×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Law School Confidential: A Complete Guide to the Law School Experience: By Students, for Students / Edition 3
  • Alternative view 1 of Law School Confidential: A Complete Guide to the Law School Experience: By Students, for Students / Edition 3
  • Alternative view 2 of Law School Confidential: A Complete Guide to the Law School Experience: By Students, for Students / Edition 3
     

Law School Confidential: A Complete Guide to the Law School Experience: By Students, for Students / Edition 3

4.3 49
by Robert H. Miller
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0312605110

ISBN-13: 9780312605117

Pub. Date: 04/26/2011

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

I WISH I KNEW THEN WHAT I KNOW NOW!

Don't get to the end of your law school career muttering these words to yourself! Take the first step toward building a productive, successful, and perhaps even pleasant law school experience—read this book!

Written by students, for students, Law School Confidential<

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Law School Confidential 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It minimized my law school fears big time. The chapters were very informative and I refer to this book and others when I need to step back and re-evaluate my progress. I would definitely pick up this book if you want to make sure you're on the right track.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read it from cover to cover in a minute. This is an extremely helpful, not only does it help with the steps leading up to law school, but it also provides tips for how to live your life throughout the law school experience. Lots of information - but it's not a book to buy if you want help with applying. It's got everything else though.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Robert Miller, along with about a dozen of his cohorts, have put together an excellent book that definitely is invaluable to any student either thinking about or preparing for law school. You will find in this book all you need to know about what to expect before, during, and after law school. The authors share to a great extent how to study for exams, prepare briefs, compete for law review, and apply for those critical summer associate positions, just to name a few. Each author's credentials speak for themselves as most of them have undergone law school at the most prestigious institutions and are currently working for top law firms in the United States. I also highly recommend Scott Turow's One L and Starting Off Right in Law School by Carolyn Nygren for further insight into what one can expect in law school.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I first picked up Law School Confidential in the summer before my senior year of college to get advice about the dreadful law school application process. Being the first in my family to go to law school, and without personally knowing any professionals in the law world, I was quite anxious about what to stress in my personal statement, what impresses admissions committees, and how choose which schools to apply to. I found straightforward and helpful suggestions in this book. By the time I was done applying to schools, my copy of the text was filled with sticky notes marking off bits of advice I thought were especially helpful. I even used Miller¿s outline of a good personal statement to jumpstart my own essay. More than that, however, Law School Confidential has followed me through my law school experience. After completing my applications, I revisited the book in order to get some advice on where I should actually enroll. Miller presents the reader with an enlightening method of sorting out what school provides one with a best fit, along with realistic accounts of a law school student¿s debts. In addition, as a future IL, I also had concerns about what to expect in school in September. Once again I consulted Law School Confidential. Along with taking me through the application process, Miller¿s book reveals what to expect in the first, second, and third years at law school. Among the many topics discussed are classroom subjects, how to secure internships, and ways to study that have worked well for previous students. I plan to be attending a competitive law school in the fall, and reading Miller¿s book has made me feel much more confident about what to expect, how to react, and how I will succeed in my schooling and future career. This book truly is a complete guide to the law school experience. While those simply considering law school will learn from this book whether or not this route is for them, I highly recommend Law School Confidential to all serious pre-law students. Even if you¿re at the end of the application process, Miller¿s offers great advise for how to survive the three years you¿ll spend in law school. However, if you¿re lucky enough to discover this title before you start applying, read through to find invaluable advise on the application process and give yourself the best possible chance to get into the school of your choice.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been out of school for about 8 years and am going to law school in the fall. I was very nervous about learning how to study all over again. This book has calmed my fears. It gave me a great sense of what to expect and how to tackle the work load. I would recommend this to anyone that's even just thinking about going to law school.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Folks, If you're even thinking about attending law school, read this book! LSC walks you through every stage of the process: thinking about law school; determining if it's right for you; applying to law schools; how to settle in to law school; how to do well once classes begin; how to secure employment; and, LSC tells you how to pass the bar exam. In short, LSC takes you from beginning to end on how to become a lawyer. Get this book, and you won't say, 'I wish I knew then what I know now...' With LSC, you can have that wish granted! Regardless of whether or not you ultimately attend law school, buying LSC is the BEST $20 you'll ever spend. The worst that could happen is that you could save tens of thousands of dollars and learn about what law school is like. That alone was fascinating reading, at least for me. For an insider's view of law school and the legal profession, LSC can't be beat!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read 4 books on the topic thus far and this is by far the best. It's the most thorough and covers the topics I am most interested in, the others were quite lacking in comparison. Go ahead and trust all of the positive reviews on this website, this time they're not just hype! This book is by far the most informative and gives you a strategy on notetaking and studying for the consistent student and the procrastinator. Great tips on what to do, how much time you can expect to study, even a suggestion on a schedule for studying. LSC is tremendously helpful, before you go to law school you need to read this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I returned to law school after having worked for many years. I read several books on law school and found this one to be BY FAR the BEST! It provides a system for excelling in law school that works. I followed the advice on briefing in technicolor, outlining as you go, case maps, bullet lists etc. I also followed the advice on getting my resume together before starting law school. I am happy to say that I just finished my first semester with a 3.8 GPA and I landed a summer job with a large firm over Christmas break! Thanks Robert Miller!!! I will definately recommend this book to incoming 1L's next year!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I came across this book by accident while looking though the law school section of a boookstore. This book is truly the most insightful law school-related book that I have read. Miller and the other contributers walk the reader though the entire law school process, from "thinking about law school" to the completion of the bar exam. Although this is technically a "how-to" book, the conversational tone makes it truly appealing. The contributions of the "mentors" definitely sets this book apart from the rest. These individuals have attended law schools across the country, so they are able to make unique (as opposed to one-sided or redundant) contributions. I'll conclude by saying that I am glad that I found this book BEFORE law school!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm an undergrad and considering the whole process of the LSAT and law school. This book answered every question I had, as well as the questions I had not yet thought to ask. It is great because if I end up in law school this book is an amazing reference tool! If you have friends or family considering law school, or who just want to learn more about the whole idea, pick them up a copy as well!
Guest More than 1 year ago
...if you're thinking about law school (or even know that you're going. Of all the pre-law books I've seen, this definitely the best. Most importantly, the book is easy to read and keeps your attention. Also, Robert Miller's straigh-forward, no-bull, approach to describing law school is very valuable in deciding whether or not law school is the right decision. I refer to this book frequently and know I will continue to do so as I begin law school. The study approaches outlined in this book are easy to understand and I believe will be very helpful. It's great to have the insight of recent grads.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I will be attending orientation in the fall for Law School and honestly had no real clue about what I'm in for! Sure, I have mentors already in the field and a 2L for a friend... However, as I have exhausted them and embarassed myself with my bajillions of questions, this book was a Godsend. Miller answered all of my questions and I will use this book as my Law School bible.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was looking to buy a book that explained the law school experience. I read the reviews of many books on the subject, and by far, LAW SCHOOL CONFIDENTIAL came out on top. But nothing could prepare me for the book itself. I am starting my law school career later in life, having worked for many years as an accountant. I am a CPA with a master¿s degree in taxation, so I wanted to make sure law school was a wise choice for me. This book was helpful, insightful, funny, often intimidating and very poignant. It is a complete guidebook from A to Z. Author Robert Miller suggests you read the book from cover to cover, and then read the sections again when they apply to you (for example, what you should be doing during the summer of your second year of law school). This book starts from simply thinking about law school, includes preparing for the LSAT, applying to law schools, surviving the first semester, and gives step-by-step hints (or what to expect) at each stage of law school, right up until the bar exam. There is a section on how to use the book, which can be used to quickly find a chapter once you¿ve read the book. Not only does Miller use his own wisdom and experience, he uses the assistance of several other recent law school graduates, all with different backgrounds, reasons for going to law school, and career paths. Many of the insights are very candid; some of the lawyers would not do it again if they knew about the experiences in law school. I¿ve always been an avid reader. I bought this book for some helpful information, but I never realized that this would be so gripping. I couldn¿t wait to come home after work to finish reading it. It reads like a good novel. If you are thinking about law school, or love someone who is, then buy this book! You won¿t regret it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read and reread this book, all before I even heard that I got into law school. My dad got this book for me. I already have half of the items they suggested. This book is not a waste of time or money!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was recently accepted into a law program, and have been getting more and more anxious as the Fall approaches. I found this book and, after sitting down and reading it for over an hour at the book store, I purchased it and finished it in just a few nights. I now know what to expect, and how I will prepare myself for the next three grueling years of my life. The book was a big help, and I highly recomend it to anyone even considering Law School.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My daughter did everything right to get into a top 10 law school...at least we and she thought so......invited into the prestigious undergraduate Honors College at a top 10 Public University...top 2% of 50,000 students...traveled abroad twice...EXCEPT, we did not read Mr. Millers Book until After the Law App process...now we collectively hold our breath, because of a strategic error. A private mentor might save applicants,and, their parents a lot of headaches...and this is a close as you'll get to a private FOR HIRE mentor...we know! Concerned Parents and applicants Must Read it as soon as their is a glimmer of an interest in : The Law and a top Law School Experience. Mr. Miller is truly at the top of his game having lived throught the process RECENTLY...and since he had close friends make strategic errors, including friends who were studying at Universities ranked in the top 5 for undergrad, he can speak closely to the 'dark side' of a mistake. There are many opportunities which are matched by equally obnoxious and unfair pratfalls within the HEIRARCHY of Law Scools Pay close attention to this in the book. Miller does a fine job of outling options...so that the students have an increased chance of getting into their top 'schools of choice' and knowing what that really means!! WE are finding out the hard way that everything in here is current, accurate, and he does not sugarcoat the reality of getting into 'THE BIG TOP' and what it will be like 'in the tent'.. Parents should read this so you are on the same page as your graduate. This may be the last and most influential thing you do for and with them. It may help you understand why your new 'star graduate' may even need some time off before law school...Remember...a top law student is not a 'Machine' and the Top Law Schools will prove it...Be sure its not at your mutual expense.. BUY The Book! READ The Book! BELIEVE The Book.!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book tells you exactly what you need to know about law school including scheduling, studying and how to wind down. VERY IMPRESSIVE
Guest More than 1 year ago
Being only a freshman in college, even I thought that this book served as a useful tool in helping my decision to be a future lawyer. Now I know what to expect! I am glad that Miller wrote this book, it was easy to understand and I couldn't put it down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A few weeks ago, I was accepted at an Ivy League law school that was one of my top choices. Because my application had some serious 'issues' that the book specifically addressed, I wholeheartedly recommend that all applicants take the time to read Robert Miller's work. Miller's interview with a law school admissions officer does a superb job at clarifying the issues confronting a person who actually makes the decision on an application. I really never thought of some of the issues that the book discussed when I was filling out application forms. Some of the book's specific suggestions gave me the idea to say certain things on my admissions materials that I believe made a decisive impact in having the previously mentioned school accept me relatively early in the admissions cycle. I do not guarantee that others will have the same or even a remotely similar experience. But I do believe that the book will give future readers certain ideas about how to approach the application process that they never thought of.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the rage right now, and for good reason! I've read all the books available about how to succeed in law school, and Law School Confidential is unquestionably the best one. It is exceptionally well written, clear, and chock-full of helpful information about everything from applying to law school to optimizing study methods to studying for and taking exams to getting jobs and clerkships. This is a MUST READ for anyone in law school, or thinking about applying, and it is a book that you will use and interact with for all three years.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is definitely worth the money and time to read. It showcases everything you ever wanted to know about applying to law school as well as the small and large things about law school in general (as well as the specific). For anyone serious about going to law school, this is a perfect book to read.