×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Landry Park
     

Landry Park

3.9 8
by Bethany Hagen
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Downton Abbey” meets The Selection in this dystopian tale of love and betrayal

Sixteen-year-old Madeline Landry is practically Gentry royalty. Her ancestor developed the nuclear energy that has replaced electricity, and her parents exemplify the glamour of the upper class. As for Madeline, she would much rather read a book than attend yet

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Landry Park 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A well written, easy, entertaining YA read. Enjoyed the very Gone With The Wind old southern high society atmosphere mixed with the future distopian setting so many YA novels are using these days.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This novel has a higher standard of writing than most other novels of this genre or level.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy to read
Books4Tomorrow More than 1 year ago
Refreshingly unique, Landry Park combines the historical and the futuristic into a beguiling tale of romance, changing values, and rebellion. All Madeline ever wanted was to go to university rather than getting married and running the Landry estate. David Dana, bringing with him a realization of the oppression of the rootless, is about to change Madeline's life as well as her future ambitions. Enter Jude MacAvery to complicate matters even more and bring about a carefully crafted love triangle. The author skillfully places a typical Victorian romance in a dystopian futuristic setting. Think ball gowns, lady's maids and debutants in a world that is mainly run by nuclear power; a world which is divided into classes with the lowest class, the rootless, getting a very raw and dangerous deal.   The characters in Landry Park are well crafted and complex enough to make the book really interesting. Madeline, the main character, has a balanced variety of weaknesses and strengths to make her a truly realistic female lead. She struggles with her values and ambitions and must make choices despite her prejudiced gentry upbringing. David Dana, on the other hand, is a total enigma. Right up to the end I couldn't really decide whether he was a hero, a rebel, or simply a weakling. As for handsome, gallant Captain Jude MacAvery completely astonished me in the end.  Starting with an attack on Cara, one of the gentry’s girls, Landry Park is full of scenes of action, violence, tragedy and nail-biting suspense. Towards the end of the book several mysteries are cleared up while new mysteries are created which, hopefully, will be cleared up in the sequel. Suitable for readers of all ages, I highly recommend Landry Park as a beautiful tale of romance, human values, and a great deal to keep the reader's adrenalin flowing. (Ellen Fritz)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MouseyBL More than 1 year ago
In the future, the United States is ruled by a class of gentry that live in the life of lavish and 'riches'. Madeline is a 17 year old Landry who wants nothing more but to attend University and get the privilege to learn, unfortunately the only thing her father wants is for her to get married. Being the oldest and the only Landry daughter, Madeline cannot escape her due over ruling one of the most largest, most respected, and the most influential estates. Until the night that her world is shaken up when a girl from her childhood is attacked and it's blamed on the Rootless - people with no roots and no laws that the Gentry have been enslaving for years to take out their nuclear charges from their electricity devices. As Madeline finds herself in the battle between everything that she known's and what she discovers, she finds herself unable to stay away from David and ends up discovering more then what she was ready for. Great story and an interesting concept of society reverting back to a time of classes, where marriage was an important thing for girls of some status, fancy gowns, lavishing debuts and balls. Yet taking strides at finding ways to light up their places with nuclear charges, which in turn holds a dark history and made a bunch of classless people their slaves. Bethany Hagen tells a great story that left me guessing until the very end, wanting to know the truth behind the mystery of the Landry bloodline and what had happened to the Rootless to place them in the world they are today. Yes there was romance, and I couldn't say that it's a triangle, but it left me kind of confused as a result. I really liked David and Madeline, I thought he questioned and challenged her beliefs a lot which in turn opened her eyes to a bigger picture.I don't know 100% how I felt about the way the romance was done. It was different, there was some holes and I didn't understand why it took so long to resolve. But like I said, different, which in turn is refreshing. There is also two other characters in the book that I cannot go deep into without giving it away, but the whole romance part I never seen coming. One was a bit surprising and I was confused since there had not been much hints in the book for the outcome, and the second has also left me with questions since Madeline seems to feel like she knows them but it is never revealed why or how. The book got bolder towards the end, with a shocking ending that left my jaw hanging. Once again, did not really feel that one coming, but was quiet interested. Almost all the actions happen in the end, but the book was well worth it for me! I am looking forward of discovering what happens to Madeline next. **I got a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange of an honest review.
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Landry Park by Bethany Hagen Book One of the Landry Park series Publisher: Dial Publication Date: February 4, 2014 Rating: 4 stars Source: eARC provided for the blog tour Official Summary: In a fragmented future United States ruled by the lavish gentry, seventeen-year-old Madeline Landry dreams of going to the university. Unfortunately, gentry decorum and her domineering father won't allow that. Madeline must marry, like a good Landry woman, and run the family estate. But her world is turned upside down when she discovers the devastating consequences her lifestyle is having on those less fortunate. As Madeline begins to question everything she has ever learned, she finds herself increasingly drawn to handsome, beguiling David Dana. Soon, rumors of war and rebellion start to spread, and Madeline finds herself and David at the center of it all. Ultimately, she must make a choice between duty - her family and the estate she loves dearly - and desire. What I Liked: Oh, what a novel! I read this book in one shot, and I simply loved it. It's a mix of several genres, and I think the blend really works. I don't really know what I was expecting from this novel, but I was blown away with what I got!  Madeline is the sole heir of Landry Park - which means that she has to marry rich, she can't go to the university, and she doesn't get a say in, well, anything. Several eligible bachelors arrive, including one very handsome and charismatic David Dana. But everything seems to unravel after one fateful event - the attack of a gentry lady. The gentry believe that the Rootless are behind the attack - the Rootless being basically the poor class of people who deal with the nuclear radiation to power the lamps that saved the environment (designed by one Jacob Landry, Madeline really great grandfather). So, it seems like your typical dystopia novel - in which there are the "rulers" (the gentry, who are rich and powerful), and the "enslaved" (the Rootless, who are powerless and poor, but numerous and angry). There is an incident (the attack), and soon Madeline much choose. The thing about Madeline was that she already had preconceived notions about the Rootless. She felt sorry for them, and wasn't all that suckered to the gentry (even though she is one). The incident with the gentry lady (who happened to be a peer of Madeline's) piqued Madeline's curiosity, because Madeline didn't think it was the Rootless. Nevertheless, the Rootless were blamed, and sides had to be taken. Madeline learns key things about several people, including the Rootless themselves. I really liked watching Madeline grow as a character. She didn't become a full-out revolutionary, which I thought was authentic. She helped as best she could, while still being gentry. Hagen emphasized that Madeline (and other characters) are still human, still gentry, and still enjoy their rich, opulent lives. The plot of this book sounds straightforward, but it wasn't. I loved how Hagen kept twisting the story - both stories. The love story wasn't simple, and the revolution story wasn't that simple. Things weren't as predictable as they might seem on the surface. The romance. It makes me sad, but the romance isn't clear-cut. YES, this is a GOOD thing, but I was rooting for David and Madeline, and things just didn't go their way ALL THE TIME. The romance seems really doomed at first, but read until the end - things start to look up. I just *knew* Hagen couldn't do that to the characters or the readers. Or could she... Well, no matter, I hope that the series continues to be amazing! And the romance builds beautifully. I have a feeling that David and Madeline could be quite the couple, given the chance! I hope to see more of them in book two. And more of everything good I saw in this book! What a lovely start to a new series. What I Did Not Like: There wasn't much I didn't like - maybe just the romance. I could have sworn a love triangle was going to break out (in which I would have been extremely upset), but once I got to the end, I saw that that was not going to happen. Just read the entire book, don't jump to conclusions. I would have liked to see more interactions between David and Madeline. It seemed like they were always arguing to fighting or not speaking to each other. Maybe start the next book with their relationship taking a softer turn? But I can't complain too much. Would I Recommend It: I most certainly would! This is a really fantastic novel with blends of many different genres - futuristic, dystopian (sort of), romance. I love the world that Hagen has created, the characters, the story, and I cannot wait for more! This one doesn't have the most straightforward romance, so don't expect too much, but it has a wonderful story and creative worldbuilding. I recommend it to any YA lover! Rating: 4 stars. You really do NOT want to miss this debut novel! I will definitely be looking out for the sequel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago