×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lasso the Moon (Peacemakers: Old West - Book 1)
     

Lasso the Moon (Peacemakers: Old West - Book 1)

4.2 26
by Beth Ciotta
 

See All Formats & Editions

Lasso the Moon is the first "Peacemakers: Old West" novel from award-winning author, Beth Ciotta. Previously published: 2006. Updated reissue: 2015

Motivated by a childhood promise, Paris Garrett travels to the wilds of Arizona Territory (1877) to seek fame as a stage actress. Never mind that she doesn't possess a lick of experience or that her true passion

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lasso the Moon 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh god....first review right off the bat is egomaniacal harriet klausner and her cliff note plot spoiler. Bn should ban this person and delete all her plot spoilers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a reader of Ms. Ciotta's contemporary romances, I was thrilled to discover her series set in the Old West. The characters draw you in and make you care about the outcome. Add in some steamy romance and you have a charming winner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Paris and Josh are brought together by fate and take you on a funny, sexy ride while as they realize their destiny. Cute and sexy 213 page read.
deeeee More than 1 year ago
Lasso the Moon Paris Garrett made a promise to her father that she cannot break. She is a talented singer, pianist,and songwriter, but she knows her over-bearing older brothers will not let her perform on stage, so she disguises herself as a boy and runs off to the Desert Moon to fulfill her promise. During her travels, a new song gets stuck in her head and she needs a piano to get it to gel. At a stage stop, she sees a honky tonk and goes in knowing there will certainly be a piano inside. Sheriff Josh Groves is at his "retirement" party at the honky tonk. He sees this feisty little bundle of trouble and wades in to settle the havoc she has created. Paris and Josh's paths continue to cross and the passion between them is heavy with lust. The book is filled with humor and passion, some sinister events, a few rather dim-witted bad guys, a sweet woman the men of Chance don't want to hurt, and a hero with a heart of gold. I love Ciotta's books. Historical fiction isn't my favorite genre, but this was great fun and I will read the rest of the series.
Stew32s More than 1 year ago
I am not normally a fan of anything in the western genre, but this book, and the two others currently available in the series, were written by Beth Ciotta. Being am avid fan of her writing style, I decided to give this series a go. I was immediately pulled into the story through the obvious adoration of a daughter for her oft absent father. Flash forward 10 years, both of her parents have died and the now 19 year old daughter has struck out on a journey into the wild west to realize her dream of being a musical actress. A young, innocent, naive, fiesty girl traveling alone through the untamed west leads to all sorts incidents, some humorous and some infuriating. Paris Garrett was not looking for love. She was never going to get married because marriage equaled broken hearts and dreams. Nope. She was going to live an unconventional life. Sheriff Joshua Grant turns in his badge to take over the opera house owned by his deceased uncle, who was like a father to Joshua. He didn't have a clue how to run the establishment, but he was going to make sure his uncle's business continued on in his honor. Now he just needed to find a woman who would agree to the business deal of being his wife since a stipulation in his uncle's will for Josh to inherit the business required Josh to be married within a specific time frame. Josh wasn't interested in love. He would never again allow himself the vulnerability of being in love. Unbeknownst to either Paris or Josh, their path's were destined to cross as each one of them headed towards the same moon. During their journey we meet a wonderful cast of interesting characters including Paris's four older brothers, two of whom are famous themselves. I am looking forward to the next books and what develops with some of these characters!
KelliJo More than 1 year ago
Let me start by saying I do not usually read Historicals. But, some authors, I will read whatever genre they write - Beth Ciotta happens to be one of those authors - and I wasn't sorry reading Lasso the Moon. A very naïve young woman runs away from her brothers in California to the wild Arizona Territory to make her mark on the entertainment world. Paris has a special knack for finding trouble. Ex-sheriff Josh Grant has a special knack for always being around when Paris finds trouble. They have both been put on a track not necessarily of their choosing by loved ones - Paris by her father and Josh by his father-figure uncle. Neither wants to fall in love. Along the way, they have to deal with out-laws like his cousin. Getting to their destination and his taking over the Desert Moon and her singing on the stage there is not easy, with her brothers on the way to find her and take her back home and his cousin determined to ruin him. What they find is you have to figure out what your dreams are - not the dreams imposed upon you by others. Sometimes love is worth the risk.
KelliJo More than 1 year ago
Let me start by saying I do not usually read Historicals. But, some authors, I will read whatever genre they write - Beth Ciotta happens to be one of those authors - and I wasn't sorry reading Lasso the Moon. A very naïve young woman runs away from her brothers in California to the wild Arizona Territory to make her mark on the entertainment world. Paris has a special knack for finding trouble. Ex-sheriff Josh Grant has a special knack for always being around when Paris finds trouble. They have both been put on a track not necessarily of their choosing by loved ones - Paris by her father and Josh by his father-figure uncle. Neither wants to fall in love. Along the way, they have to deal with out-laws like his cousin. Getting to their destination and his taking over the Desert Moon and her singing on the stage there is not easy, with her brothers on the way to find her and take her back home and his cousin determined to ruin him. What they find is you have to figure out what your dreams are - not the dreams imposed upon you by others. Sometimes love is worth the risk.
ReadingOverTV More than 1 year ago
Lasso the Moon by Beth Ciotta "Reach for the stars" Pa said. "I'll do better than that." Paris promised. "I'll lasso the moon." Remembering her promise, Paris sets out on her own to become a musical actress at the Desert Moon opera house. But in the times of the old west, this isn't proper behavior, nor did Paris care. She expected to live life so her songwriting got better. Unfortunately a bar fight, that was absolutely not her fault, delays her debut a bit. Former Sheriff Joshua Grant is captivated by this creature and is called to lend a hand in getting her out of town before more damage can be done. A romping romance with oodles of humor. And heart. As Paris and Josh get to know each other, they also learn more about themselves and their own dreams. Paris is adorable and so sweet, I was really glad to get to know her and hope to revisit her in the future. It will be fun to see how she changes the Wild West town she has made her own. “He’d aimed on escorting the troublesome minx to a respectable hotel directly after retrieving her carpetbag. Sometimes good intentions aren’t worth spit. Especially when that minx is downright cuter than a kitten. Spurred on by raw lust and rotgut, he’d thrown caution to the wind. He’d kissed her. In the middle of the street. Without regard to her reputation. He’d been set to apologize when she’d shocked him by initiating a second kiss, a deeper kiss, a kiss that prompted a hard-on you could break a branding iron on. Then, without so much as a “see ya’ later,” she’d hauled butt away from him faster than a lone scout from an Apache tribe. He didn’t know what to make of her, but he liked her spirit, not to mention the way she felt in his arms. That worried him.” Excerpt From: Ciotta, Beth. “Lasso the Moon: A Wild West Romance (Book 1).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was so nice to read a book with characters that were kind and honest. Paris and Josh cared about family and integrity. I loved reading about a female character who wasn't moody and overly assertive. Paris knew what her goals were and was determined to reach them but she still showed kindness to the people she met along the way. She wasn't afraid to accept help when she needed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love strong-willed women, and the mystery of the story was really great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy books that have me laughing out loud. This one works!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this story, good book hope the author comes out with more in this serios
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good. 209 pges. Sweet story that had a great pace with humorous momemnts. Recomend this n i wshed they had a follow up tory to the brother seth and emily.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book. One of my favorites
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fast read. Very cute. Well worth my time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!! ; )
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Wild West comes alive in all its glory in this sparkling tale by Beth Ciotta. Paris and Josh make a great pair, and their adventures will have you rapidly turning pages as they battle inner demons and outer villains before they ride into the sunset of their dreams. Don't miss this fabulous and amusing western!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Would have given it five stars without the sex and taking the Lord's name in vain.