×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Last Call: The Rise and Fall of Prohibition
     

Last Call: The Rise and Fall of Prohibition

3.6 107
by Daniel Okrent
 

See All Formats & Editions

A brilliant, authoritative, and fascinating history of America’s most puzzling era, the years 1920 to 1933, when the U.S. Constitution was amended to restrict one of America’s favorite pastimes: drinking alcoholic beverages.

From its start, America has been awash in drink. The sailing vessel that brought John Winthrop to the shores of the New World in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Last Call 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 107 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. It is an easy-to-read factual telling of an interesting time in American history. A quick read for historical non-fiction.
Minnesota_ReaderAN More than 1 year ago
From the first page I found this book interesting, well written and easy to read. The author adds just enough humor and irony to his writing to make it more interesting without ruining the topic or the book. Though Prohibition ended in the early 1930's, there are things in this book to learn for those of us living in the 21st century.
thompsot1 More than 1 year ago
This book seemed to me to start out a bit slow. Once I got past that, the reading became very interesting. I do not know if the author meant to do so, but I am seeing parallel after parallel in what the "Drys" were up to and what our current Far Right political types are up to. Pretty doggone amazing picture painted in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fascinating book. Among the chief "lessons of history" to be learned here are that cause-driven political activists are in the main repulsive and dangerous crackpots and self-interest driven politics can be comparatively innocent.
HecubaYH More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in American history. If you liked the PBS series, you'll marvel at how much was left out. Well researched, and written with zest and not a little humor. Bravo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Haven't quite finished this one, but have enjoyed the first half. I find this period of history/politics pretty fascinating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've struggled to enjoy non-fiction, bit this is my new favorite book. The colorful characters involved with prohibition combined with the brodad impact of prohibition on American history, and vice versa, honestly mad eme feel like this book helped me better understand my country. I cannot recommend this book highly enough, both to those that love non-fiction and those that don't.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago