×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Last Man on the Moon: Astronaut Eugene Cernan and America's Race in Space
     

The Last Man on the Moon: Astronaut Eugene Cernan and America's Race in Space

4.7 15
by Eugene Cernan, Don Davis
 

See All Formats & Editions

The basis of the 2014 award-winning feature-length documentary! A revealing and dramatic look at the inside of the American Space Program from one of its pioneers.

Eugene Cernan was a unique American who came of age as an astronaut during the most exciting and dangerous decade of spaceflight. His career spanned the entire Gemini and Apollo programs, from

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Last Man on the Moon 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Anonymous 3 months ago
You are a true hero!! Thanks for your sacrifice and the sacrifices of all the astronauts and their families .
TenPeaks More than 1 year ago
It's great reading about one of mankinds greatest accomplishments from someone who experienced the whole thing. Gene takes us through his early days when he decided he wanted to be a pilot and also talked about the people who influenced his life. He brings his experience in space to a personal level and you can imagine what he went through as he orbited the earth in Gemini 9 and flew to the moon on his Apollo missions. If you love space history you should read this book. Another great book about the Apollo missions is A Man on the Moon by Andrew Chaikin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gbo More than 1 year ago
One of the best non-fiction books I've read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tennisbuff More than 1 year ago
I thought Gene Cernan and Don Davis did a great job and making you feel like you were next to the "Last Man on the Moon". The honesty and portrail of what it was like to be an Astronaut at that time was enthralling. If you grew up in this era like I did, it really gives you a different perspective of that time with NASA. It was hard to put the book down! I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in the space race.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Skip376 More than 1 year ago
An excellent account of the Apollo Missions and the last ones in particular. The Training and the behind the scenes information is very interesting and contains some information that was not generally known by the public. Tells why we haven't been back to the Moon and the reasons why we might consider returning again soon. There are several excellent books on the Apollo Missions and this is just one of the most recent.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read many books about Astronauts tales of adventure, but this is hands down the best yet. Gene Cernan portrays his stories as a true author not just a space junkie. If you want to find what its really like out there, read this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Gene Cernan provided a very eye-opening chronological account of the U.S. space program. From our back and forth space race with the Soviets to the triumph and tragedy that NASA experienced throughout the Mercury, Gemini and Apollo missions, Gene Cernan provided a GREAT look at all aspects of an astronaut's life. An absolute must for anyone who has ever been interested in the U.S. space program or would like to learn about that important part of history.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent account of the Gemini and Apollo missions and Mr. Cernan's role in them. I thouroughly enjoyed the recounting of the launches, space walks, and the lunar excursions. What I couldn't seem to get over, however, were the 'cowboy' tone in which the book is written, and the unrelenting stabs at Buzz Aldrin. At that time, cursing and informal references to other people were probably just part of the astronaut's vocabulary, but since the story is being told by a man who is quite a bit older now, it's difficult to appreciate the true value of this hero when his tone is so offensive. Using the 'F' word, even once, in a book that details not only America's greatest feat but also the very personal life of the author, his wife, and young daughter, is inappropriate. Ditto for the 'S' word and for all the rest. It's easy to see, judging from the description of the tensions that arose during the author's distinguished career as an astronaut, that not every person will get along. Regardless of whether or not the reader likes Buzz Aldrin, he did play an important role in the space race. To spend book space painting him in an ugly light makes the author look small and selfish. The reader is invited to make his/her own judgements about Mr. Aldrin at the end of one of these tirades, but I fail to see the point of the invitation by the author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago