×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Lasting Impression (Belmont Mansion Series #1)
     

A Lasting Impression (Belmont Mansion Series #1)

4.7 51
by Tamera Alexander
 

See All Formats & Editions

Blockbuster New Historical Series From Acclaimed Author Tamera Alexander

To create something that will last is Claire Laurent's most fervent desire as an artist. It's also her greatest weakness. When her fraud of a father deals her an unexpected hand, Claire is forced to flee from New Orleans to Nashville, only a year after the War Between the States has ended.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Lasting Impression 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tamera Alexander writes excellent stories. They are all full of humbling experiences with timeless threads of history,discovery, romance, and faith. I have enjoyed all her stories so far and look forward towards more!
inkwellreviews 10 months ago
My review from inkwellreview.com (Christian book review site) This book was one of the few that has made a “Lasting Impression” on me. Pun intended. It is one of my favorite books of all time, which is saying something because as you know, I have read a lot of books in my day. Tamera Alexander’s writing is out of this world. Other authors don’t even compare. This book seemed so realistic. From her writing style to her characters, it just seemed so real. This is not a small book. I mean, it’s four-hundred and twenty-six pages so, it is a pretty big book. And you know what? I didn’t want to stop reading about Claire’s Laurent’s life. You can guess that her character development is also extraordinary. It felt like I personally knew them and they could step out of the book and be real people (another reason to LOVE this book). Finding these quality’s in an author is somewhat rare. Plus, it is based off of Belmont Mansion which is located in Nashville Tennessee. This is a beautiful place to imagine while you’re reading this book. With a little touch a humor this book was everything you want in a historical novel. This is a very big and thorough book so if you are looking for something lighthearted and fast to read then I might recommend something else. I would encourage you to read this book.
Diana_Urban More than 1 year ago
Tamera Alexander has once again written an entertaining, solidly researched historical novel, this time focusing on late 19th century Nashville. The main characters and the supporting characters are well developed, and the writing is solid. The plot is well thought out and interesting; nothing feels contrived. Claire Laurent, Sutton Monroe, and Adelicia Acklen, the main characters, have the same doubts, fears, heartaches, and joys that many of us experience, and by the end of the book they feel like friends with whom I’d like to spend more time. The setting at Belmont Mansion provides an interesting historical backdrop, and it was fun to learn more about the social mores and societal expectations of that era. Kudos also to Bethany House for the cover design – the dress and pose described on pages 332-3 are wonderfully depicted on the front cover. I’m looking forward to the next book in this series!
mackenzie_carol 9 months ago
A Lasting Impression is the first book in Tamera Alexander’s Belmont Mansion series, and is also the first book I have ever read by her. However, this book has made me a fan of hers forever, because it was so good!!! I fell in love with Tamera’s writing from the very beginning, and I just devoured every single page! I absolutely love historical novels, and Tamera is fantastic at weaving them together, so I know I will be reading so many of her books in the future! Claire Laurent was a character I fell in love with from the very beginning. She had suffered so much pain by the time we meet up with her at the start of this book, and she only has to go through more in the first few chapters to follow. However, she still manages to be a very sweet, charming artist whom I absolutely loved and wanted everything to work out for. I loved her innocence, despite all that she had witnessed in her life, and I couldn’t help but know her repentance over her acts of forgery was genuine. My favorite thing of all, though, was her growing relationship with Sutton. Sutton Monroe is one of my favorite characters out of all the books I have read. I just knew I was going to love him from the first moment I read about him on the back of the book, and I wasn’t disappointed. He is so kind, and caring, and full of life and passion, and I knew he was perfect for Claire from the start. Besides that, I also loved the relationship he has with Adelicia, because it just added a whole other element to what I knew about him, and about her. And can I just say, I really love Adelicia Acklen as well, both the woman, and the name Adelicia. (It sounds so regal, doesn’t it? ) Anyway, Tamera did a fantastic job on this novel, and I can gladly give it all five bookshelves, and a place on my all-time favorites list. I already owned a copy of the next book in the series—A Beauty So Rare—and in fact that is really how I got into her writing, so you can be sure I’ve already been reading that one as well. I’m looking forward to reading tons more of Tamera’s books, and I highly recommend them because they are fantastic! (This review is from my blog, spreadinghisgrace.blogspot.com)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recently started reading Tamera's novels and I absolutely love them. She is my new favorite author. This was of course a wonderful novel. An absolute must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of Julie Klassen and Elizabeth Camden so I was looking for another similar author. I have heard good things about Tamera Alexander so I thought I would give this a try. I like historical romances where there is much left to the imagination. Jane Eyre being my all time favorite book. I thought this transported me to another time and the love story was enjoyable to read. I would recommend this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept my interest. Great read. I would recommend this book.
Shari_Bradley More than 1 year ago
There is so much about this book to love! Richly drawn characters, growing relationships, and fascinating history are in full swing as you spend time at Belmont Mansion with Claire and Sutton. Really love the emphasis on Claire's personal courage, how she grows when given the opportunity to use her God-given gifts, how she is drawn to the One who really loves her and gives her the strength to be honest in all her ways. The villains have their place in the story, but do not overwhelm the reader. I was grateful for that balance and the way the author compares Claire's painfully dysfunctional family with the loving family as led by Adelicia. The timing in the story line is just so perfect. The descriptions of Belmont and Adelicia Acklyn are riveting and inspired me to look for images. So fun to see what was inspiring to Tamera as she wrote this lovely story. Strength, courage, forgiveness, loyalty, compassion, hope, and love of all things beautiful - great or small. Highly recommend this one. Just ordered #2 in the series and cannot wait to read it! You will want to go to Nashville and see Belmont after you read this - a terrific story!
MichelleLN More than 1 year ago
Tamera Alexander certainly made "A Lasting Impression" with this novel! As a reader you can tell that she did a lot of research in preparation for writing this book. The way that she described the Belmont Estate as well as all of the art within, you were able to clearly picture it as if you were there in person. Mrs. Adelicia Acklen was such a wonderful and inspirational woman that had experienced so much in her life. But even with all of the sorrow, she never lost her connection with God. She certainly was a woman born ahead of her time. Adelicia is a great reminder that no matter how hard a task may seem, believe in yourself and give your trust to God and He will guide you in the right direction.  Claire and Sutton had a wonderful relationship, they really complemented each other. I loved getting to know them individually as well as watching their feelings for each other bloom into something beautiful. I hope that there will be more books in the Belmont series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nose_always_in_a_book More than 1 year ago
This is the second book I've read by this author and I can't say enough good things about her ability to write, she takes you in from the first page and leaves you wanting more on the last page. This story takes place at Belmont and is so descriptive that you feel as though you are right there in the mansion and exploring its grounds. I just knew I saw the wallpaper on the walls and the furniture in the rooms, personally met all the servants and was involved in every activity taking place there. What a wonderful escape this book provided. I'll be looking for more of Tamera Alexander's books, they are like taking a wonderful vacation without ever leaving home! Without the least hesitation, I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is set in the perfect place during an amazing time period of American history. Alexander makes you fall in love with a hard working girl who didn't start off on the best foot when coming to the states. Weaving in actual things from the Bellmont mansion makes this feel like a long lost story misplaced from the history books. I love the romance, drama, and the history portrayed so well in Alexander's best book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and all of this author. It really spoke to my heart, knowing whatever we do we leave a lasting impression. Not only to those around you, but aleo those you my not know you are touching, and that whatever we are doing we must live authentic lives of faith that do point others to JESUS. Thank you Tamara for this book, I look forward to your next book.
MissCarol More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful romantic novel! Tamara Alexander has a special talent for drawing you along the characters' journey that makes the reader become attached emotionally to the story. I couldn't wait to pick this book up at the end of each day (and would have read all day if I could have!)!! I will definitely be buying and reading more of Tamara Alexander!
-Forgiven More than 1 year ago
With extremely realistic characters, gorgeous settings, and a shiny ribbon of history woven in, A Lasting Impression was carefully created to showcase a truly wonderful story. Tamera Alexander swirled just the right ingredients into this Belmont Mansion Novel.. A girl afraid of the surfacing of her past, a man with regrets from his own past and hopes for his future, a wealthy-beyond-imaginition woman with a curt hospitality, and even a touch of mystery... An innocent romance swells and deepens by the end of the book, giving the romantic-at-hearts something else to love about this novel. From Sutton Monroe's blunt honesty to Claire Laurent's shy uncertainty, the characters were very thoroughly developed. I could vividly envision each one's actions and followed the story very well because of the author's enthusiasm for describing. And when Adelicia Acklen directly--and very intensely--met Claire's eyes, I could almost feel the humility, embarrassment, or incompetence resulting from such an intimidating stare! The author's writing style is unique, though odd for me at times, but all in all, it worked nicely with the storyline. I felt that the middle was a little long and maybe too drawn out. In the end, though, the novel came together artfully and completely. I could clearly see that the author thought out the details and characters of her story prior to writing it. As I mentioned previously, even though there is an underlying love story within the book, I would not consider A Lasting Impression to be a romance novel. It is more of a historical and a story of redemption. I have learned that Tamera Alexander truly desires for everyone to take a step closer to God as they read her novels, and I feel as though I have. After reading A Lasting Impression, I found it to be one that has left me contemplating Ephesians 2:10. I thank God for the blessing of a talented writer who is faithfully devoted to creating as if it was "only for Him."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MarB1 More than 1 year ago
I've read all of Tamera Alexander's books and really loved the western settings. It's a totally different world that Tamera is painting in this book, but her writing is excellent, as always! It's short after the Civil War. Claire Laurent used to forge paintings for her father and `uncle'. Determined to start a new life she leaves the place that her `uncle' has send her to. She gets a job at the Belmont Mansion and starts working for Adelicia Acklen as her personal liaison. Claire and Mrs. Acklen both enjoy art. Claire doesn't tell about the forgery and soon it becomes a burden for her. In her position as liaison she can use her talents to paint kids toys and gift boxes for guestst. But Claire biggest desire is to paint real paintings and make a name for herself. Sutton Monroe works as a lawyer and is manager of Belmont. His father was killed in the war and the government threatens to take his family property. If that happens Sutton will loose everything. He's working on a big case for a client who bought a forged painting with documents. They try to get after the person who's behind the forgeries. If he can win this case he'll get a lot of money and his future is secure. Claire and Sutton both live at Belmont and share the meals with Mrs. Acklen and her children. They fall in love, but there are some obstacles that needs to be cleared away before there might be a future for them together. What will happen with their love if Sutton finds out about Claire's past? I really liked Claire's character. She was sweet, lovely and humble. Sutton was the real gentleman. Mrs. Acklen was a great character too. I loved to see how she and Claire bonded. The servents -exept for Mrs. Routh- were very nice too! I loved them all! I really enjoyed this book and also looked a lot at the cover and tried to imagine myself in such a beautiful dress! Personally I prefer the settings of Tamera's previous books, but as I already said - the writing in this book is excellent!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PattiJoM More than 1 year ago
I had been eagerly awaiting the release of A LASTING IMPRESSION, and am happy to say I was not disappointed! Author Tamera Alexander has written a wonderful story that keeps the reader not only entertained, but transported back to another time. The main setting of the story is the gorgeous Belmont Mansion in post-Civil War Nashville. Ms. Alexander's style of writing makes the reader feel as if you're really there--viewing the Mansion (and characters) yourself! ~ I highly recommend this book, and am eager to read the upcoming books in this series. FIVE stars!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LauraFabiani More than 1 year ago
This is the second historical novel I read from Tamera Alexander and I liked it even better than the first one I read. Maybe because it was set in the South just after the Civil War and it also dealt with the world of art. Claire Elise Laurent, A French artist who immigrated to the United States as a child, is taught by her parents to forge famous paintings so that her father can sell them. After her mother dies and her father is attacked and killed, she runs and ends up working at Belmont Mansion as a personal liaison to Adelicia Acklen, one of the wealthiest women in the US in the 1860s. Claire longs to paint her own creations and learns to become self-confident even as she hides her past. She meets Sutton Monroe, an attorney, who is attracted to her but is suspicious of her past, and is also investigating the art fraud case. To say this book is well researched is an understatement. The author brings history to life, especially among the elite Nashville society. Belmont Mansion actually exists and so did Adelicia Acklen. The characters are vivid, along with the setting that I easily pictured the story in my mind. I especially liked how the author brought Adelicia to life, along with her household. Claire's character grows as she is given responsibilities that feed her self-worth. The plot unfolds well and at a good pace. I was hoping for more action regarding the art fraud case and thought that it was handled a little too quickly toward the end, especially since this was what the whole story was leading to'how Claire redeems herself and how she would get off having forged famous paintings! However, this is minor and did not take away my enjoyment of a good ending to a good story. I highly recommend this one to all lovers of good Christian historical fiction. It will not disappoint! Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars Disclaimer: This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. I was not told how to rate or review this book.