×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Last Summer
     

Last Summer

3.4 16
by Holly Chamberlin
 

See All Formats & Editions

The town of Yorktide, close to Maine’s beautiful beaches and the city of Portland, seems like the perfect place to raise a family. For Jane Patterson, there’s another advantage: her best friend, Frannie Giroux, lives next door, and their teenaged daughters, Rosie and Meg, are inseparable. But in the girls’ freshman year of high school,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Last Summer 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
sunshineJB More than 1 year ago
This novel centers on The Patterson family and The Giroux family; especially the mothers and daughters. Have the events in this story destroyed the relationship between the families? I hope you get a chance to read this book and find out for yourself. Rosie Patterson and Meg Giroux have been best friends for a long time. They have lived next door to each other for years. Jane Patterson and Frannie Giroux also have been best friends for a long time too. Over the years Rosie and Meg have confided many secrets to each other. Both girls trusted each other to keep those secrets and they both have up until now. Meg is an outgoing young lady that can stand on her own two feet. Rosie on the other hand is a little more on the timid and laid back side. It seems for months Rosie has been picked on by several girls in and out of school. Meg doesn’t like that Rosie won’t stick up for herself. In a moment that Meg instantly regretted she blurted out to the leader of the girls that have been picking on Rosie a secret about Rosie. Of course, the secret was spread around school by these malicious girls. The damage done to Rosie was pretty bad. There was more abuse and bullying that came out in this book. I don’t want to spoil it for the reader. I found myself wanting to fight for Rosie. I wanted Rosie to tell someone! The relationship between Rosie and Meg and between Jane and Frannie is understandably strained. Will there be healing and forgiveness? Can Rosie ever trust Meg again? Can Jane and Frannie get their relationship back on track? Bullying is never an act that can be condoned. I think more public awareness is needed. Parents as well as school officials should always be on the alert. This is the first book I have read by the author Holly Chamberlin so I can’t compare it to her other novels. I was impressed with the subject line that she chose for this book and I feel she did a great job getting her point a cross in the telling of this story. I am looking forward to reading more novels by her. I wish to thank Kensington Publishing for providing me with an ARC to read and review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very good. This is the first time that I have ever read anything by Holly Chamberlin. I am not going to give any details away but during the course of time that I read this book I was wanting to finish it and read another book. After I had finished I was moved probably because I had been bullied myself when I was that age. But now I find myself wanting to continue on with these characters. I would recommend this book to anyone that likes Holly Chamberlin or to anyone who is looking for a new author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great story. Not only does it send a great anti bullying message it is a great message in forgiveness and moving forward.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book should be recommended to any young girls out there. Maybe it will be thought provoking enough to change someones life. Okay okay the book ha sa good message. Now for my opinion....the beginning dragged at first and i almost didnt finish this but i am very glad i did. And i dont know if its just my nook...but a few pages were mixed up in the middle and i had to jump between them. Very strange indeed. But this story truly did end up drawing me in. Possibly because the story content truly did speak to me, as i remember all to clearly being bullied and then becoming a bully myself. Anyways...few typos here and there but besides the 4 pages that were mixed up it wasnt anything too confusing and did not detract from the story at all
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love holly Chamberlin's books and have read them all. This book tackled a tough issue facing families with teens these days. Even though it is fiction, it was very real. The characters are real and very eye opening. I have teenage boys and they get bullied too. It was interesting to watch the characters unfold, mature and redefine themselves. Every parent with teenagers should read as an indicator to signs of bullying in their own circle of teenagers. There is comfort in the strength of the characters. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just started this book and what a good book it turned out to be .It is a lendable book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jbarr5 More than 1 year ago
LAST SUMMER Holly Chamberlin This is a story about bullying and it's everywhere these days. The grandmother bus monitor in NY was bullied and when others found out, via YouTube, people around the world donated money for her and her cause to stop bullying. Rosie and her family, mom and dad live next door to Meg and her younger brother and parents. Rosie and Meg are lifetime friends but Meg to fit in socially at school told another female Rosie's secret and then everybody in school knew and everybody shunned her. Things get really bad til her parents find out then the parents are no longer friends with each other-the female heads of the families are also lifetime friends. Medical issues arise and many secrets. Love the part about diaries and journals and the 'talking doctor' Rosie goes to. The girls try to work their way around things to get back to what they once had. When the community suffers again from another bullying attack they arise to meet and start a club that they hope will help others. I liked the book and what it stands for. Some kids today I find so mean to others their age and that they have no respect of older people. Hope things can change for them, make it a more peaceful world we can live in. At time I found it very difficult to continue reading this book as the hurt was put there by just others words. Glad I did get to the end, i Looked forward to it ending in what I hoped would not be death. Super loved reading about the different locations in Portland Maine. we do travel there at least once a year.
kopsahl More than 1 year ago
Rosie Patterson is the target of a bullying campaign at her school. What starts as just teasing from a group of girls, turns into full on abuse. The ultimate betrayal that Rosie receives is her best friend and next door neighbor, Meg Giroux, lets slip a big secret that is used to humiliate Rosie in front of the entire school. This pushes Rosie over the edge and into a downward spiral and ends with self-mutilation. The aftermath ends up tearing apart not only Rosie’s family but also Meg’s. Both families must come full circle and learn to forgive and move forward. I am going to be completely honest and say I felt no emotion while reading Last Summer. I was fully expecting to be torn apart due to my own personal experiences but instead I felt I was just reading a story. Chamberlin didn’t pull me in. After reading the Q & A at the end, I figured out why. Chamberlin has never experienced bullying or any of the after effects., she has only researched it because she was asked to write a book on bullying. The storyline was well thought out but it is missing that emotion that needs to be incorporated to pull the reader in and make the impact that it should. I would still recommend readers to pick this book up just because Chamberlin does tell the story from many POVs and the reader realizes how bullying can affect the victim but also ripple thru everyone associated with the victim. (ARC was provided by publisher for an honest review)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not worth the read...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JAC2848 - did not like nook sample