×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Last Colony
     

The Last Colony

4.4 130
by John Scalzi
 

See All Formats & Editions

Retired from his fighting days, John Perry is now village ombudsman for a human colony on distant Huckleberry. With his wife, former Special Forces warrior Jane Sagan, he farms several acres, adjudicates local disputes, and enjoys watching his adopted daughter grow up.

That is, until his and Jane's past reaches out to bring them back into the game--as leaders

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Last Colony 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 130 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Scalzi's sharp thought and good humor make this a fun read, but fans of the series will notice a propitious drop in the frequency of action scenes and tactical puzzles. As the overarching problems of the series' universe climax and resolve in this volume, it is necessarilh dominated by strategic maneuvering an dialogue-- with one pretty cool combat scene. Give it a shot, finish the series if you started it, enjoy and establih your foundation for The Human division and Zoe's tale. Don't start the series with this volume though!! Very well concluded and lots of fun, this series is one of the greats of scifi. Review composed on my NOOK Simple Touch; please excuse any errors, typographical or otherwise.
LovesToReadMN More than 1 year ago
I picked up "Old Man's War" after seeing it displayed in a bookstore and was intrigued. I couldn't put it down. It was very imaginative, well-written and interesting. I went out right away and got "Ghost Brigades" and "The Last Colony". They were all great and moved the story along. "The Last Colony" was a great book and the perfect finish to the "Old Man's War" saga. I have recommended the series to all my friends. I'm not a big sci-fi reader, but this is great and really opens the mind. I look forward to reading more of John Scalzi's works.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I originally found the book old mans war in an airport, i loved it and so i went looking for a sequel. Then i found The Ghosh Brigades, by that point i was hooked on the books, i loved the detail and how i related to the characters. I found The Last Colony 'book' and i remained mesmerized. Eventually i finish the Trilogy and felt that these books were some of the best books i've every read. I encourage anyone who like Scifi action books to read these books.
CBRTX More than 1 year ago
This was a fitting finish to the trilogy. Exceptionally done in all respects. A thrilling and very enjoyable combination of three stories. Excellent science fiction writing and telling.
Drewano More than 1 year ago
“The Last Colony” is another great sci-fi book in the Old Man’s War series. This book takes us out of space and follows the John and Jane as they move from their settled life now that they are both out of the CFD to a new colony (at the title suggests). Due to the story line some of the crazy tech and ideas that are more up front in the other books are missing in this one which is a little disappointing but the story line and new situations popping up in the universe still make it a fun read. The quips by John Perry in this book are as good as any, making him a fun character to follow!
SLROnline More than 1 year ago
Starship Troopers updated. Space Opera, military sci-fi fans will love this book and the prequels(Old Man's War and Ghost Brigades). Also, check out the author's totally cool blog.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Find out what happens to the young Zoe and her new ex-special forces stepmother as we return to the aged protagonist from Old Man's War. The Conclave has forbidden non-member species from starting any new colonies, but the Colonial Union decides to defy the ban - Scalzi twists and turns follow with an excellent ending!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not as good as the first two novels, but wraps up the tale nicely if maybe a little too neatly.
Keith81 More than 1 year ago
I have really enjoyed the Old Man's War series by John Scalzi. In this latest (and apparently last) installment, he includes all the political intrigue of earlier novels. But some of the plots were really left hanging... the colony found a new race, the werewolves. You had high drama about them, and then they suddenly vanished from the plot... There is no mention of them in the last half of the book. It felt to me like Mr. Scalzi set out to write one book, and suddenly changed his mind half way through and decided to write an entirely different book. Either book would have been a good read... but I feel I only got half of two separate stories.
job766 More than 1 year ago
This book also had good miss direction and was able to keep my interest thru the entirety of the story. It was a good read. I hope the author comes up with another story line in the near future. I quick thought, let the daughter¿s story book go, it will take the edge off the prior books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SPOILER ALERT!!!! The Last Colony is the third installment in the Old Man's War series. John Perry, the main character in Old Man's War (and essentially persona non grata in the 2nd book Ghost Brigades) returns along with his now wife Jane Sagan and their adopted daughter Zoe Boutin from Ghost Brigades. While I enjoyed this book it wasn't quite up to the standards of the first two novels for several reasons. 1) Scalzi never resolves the single deadly encounter the colonists on Roanoke have with an indigenous intelligent species that they call the werewolves (based on their appearance). After the encounter where half a dozen colonists and several werewolves are killed you never hear about them again. 2) The first two books in the series describe a universe where intelligent species are constantly warring with each other over inhabitable planets. The aliens are always merciless in their conquest typically wiping out existing colonies to the last man, woman, and child. One species, the Rreay even consider humans to be quite tasty and butcher them mercilessly for food. So it was rather surprising when Scalzi introduces General Gau, the fairly benevolent leader of the Conclave (a large alliance of alien races aligned against the human Colonial Union). By the end of this book it would seem to make great sense for the Colonial Union to join the Conclave which would end the inter-species warring and possibly allow humans to continue colonizing the galaxy in a controlled fashion. Of course this doesn't happen, probably because it would ruin the plot line of future books. 3) The first two books in the series indicate that once a citizen leaves earth and joins the Colonial Defense Force (which entails getting a new, enhanced body through consciouness transfer) they are never allowed to return to earth, even after they have completed 10 years of compulsory service. At the very end of this book all of that is thrown out the window when the Colonial Union makes no attempt to stop Perry and Sagan from returning to earth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago