×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Language of Sand
     

The Language of Sand

4.4 34
by Ellen Block
 

See All Formats & Editions

A magical novel that unravels one of life’s greatest mysteries—how to go on after a devastating loss—through the power of words and their ability to heal, to transform, and to touch the heart.
 
Luck: an event that could be for good or ill, depending on your interpretation.
 
As a lexicographer, Abigail Harker has always

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Language of Sand 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
ApexReviews More than 1 year ago
After suffering the tragic loss of her husband and young son, Abigail seeks refuge on the small, secluded island of Chapel Isle, just off the coast of North Carolina. Taking a position as lighthouse caretaker, Abigail struggles to restore some sense of normalcy to her life - but she soon learns that "normal" is an option that Chapel Isle fails to provide to any of its residents. Surrounded by quirky personalities, mysterious happenings - and even a hint of the supernatural - Abigail struggles to employ her training as a lexicographer to find just the right words to define her strange surroundings, as well as her place in them...the only problem is, there don't seem to be any words that can accurately capture the unique meaning of her new life... A touching tale of loss, suffering, and ultimate resilience, The Language Of Sand is an engrossing read. Superbly crafted by author Ellen Block, the compelling tale of pain and redemption touches on many themes - chief among them the importance of embracing the transformative power of life. We are all subject to sudden, unforeseen tragedy at some point in our lives, but what matters more is not the loss that we suffer, but rather the character that we display in the face of it. By taking the reader deep into the tortured heart and mind of her protagonist, Block convincingly portrays Abigail as a flawed - yet noble - hero thrust by forces beyond her control in the midst of a personal quest for healing, something with which we can all readily identify. As such, The Language Of Sand is sure to strike a personal chord that will resonate deep within the souls of all those familiar with the challenge of persevering in the face of uncertainty and fear. Powerful and compelling, The Language Of Sand is a richly rewarding human story with timeless themes and timely lessons to share. Strongly recommended.
nooklooker More than 1 year ago
Great beach read. Left me wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book. Where is the next book....she has only two. Please get this author into wrting a third.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wb33 More than 1 year ago
A wonderful yarn chock full of original ideas, quirky characters and wonderous discovery. Intelligently written, this is a book that will leave a lasting impression. Loved it from the beginning till the final word.
Vermontcozy More than 1 year ago
That a Novel with a common theme,could be fresh and endearing.I was drawn in immediately by Abigails story of loss and healing.She needed to leave Boston and go to Chapel Isle,NC to be closer to a place that her recently deceased husband loved.She was not prepared to find all that she did.The Islanders,did not question her,they just accepted her.Her profession as a Lexicographer is put aside for now,but not her love of words,or her curiosity.When she found The Journals of the Lighthouse Keeper,she was thrilled.Analyzing words,learning about the Island,the Sea Captains,and the Lighthouse Keeper,kept her alive so to speak.I am not ready to just forget about Abigail.I have read that another book will be out in 2011.Abigail is someone that most of us can relate to,and find a spot in our heart for her.Thank you Ellen Block for a new series that many of us will look forward to reading.Excellent ,quirky,and fun to laugh with Abigail as well...
harstan More than 1 year ago
She remained in intensive care as the only survivor of a house fire that killed her husband and their four year old child. When she finally is released from the hospital, thirtyish Abigail feels adrift and disconnected. Pondering what to do as she grieves her twin losses and feeling a need to leave Boston the site of the tragedy, the lexicographer decides to move to the North Carolina barrier island Chapel Isle where her spouse spent many enjoyable summers growing up. Abigail accepts the position of lighthouse caretaker. However upon arriving at Chapel Isle, the cottage she rented without seeing is dilapidated. The islanders initially for the most part reject her as an outsider, but soon Abby, as they call her, makes friends with two locals Merle and Ruth, who warmly welcome her. Others quickly follow. As she works on repairing the lighthouse, accommodating the ghost haunting the place, and fixing up the cottage, Abby makes an effort to help Nat, the island pariah with a tragic past like hers feel as welcome as the two ladies did her. This is an engaging character study of a woman grieving a deep recent loss trying to start over in a fresh location that has ties to her late husband. The cast and the words that introduce each of the twenty-six chapters (remember the lead is a professional lexicographer) make for a fine tale of slowly moving on step by step through the phases of grief (in Abby's case in alphabetical order). Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hmm......
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dont know
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(I missed it this year too, don't worry. I have a friend that went who said it was fantastic) <p>
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shakes his head at the quarrl
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Turns around and leap in the direction Riverkit is so I jump over him and he is no longer chasing me, I am chasing him. >: )
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She nodded and bounded after them
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh im talking about this years in the summer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cinderbranch rose to his paws, "Shadowflame, would lead a Patrol out to rescent the Borders? Take Darkfire and Silverfoot with you." He called, his paws prickling nervously. &bull;&bull;Cinderbranch <p> Goldenleaf uncurled herself, stretching. "I can take out a hunting patrol, if you want me too, Cinderbranch." She cooed, licking her chest fur. <p> [I might make a Character that is exactly like Sokka in Avatar: The Last Airbender..o.o]
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The White Horseclan shecat enters the camp, cautiously but not fearful. She waits to see eho the leader was. 'Whitetail
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She nodded and went to the center, crouching down low, her head low and her tail hovering over the ground. She has all her weight balanced on her four paws.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey guys, i've been inactive lately and unfortunately i have to stay that way for awhile... im really sorry :'( -Silverstorm
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I grow up can I be the medicine ca apprentice?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh sorry. No offense. Hey, everyone thought my character Mossshadow was male too. She was female though.