×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Last Days of Krypton (Superman Series)
     

The Last Days of Krypton (Superman Series)

4.3 65
by Kevin J. Anderson
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Last Days of Krypton is the epic story of the destruction of the planet Krypton, an explosive event that sent Superman and his legacy to earth. Written by award-winning science fiction writer Kevin J. Anderson, author of the international bestselling Dune prequels, The Last Days of Krypton tells of the marriage of Superman's parents, their

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Last Days of Krypton (Superman Series) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
Greedo More than 1 year ago
Another great book by Kevin J Anderson. I love how he takes all that Krypton lore that DC has seeped out over the last 100 years and compiles it all into a thrilling story. Great job! 5 stars.
Robert_J_Wilson More than 1 year ago
Anderson's "The Last Days of Krypton" adds astonishing depth to an oft-overlooked portion of the vast Superman mythos. A life-long fan of Superman, learning more about Kal-El's birthplace and the thrilling exploits of his biological family as Krypton hovered on the precipice of doom was a great treat. The rise and fall of Zod, the love between Jor-El and Lara, the bond of brotherhood between Jor-El and Zor-El.all fantastic adventures that had never been told with such detail. I highly recommend this book to other Superman fans and only wish that there were more eBooks featuring DC Comics characters.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Jor-El is the greatest scientist that Krypton has ever known, but few of his discoveries are approved by Commissioner Dru-Zod of the Commission for Technology Acceptance. The Kryptonian Council is insular and fears new technology could be made into a weapon of mass destruction. Thus society stagnates while space travel is forbidden and other creative theories outlawed using the patriotic rationalization that Krypton is perfect. When the alien Donodon lands, he and Jor-El become friends from the onset however an accident happens and the alien dies. The Kryptonian Council blames Jor-El and intends to send him to prison for murder, but Brainiac shrinks the capital city of Kandor taking it with him in a bottle. Zod takes advantage of the power vacuum and the fears of the people to get them to follow his leadership. He uses Jor-El to gain weapons in exchange for scientific research. Jor-El saves the planet from a comet, but his actions make Zod realize the peaceful scientist could be a threat to his plans. --- THE LAST DAYS OF KRYPTON is a journey into an advanced but stultified culture in which political agendas stifle science and technology from advancing. The story line focuses on a hero Jor-El who with his wife Lara and brother Zor-El of Argo City put the people¿s need before their own. Although the action is somewhat limited by the insight into Krypton society especially Zod¿s personal agenda to stifle science from interfering with his plans, fans of Superman will appreciate the interesting look at his biological parents. --- Harriet Klausner
sci-fi-junkie More than 1 year ago
This novel allows the reader to delve into many characters that have been mere sketches and pieces of a world described but never explored. I note Anderson among my favorite authors. And as a Superman fan since I could walk, I couldn't resist picking up this book. Though the story is only indirectly about Superman, the book isn't any less interesting. This book is easy to read, occasionally whimsical, and always compelling. This book is for both Superman and non-Superman fans.
Kataman1 More than 1 year ago
Mr. Anderson has wound together a wonderful "science fiction" tale that stands on its own away from the comic book universe. You would not need to be familiar with the Superman story to enjoy this book which addresses politics, greed, human tragedy and many other intriguing themes. The book answers all the questions that many Superman readers have always asked such as: * With all of Krypton's great science, why was only Ka-el spared the destruction of the planet? * How was Krypton actually destroyed? * Who was Zod and what evil deeds did he do? * What really happened to Kandor? * What is actually the story behind the use of The Phantom Zone? I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone that likes a good science fiction story!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Just as he did with 'Captain Nemo', Anderson manages to weave a coherent story out of many loose plot lines. Drawing on elements from both the comic book and movie series, the doomed world of Krypton comes alive, if only to meet its fate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you are a Superman fan and love to read, you will love this book! Best vision of Krypton i have ever seen! I could not put this book down!
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure how in this world, or any other, Anderson wrote a story I already knew but still surprised and thrilled me. To say I loved this book would be a huge understatement. I'm not a big Superman but I loved this story and the best thing about it, it that you don't need to know anything about Superman to enjoy the tale. However, if you do know some of the history, it'll be even more enjoyable. Krypton's history was fantastic and immense and I could go on forever. Seriously, a great piece of fiction.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
????
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Superman is bae abd my fam! And one question peeps how meny pages is it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Join withh the heading SUPERMAN
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have the paperback book and I love the story of Krypton's fall
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MRTrundle More than 1 year ago
Great novel. Tells the story of Kal'El's (Superman) parents in an entertaining and absorbing story that is riveting enough to be a canon origin story in the DC Universe. I heard Mr. Anderson read the first chapter in this book before its publishing and was addicted from that moment. I would recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Superman.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IBJESTER More than 1 year ago
Since nineteen forty eight I have been a fan of Superman, starting with the comic book series when I was three years of age. Even though I had not been taught to read at that age, schooling was not as advanced as it is today, I was able to glean the basic idea from the fantastic artwork upon those pages. Whenever a new copy came to the corner drugstore I would purchase a ten cent copy and be lost in another epic adventure. This continued through the seventh grade when I was forced by my stepfather to truly read a novel from cover to cover instead of scanning it for a school book report. Trying only to show me the magic of the written word where I hated reading in itself, my stepfather did not know that he would turn me into a novel a day fanatic. Unfortunately this lead to my leaving the comic books behind and the only stories of Superman I would see were on television or at the movies. Needless to say when novels abut Superman started to come out, I was overjoyed. However with the few books that were on the market none of them covered what Krypton or its people was actually like. "THE LAST DAYS OF KRYPTON" painted that word picture for me and I could image what I had long awaited to hear and see. I believe the Kevin J. Anderson tried to keep his story line close to what one would find in a comic book, to give it the feel one would get for scanning the pages in that format. In that, he did very well and I commend him for that accomplishment. If you wish to acquire a more precise picture that fills in a lot of the unanswered questions, then this is the book for you to read.
VicG More than 1 year ago
Kevin J. Anderson in his new book, "The Last Days Of Krypton" published by It Books gives us an adventure on Superman's home planet, Krypton, with his father, Jor-El, before Krypton explodes. From the back cover: Before the cataclysm that sent the infant Kal-El rocketing toward a remarkable future as Earth's indestructible protector, his home planet Krypton flourished. Before treachery, technology, and nature conspired to doom an unparalleled civilization, the brilliant scientist Jor-El and the beautiful artist and historian Lara met, fell in love, and married. There were great heroes in those halcyon days. And there were just as many villains: the evil android Brainiac, who planned to capture the capital city of Kandor; the diabolical General Zod, who used lies and chaos to seize power and usher in an era of cruelty, repression, and terror. And through it all, an inescapable violence loomed ever closer--a catastrophic destiny foretold by Jor-El that would reshape humankind forever.... When I was a kid I was like a lot of other Superman fans I just could not get enough Krypton stories that mostly featured Jor-El, Superman's father. The writers back then made Krypton such a wonderful place full of great places to visit, advanced science and villains. Now Mr. Anderson has taken all the history of Krypton before it exploded pieced it all together and has given us an epic adventure. He who will become the villainous General Zod is just a Commissioner in this story but he takes over control of Krypton. Opposing him are the El brothers, Jor-El and Zor-El. Immense evil versus incredible good and the fate of Krypton rests on the outcome. We can clearly see that Superman's heroism is genetic as Jor-El fights for his planet and his people. Mr. Anderson has written a thriller as Jor-El's life is in great danger as he takes a stand against Zod. He has also written one of the absolute best stories that I have read this year! There is so much going on that you really will not want to do anything else until you finish this book. Mr. Anderson has given us a highly entertaining story that is very imaginative. I would like more stories from Mr. Anderson please. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from It Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It was an amazing/different story.
ZarathustraMike More than 1 year ago
Been a Superman fan for 60 years... I bought this book after seeing Man of Steel, and I'm really enjoying it. I just wish I had more time to read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It took me about 6 days to read it was hard to put down the first time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can not believe that the martian manhunter is in this book, even if the appearance is for about page