×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Last Light
     

Last Light

4.1 192
by Terri Blackstock
 

See All Formats & Editions

Birmingham, Alabama, has lost all power. Its streets are jammed with cars that won’t start, its airport engulfed in flames from burning planes. All communications—cell phones, computers, even radios—are silent. Every home and business is dark. Is it a natural disaster . . . a terrorist attack . . . or something far worse?

In the face of a crisis

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Last Light 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 192 reviews.
DonGPhipher More than 1 year ago
Deni Branning and her father just landed at an airport in their city. As they are watching other planes land, one comes falling from the sky, exploding to pieces as it hits the ground. Then another falls, but could it be a coincidence? When Deni and her father attempt to leave, their car doesn't start. As they look around, they realize ALL cars are still. Why don't pagers, cell phones, watches, or any electrical device work? Last Light by Terri Blackstock is a thrilling book about what happens when a city is shut down completely. The Branning family of six must learn to survive without the necessities they normally are blessed with. They have to begin a new, difficult lifestyle while trying to maintain their Christian family, even when things become hostile.

If you like thrilling books that keep you on your feet, Last Light by Terri Blackstock is just that book! After every turn of a page, it gets more and more exciting! If I could choose to, I would have taken a day off just to complete the book. Last Light really put life into a new perspective for me because I realized the huge difference between what is needed and selfishly wanted in life. It's a scary thought to think about how life would be without electricity. I can imagine it would be full of fear and chaos. Without communication and the things that have been created to make life more simple, I don't think many people would know how to maintain a healthy, Christian lifestyle. I love how Terri Blackstock included Christian values into this book and put the message across not to depend on worldly possessions. There wasn¿t anything that I really disliked about the book except that I had nightmares for about a week about living like the Branning family. Living like that would be a nightmare by itself and I¿m certainly glad I got to experience the adventure! I would recommend this book the every one!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I highly reccommend this book. Terri Blackstock is a great writer. Her style of writing is so easy to read and her words pull you right into the story. Last Light is a great mystery novel, with a refreshing Christian theme behind it. She really makes you take a step back and envision your life without all the materialistic things we take for granted everyday. Not only that, but she adds many many twists and turns! It reminds you how quickly us humans can turn into animals, without God in our lives or some kind of spirituality and ethical grounding. This is a must read for all Christians and non-Christian's alike.
ForHim More than 1 year ago
After reading this mystery/family adventure you will never again take advantage of electricity! This book reminds us to love your neighbor, because you never know how or when we will be used by God!
Maddie Howell More than 1 year ago
I loved this book tremendously. It will keep you focused and riveted to the end. The series is over, so you dont have to wait or anything. May start out slow, but gets really interesting really fast. Worth it 100%!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's few and far between that I read a christian novel that brings me to the edge of my seat. The scary part about this book, is that something like that could actually happen. The way that the families banded together to help each other during trying times helps me see that there is still good in the world. Bringing a family together that was slowly slipping apart by not only faith but by sheer helplessness. I didn t buy this book, it was loaned to me by my grandma, and I can't believe how powerful this series is.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't wait till the second book comes out,that is a situation that I can't even imagine getting through. As always Terri can write books you want to keep reading until the end and then you want more. She is a fantisic author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am only in my 50's but I grew up in a village where I had no running water until I was 5 and no indoor plumbing until I was 8 so I could relate to some of what happened in this book. It was so engaging that, when I finished and walked into my kitchen, I was almost surprised to find I still had running water! I agree with the author that, with the world going the way it is, we would definitely benefit from the wisdom & experience of those who went through the Great Depression!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I had never read a book like this before and I had never heard of the author, but as I looked through the new book section in my library it caught my eye. I am glad I decided to pick it up - I loved it and I plan to read more novels by Terri Blackstock.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book really held my atttention all the way to the end. It really made me think about life and what I would do in the same situations. I would recommend this book to any and everyone!!
WyWy1 More than 1 year ago
I kept thinking what would we do if every comfort we have was suddenly gone. The characters are not well developed and some paragraphs are filled with trivial scenes that were unnecessary, but the situation the characters found themselves in was very intriguing. A quick read thats pretty good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Post Apocalyptic books is one of my weaknesses. I have no idea why. and I adore Terri Blackstock.  When technology fails, and the world crumbles around you, what can you rely on? Siri will not give you an answer, GPS won't show you which way to turn.  This reminds me a bit of a series we have been watching on Netflix called Revolution. BUT the answer lies not in a secret advancement of technology, but in G-d. Human nature is exposed when the situations get out of control. Will they hoard their supplies or help others around them? Will they trust and rely on each other or will the crisis tear their family apart? Throw in a murder and the mystery that is Terri Blackstock's strength in writing and you have a great book! I am glad these are being re-released, and they should do well in the current market with others also interested in the "end of the world as we know it" Post Apocalyptic genre.
ebeau More than 1 year ago
I received Last Light by Terri Blackstock as part of the Booksneeze program. This book was highly entertaining and very well written. It is the first in Blackstock’s series which follows the Branning family as they deal with a world wide crisis, a local killer and learn to rely on each other and on God. Excerpt from the cover- Imagine this: Today, the world as you know it will end. No need to turn off the lights...there isn’t any electricity. Your car suddenly stalls and won’t restart. You can’t call for help because your cell phone is dead….and it’s just the tip of the iceberg...Yesterday’s world is gone. Now all you’ve got is your family and your immediate neighborhood you stand or fall together…You must rely on each other as never before. But one of you is a killer and he could be your next door neighbor. -Deni Branning and her family must figure out how to survive without modern comforts and they must also learn what’s really important and who they should trust. It’s a fast pace novel that will keep you on your toes. This is the kind of fiction that masterfully blends suspense with godly truth. It will make you question what is really important in your own life. I’d definitely recommend it!
songbirdsue More than 1 year ago
This is a doomsday book in which all electronics and communications are disrupted. I found the beginning and setup very interesting. The middle however got a bit over the top for me. It seemed to drag a bit and everyone seemed to be behaving in the worse possible way. It got very depressing. It was however a good story overall and even though I knew who the “Bad guy” was, it was still fun to follow to the end. There is quite a bit of religious fervor in it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book. Could not put it down. It held my attention. Great reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everyone should read this book. I could hardly put it down.
EliseInAZ More than 1 year ago
Terri Blackstock is a bestselling Christian author who says, "It’s my goal to write fiction that will keep you up all night." In Last Light, she succeeds. The premise of the story is what if all modern electronics failed due to some natural phenomenon that caused an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP)? Planes fall out of the sky, cars stop working, there's no internet or telephone or even water because the pumps don't work. We follow the affluent Banning family, who live near Birmingham, Alabama, as they learn to cope with the new reality and how it changes people. What most impressed me was how well the characters were drawn. Deni, the daughter in her early twenties with a wedding to plan, lands at the airport with her father just before planes start crashing. Totally self-absorbed, she thinks that her problem of being apart from her fiance and the job she's supposed to start in Washington, DC is the most important thing in the world. Her younger brother sneaks off to a pool party with his friends, drinks beer, and is a little too intimate with a girl than his father would like when he's supposed to be taking his turn to watch over the family. In other words, they behave the way kids do. I have to admit I'm somewhat of a literary snob. I like books that increase my vocabulary, that have plots where everything is not as it seems, and have complex characters that make me wonder about human nature. Last Light has none of these. Written at what I believe is no more than an eighth grade level, with some annoying conventions (including men toting guns to protect the women), and a strong dose of Bible, it's exactly the kind of book I should have disliked. But I didn't dislike it. Quite the opposite. I kept turning the pages, couldn't wait to get back to reading it to find out what happened next, and thoroughly enjoyed the story. It's probably the first time the tactic of offering the first book in a series for free with the hope that the reader will want to buy more books in the series has worked for me. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first read this book a few years ago when i saw it at hasting. I was hooked and everyone in my family read it and was hooked too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! I LOVED it. Fast paced and intresting, the books were extremely hard to put down. They have a good, strong Christian message. Also, it really made me think about things we constantly take for granted-electricity and running water. The books made me wonder what life would be like without them. I've always been a fan of the apocalyptic, another reason why I liked the stories. TOTALLY, COMPLETELY ABSOLUTELY AWESOME series. Must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terri Blackstock knows how to keep you reading. Couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great book...kept me interested and i love how the author created real characters. They are not perfect, but real. In it all is Gods real message of love for us in the deepest pit we are experiencing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Blackstock has done it again! Last Light was the eye opener for any and everybody who goes through the motions of Christianity. Walking this walk is a lifetime journey and in this novel you will see how important it is to walk it in the good times as well as the bad. I enjoyed this and will be getting the 2nd book to this sequel very soon. Enjoy and God Bless!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome! It has great suspense. As i got further and further i thought to myself, what would i do in this situation.
Judy A Snipes More than 1 year ago
We are in a time of history when this EMP could very well happen. How many of us would be prepared or even know what to do in a crisis as this? It was so hard to read this knowing that this is a part of reality that could come about. I asked myself would I share my food and water with people in need. I like to think I would. But first of all, I do know my strength would come from my savior, Jesus Christ. With Him guiding my path l know I'll do the right thing.
Kym Jensen More than 1 year ago
A MUST READ!!!!!!
MaureenST More than 1 year ago
This series was recommended to me by my Library. They told me they bought the first book in the series and enjoyed it so much that they bought the series. I tried the first one....it is awesome! Not know what to expect...the first book starts out at the Airport. Just after Deni Branning arrives, she and her Dad are on their way to pick up her bags. All of a sudden planes start falling out of the sky...the power goes out. Made me think this is the end of the world. What would I do if we totally lost everything that has electrical components? The list is endless! Even cars stopped filling the highways. The story keeps you thinking all the way to the end. There are unfortunately those people who are interested in greed only. Through it all some of the people, including the Brannings, learn to lean on God. Loved how their faith grew in the face of adversity. Highly recommend this!