×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Last King: Rome's Greatest Enemy
     

The Last King: Rome's Greatest Enemy

4.1 21
by Michael Curtis Ford
 

See All Formats & Editions

To the Romans, the greatest enemy the Republic ever faced was not the Goths or Huns, nor even Hannibal, but rather a ferocious and brilliant king on the distant Black Sea: Mithridates Eupator VI, the last king of Pontus, known to history as Mithridates the Great. At age eleven, he inherited a small mountain kingdom of wild tribesmen whom his wicked mother

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Last King: Rome's Greatest Enemy 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Last King is a poignant glance at one of Rome's fiercest adversaries, allowing the reader to decide at the end whether to perceive him as a bloodthirsty slaughterer, calculating conqueror, or a pasisonate extension of his people's will. Perfect for those interested in military history, ancient Rome, or just looking for something different and exciting, remarkable and inspiring.
valindaba More than 1 year ago
This was an unusual historical novel that provided deep insight into one of the "enemies of Rome." It was well written and turned out to be rather an exciting read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book when I was in 8th grade and it was amazing. You can't put the book down, I was up all night reading. This book sparked my intrest in Roman history so my sophomore year when I took AP World History I was actually interested and alert during the teacher's lectures. I highly recomend this book to anyone and everyone who would like a great book to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once I picked up this book it was very hard to put down. Ford has lived up to his other books. This historical novel was very accurate, plus the pulse was envigorating. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in ancient roman history with a bias from the opposite view.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book I would is is one of the best books I have ever read. I could'nt even let go of the book, it was just so great!
Guest More than 1 year ago
In first century BC, the Roman Senate declared King Mithridates Eupator VI of Pontus (on the Black Sea) as its greatest enemy. Rome had turned Pontus into a satellite state when Mithridates¿ mother ruled. When he became the monarch, his country was totally reliant on Rome. Instead of bowing like his mom, he launches campaigns often brutal to throw Rome out of his country and the rest of Asia Minor. Over the next four decades starting at home, Mithridates ruled and warred. First he exploited the weaknesses of his mother ultimately overthrowing her; then he challenged the puppeteers of the Roman Republic using anything in his genocidal arsenal to make a point. Finally after forty years of battles, retreats, and more war, he met final defeat at the hands of General Pompey. Even then he refused to bow having his men execute him instead of allowing the Romans to parade him as a trophy........................................ This is a fabulous historical fiction novel that provides deep insight into the Ancient Roman world through one of its toughest enemies. Many readers like this reviewer probably never heard of Mithridates before, but he obviously proved to be a dangerous long term threat to the Romans. Though the depth in which Michael Curtis Ford provides military tactics seems overwhelming to the lay-person, it also furbishes a sense of how brilliant Rome¿s Greatest Enemy truly was. The tactics also lead to fantastic descriptions of the battles as the audience get a first hand account (narrated by the lead protagonist¿s son) of life in the BC Roman Empire from the perspective of those who wanted out from the glory...................... Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Let me preface by saying I love historical fiction. I've read the authors other works and enjoyed them. This is not a good book. I have had a very tough time reading this boring novel. I couldn't care less about the characters. I have even found the battle scenes to be dull. This is a very, very shallow book. If you want good historical fiction check out Gates of Fire or some Mary Renault.