstone. She's meeting her father who is traveling to Yellowstone to financially back the purchase of the Lake Hotel, an elegant resort on the lake shore in Yellowstone Park. She's also meeting, for the first time, the man her father hopes she will marry, the man who plans to buy the hotel. The stage is waylaid by bandits and she barely escapes. Her rescuer, Cord Sutton, appears to be a rough mountain man, but in reality is wealthy and has the intention of buying the Lake Hotel as well. During their three days of wilderness travel, neither reveals their true background. The trip, at first strained, becomes a delightful adventure for Laura, who has lived a pampered and sheltered life. Cord finds Laura a refreshing change from other women he's known-she has spunk and an adventurous spirit. They both regret their trip coming to an end. Arriving at the same destination, they learn the truth of their true identities. Laura learns that Cord is not only wealthy, but is one-quarter Nez Perce. Cord learns that Laura is the daughter of his opponent's financial backer. Many factors complicate their budding relationship--betrayal, murder, jealousy, arson, bigotry. And a love that won't be denied. Linda Jacobs has done it again-produced yet another thrilling masterpiece in her Yellowstone Series. Although Lake of Fire takes place largely in the Yellowstone Park area, the three books are related through location, not as continuous stories. Lake of Fire takes place in 1900. The author, herself a trained geologist, demonstrates her vast knowledge of the Yellowstone region's geology. She weaves historically accurate facts with fiction, creating a believable, compelling story. Lake of Fire is a brilliant novel, with all the elements to create an engaging, satisfying read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Linda Jacobs has done it again with this third novel in her Yellowstone series. This time the setting is 1900 and Cord Sutton, is traveling from the Grand Tetons to the Lake Hotel in Yellowstone when he rescues heiress, Laura Fielding from a stagecoach robbery. Both of them are hiding secrets as they travel through the wilderness together only to have more than just their hidden identities to deal with once they arrive. Ms. Jacobs weaves an intriguing and interesting storyline while she treats you to park and surrounding area history, flora and fauna and the splendors of Yellowstone. I highly recommend not only this book both both of her previous books: Summer of Fire and Rain of Fire.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1900 Chicago heiress Laura Fielding travels by stagecoach to meet her father at the Lake Hotel near Yellowstone. However, robbers stop her coach, but a cowboy Cord Sutton saves her life. He safely guides her to her destination, which he assumes is her place of employment as he believes she is a maid at the Lake Hotel.---------- During the three day trek, strong feelings grow between them. However, In Yellowstone, he finds out how wealthy she is as the heiress daughter of a rival bidder for ownership of the Lake Hotel and she learns who he really is. Still neither Laura nor Cord can stop from falling in love with one another. However, his being twenty-five percent Nez Perce makes him unsuitable for her almost as much as his being her father¿s business competitor and his Indian heritage makes him a target of the law forcing him to flee before twisted justice occurs.--------------- Readers will enjoy this Americana romance that brings to life the business expansion across the western states. Fans will feel they are in Wyoming in 1900 as Linda Jacobs paints a vivid picture of the stagecoach trek and the town of Yellowstone at a time when the country celebrated the start of a new century. The star-crossed romance augments the historical elements of the well written engaging LAKE OF FIRE.-------- Harriet Klausner