×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Last Days
  • Alternative view 1 of Last Days
  • Alternative view 2 of Last Days
     

Last Days

4.0 11
by Adam Nevill
 

See All Formats & Editions

Last Days (winner of the British Fantasy Award for Best Horror Novel of the Year) by Adam Nevill is a Blair Witch style novel in which a documentary film-maker undertakes the investigation of a dangerous cult—with creepy consequences

When guerrilla documentary maker, Kyle Freeman, is asked to shoot a film on the notorious cult known as the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Last Days 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
steffiebaby140 More than 1 year ago
There is only one way to put this. This book sucked. It sucked to high heaven. It bored me nearly to death with every page. I honestly wondered if all of the good reviews were paid to say nice things about this crappy tome. Even as I write this, I think that might still be the case. With all that said, here are my issues with this crappy thing. The author has zero sense of pacing. This book moved at a snail’s pace for chapter upon chapter and then suddenly all kinds of things started to happen in the last quarter of it. The idea of this book is a good one, a filmmaker is hired to do a documentary about a cult from the seventies that committed mass suicide/murder and manages to stumble into paranormal activity that targets him. That sounds like it should be good right? It’s not. In every single city or location the characters visit the exact same things happen. Every person the characters interviewed said exactly the same thing. Approximately 300 pages was a repeat of what happened in the first 100 pages. I was bored to tears. The author’s descriptions were annoying and confusing. I didn’t understand what was going on most of the time. As an example, the author described the room in which the last scene takes place for 2 whole pages. The picture of it was fully formed in my head and it was a great description! But then all of a sudden he starts talking about a “large plastic tent” in the middle of the room that had never been mentioned before. Then just a few paragraphs later it’s described as a “plastic cube” that is solid enough that it requires beating it and shooting at it to dismantle it. But, I thought it was a tent? And why wasn’t this included in the initial room description if it’s so important? If it was a tent then why was it so hard to puncture? By the time I got to this question I had been pulled completely out of the story and just didn’t give a crap anymore. This happened so often that I was regularly confused and thought I had skipped over something accidentally. So I would go back and re-read that part and realize, no I hadn’t skipped over it, it was never addressed. Most stereotypical American characters ever! Let’s see, there was the sheriff who was a complete hillbilly. Cowboy hat and boots, spoke with a drawl, kept saying things like “ya’ll” and “ain’t”, could have walked right out of a western…but he’s from Arizona. Yeah, it confused me too. Or Jed, the gun toting, muscle bound Jesus freak who thinks he’s on a mission for God, is unstable and keeps pointing guns at his own friends. I mean, really? All we needed was an overweight, outspoken black woman and the stereotypes would have been a complete collection! It was ridiculous. Kyle was supremely unlikable. He spent most of the book mentally belittling and mocking the people he was interviewing for believing in this paranormal stuff. Then he went on to experience the paranormal stuff himself and freaked out, running around and screaming at everyone else to figure out a way to protect him. Shut up dirtbag! Nobody likes you! Just die already and quit your whining. I hated this guy so much. I was very disappointed that I hated the book this much. I heard this author compared to my favorite author and was excited to see if that comparison held true. It most certainly does not! This author has no sense of pacing, storytelling, or character building. I can’t, in good conscience recommend this book to anyone, it was awful.
mattia77 More than 1 year ago
The first half of the book is excellent. It is engrossing and scary and keeps you reading! However, the last 200 pages are a total let-down. After all of the build-up, the author races to the end, ruining all the suspense that had been built up. The end was a complete let-down. It ends very abruptly. Not sure if I would read another one of his books.
eternalised More than 1 year ago
Last Days is, hands down, one of the scariest books I’ve ever read. Considering I read about 50 horror novels a year, that’s definitely saying something. This book has it all, from scary ghosts to shadowy forms burnt into walls to ancient evil ressurrected by a frightening cult. Kyle is a documentary film maker who has some cash issues. When he’s asked to make a documentary about a cult called “The Temple of the Last Days” that became famous in 1975 after a massacre leaded to the deaths of several members and their leader, Sister Katherine, he takes up the offer right away. Pay is great and the material sounds interesting, although the paranormal angle doesn’t entirely convince him. He travels to one of the cult’s houses in London where he meets with a former member. But when Kyle and his friend Dan go back for some more shots at night in the house, they feel the presence of someone else, someone who shouldn’t be there. They struggle to get out of the house, chased by an entity they’re not sure is entirely human. However, in the light of day, they dismiss the occurence and go back to gather their materials, convinced it was just a homeless guy or something. But their next journey takes them to the cult’s farmhouse in France, an abandoned lot in the middle of nowhere, and what they find there makes them chance their opinion right away. Something paranormal is going on with the cult. On that faithful night in 1975, they summoned something dark and vile, something that’s been threatening all cult members ever since… Kyle was an interesting main character, but he wasn’t the main drive. This book was primarily plot-driven, and characters weren’t that important. However, I liked Kyle. He was intelligent enough to recognize evil when it stood in front of him, yet he wasn’t paranoid enough to immediately jump to conclusions either. I thought he was rather brave, especially in the scenes in the farmhouse, which were my favorites. However, he too becomes more and more paranoid as the story progresses and went through a great deal of character development, realizing there are worse things than having to scramble for cash. The ending was a bit of a let-down however. It was so random and over the top, I would’ve preferred a smaller, less overwhelming ending. However, even with that taken into account, I thoroughly enjoyed this read. It was downright scary and even made me glance behind my back every once in a while. An excellent read for horror fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's been a very long time since a book literally went to bed with me-- as in it kept me up at night. This was one of those books. I don't think that's happened since "original King" (IT, Salem's Lot, Pet Sematary). Definitely a book that stayed with me even when I wished it wouldn't (like in the dark). The one thing that struck me repeatedly through the entire book was Nevill's handle on setting. I had a clear visual of all these spooky unnerving places the entire time I read. The writing allowed for a very vivid mental movie of places I'd never have the nerve to go in person. That's quite a talent. Would definitely recommend to horror lovers. It goes on the shelf for keeps, seeing as I plan to read the entire book again one day. [review by Sommer Marsden]
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally a complete novel instead of a padded to boredom "part one". Sick of stretched out series. Loved it.
BarbyBH More than 1 year ago
The author Could have been less repetitious. The description of the gruesome, wall-staining monstrous creatures could have been described less often. Even though there was horror and fear in the novel, it took a long time to reach these points in the book. I was glad to finally reach the end of this novel, and now begin something new. The concept of evil the author used was, for myself, a new twist. and that was interesting. I gave it a three because: the author tended to drag out the story at times, yet he gets points for originality and fairly good character development.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Shoulda keep two bullets...one for the kid and one for himsef.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I brought this book by accident. I meant to read the sample first. I was very happy to discover it was well written and kept my attention. I was a litle upset at the ending, but I enjoyed the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was intrigued by the publisher blurb that adam was britains answer to stephen king. And while this author isn't at that level yet there is potential. Story was definitely worth the money. It lost one star for the cheesy hollywood ending, but with a plot so fantastically good there probably wasn't a satisfactory way to end it. Will definitely buy future titles released by this author. Waiting on b&n on this as amazon currently has a broader selection. Definitely gave me nightmares and could not read alone in the house.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was fantastic. The story was amazing and scary. Not my usual experience with horror. I can't say enough good things about it. Things that i hate about scary stories, film or book, were totally absent, while all the great things were in full force. My husband is going nuts because i can't stop talking about it. I can't wait to retread it. I liked it better the The Shining, which up to this point was my standard for all horror books. Engrossing, incredible, terrifying, and just definitively remarkable. If you don't like ghosts but want scary, you should read his other book The Ritual. Also amazing.