×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Larklight
     

Larklight

4.9 14
by Reeve Reeve
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 1599901455

ISBN-13: 2901599901458

Pub. Date: 01/28/2007

Publisher: MPS

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Larklight: A Rousing Tale of Dauntless Pluck in the Farthest Reaches of Space (Larklight Series #1) 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
When eleven-year-old Art Mumby finds out that a visitor is arriving at his run-down home, Larklight, which floats in space beyond the moon, he hardly expects to be thrust into a frightening adventure of pirates, plates, and a millenium-long conflict upon which the fate of the solar system rests. He tells the story of this adventure in LARKLIGHT (occasionally giving his older sister, Myrtle, a chance to narrate via her diary), and the story is nothing if not fantastic.

Philip Reeve (author of the HUNGRY CITY CHRONICLES) has created another fascinating world in LARKLIGHT. Art lives in the Victorian society of the 1800's--or rather, what Victorian society would have looked like if they'd developed space travel, and astronomy worked according to early speculations about aether (an air-like substance in space that people can move and breathe in), and interplanetary beings (Venus, Mars, and the moons of Jupiter are all home to a variety of life forms). Reeve cuts no corners, painting the cities and citizens of the solar system in dazzling detail. The setting is a gorgeous mix of fantasy and science fiction, and fans of both genres will find much to enjoy.

If the world wasn't exciting enough on its own, the adventure is of the edge-of-your-seat variety. Art and Myrtle tumble from one tense situation to another with alarming frequency. Most chapters end on cliffhangers, so be prepared to have trouble finding a place to pause. Reeve throws in enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing right until the end, and both Art and Myrtle get the chance to play hero.

Art, as the main character, is not yet a teen himself, so teens may find his narration a little immature for their liking. If they're willing to give him a chance, though, they will discover that LARKLIGHT is a fast-paced, imaginative journey well worth taking.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When eleven-year-old Art Mumby finds out that a visitor is arriving at his run-down home, Larklight, which floats in space beyond the moon, he hardly expects to be thrust into a frightening adventure of pirates, plates, and a millenium-long conflict upon which the fate of the solar system rests. He tells the story of this adventure in LARKLIGHT (occasionally giving his older sister, Myrtle, a chance to narrate via her diary), and the story is nothing if not fantastic. Philip Reeve (author of the HUNGRY CITY CHRONICLES) has created another fascinating world in LARKLIGHT. Art lives in the Victorian society of the 1800's--or rather, what Victorian society would have looked like if they'd developed space travel, and astronomy worked according to early speculations about aether (an air-like substance in space that people can move and breathe in), and interplanetary beings (Venus, Mars, and the moons of Jupiter are all home to a variety of life forms). Reeve cuts no corners, painting the cities and citizens of the solar system in dazzling detail. The setting is a gorgeous mix of fantasy and science fiction, and fans of both genres will find much to enjoy. If the world wasn't exciting enough on its own, the adventure is of the edge-of-your-seat variety. Art and Myrtle tumble from one tense situation to another with alarming frequency. Most chapters end on cliffhangers, so be prepared to have trouble finding a place to pause. Reeve throws in enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing right until the end, and both Art and Myrtle get the chance to play hero. Art, as the main character, is not yet a teen himself, so teens may find his narration a little immature for their liking. If they're willing to give him a chance, though, they will discover that LARKLIGHT is a fast-paced, imaginative journey well worth taking. **Reviewed by: Lynn Crow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fantastic book that I think everyone should read! I have read it many times, and after every read it is still my favorite book. It combines many elements of writing, and will surley provide interest for every reader imaginable. Mr. Reeve managages to combine impossibly futuristic ideas with the charm and thrill of old England. The fast paced adventure will keep you going through this amazing ew world, offering new twists and turns, ensuring that bordom never intervenes in the weaving of this spectacular tale. Read it now!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every child should read the trilogy. Fast or slow, this series is grrat for readers of all ages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best children's books to appear in years. Funny, exciting, and imaginative. Plucky Victorian children in space -- or, as they call it, aether -- encounter hostile invading spiders, mushroom people, and space pirates. The British navy sails between the planets, keeping the Empire safe. Huzzah!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lanceradvanced More than 1 year ago
Larklight is an excelent romp though a steampunk solar system, much lighter than the author's "Hungry City Chronicles". Filled with inside jokes from War of the Worlds to Pirates of the Carribean it takes nothing too seriouly even as it lays out situation of blackest peril from the depths of space.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved reading Larklight. It was so good I only stopped reading it to go to sleep. 'And that was at 11:00pm'I like books that leave you at the end saying wow!! This book sure did that. I can't wait to read Starcross
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. At first I didn't think that I would like it. It just wasn't the type of books that I normally read. But it was just about the only book left on my AR level at my school, so I checked it out of the library, and it took me like 3 days to read it. It was one of the best books I have ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The reason I picked up this book was because it had won an award in my town. When I began it, I immediately felt a strong dislike to it. It felt boring, drab, and the dilouge just seemed so dull. And it may seem like that to you too when you begin it, however... Give it a chance! I did, and I surely didn't regret it! The story get's a lot better later on, and it evolves from a wierd, dull tale to a rich, and funny story. I'd read it again and again. Trust me, once you get to about page 50, it'll get a lot better!
Mudflap More than 1 year ago
Larklight is a great book. You never know what's going to happen next. Art and Myrtle Tumble live in their house called Larklight that floats though outer space. One day, unexpectedly spiders show up and try to eat them! Art and Myrtle leave their house and get on a pirate ship. After they over stay their welcome, the pirates drop them off on a planet. Art gets hit in the head by a meteorite. He wakes up and can't see, he hears something by his feet. Soon enough he figures out he is wrapped in a cocoon for worms to be eaten alive! He is injected with poison so he can't move. Finally Myrtle saves him from the cocoon. Then they return to their home that the spiders had torn up. This a great book for teenagers.