×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lean on Pete
  • Alternative view 1 of Lean on Pete
  • Alternative view 2 of Lean on Pete
     

Lean on Pete

4.4 13
by Willy Vlautin
 

See All Formats & Editions

"[Vlautin] unearths a world Steinbeck would have recognised...where the American underclass still resides. Lean On Pete is an archetypal American novel, Huck Finn for the crystal-meth generation."
Independent Extra

Author Willy Vlautin—“a major realist talent”(Seattle Post Intelligencer) who is often compared to Raymond

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lean on Pete 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was written in such raw authentic language that it felt more like Willy was talking to me through the page. He loves to take passive characters and make us root for them. Reading his books is like walking through a mirror and watching from the other side. I love everything he has written so far and can't wait for more.
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
At first, I didn't know what to think of Lean On Pete by Willy Vlautin. I was reading through the eyes of fifteen-year-old Charley Thompson and it felt like a fifteen year-old was writing it. But when the story started rolling and we get to see what Charlie is going through as he become lost in the world he is living with his father, then alone and trying to find his aunt. All he wants is to be loved and cared for. He wants a family and a chance to play football. He struggles helplessly as he travels through various states to locate his aunt, hungry and alone. This story, although depressing, is heart wrenching and enjoyable.
nite-owlCP More than 1 year ago
All Charley, age 15, wanted was a home, family, food on the table and a chance to play football. All Charley got was an empty house most of the time, a dad who drank and didn't come home even when he could, no food which lead Charley to meet Del. Now Del was a cheat, a liar, a drinker, and a cheater, Del also had a hourse named Pete. Charley met Pet when he went to work with Del, he needed money to eat. Then his dad was in a bad accident, well not exactly an accident, and had to ber hospitalized. Now Charley was really alone. He had an aunt whom he loved and he though she loved him. But that was when he was 11 and his dad said she didn't love him any more. He didn't even know where she lived. You will be amazed the see how resourceful Charley becomes and he grows into a young man with a lot of lessons to learn. You won't be sorry you bought this book. Took me a little to get into it, but then I couldn't put it down. I had to get use to writing like Charley was telling me his story. After I got use to his writing style, this is a sad but heart warming story. The love of a horse named Pete and a young man named Charley.
harstan More than 1 year ago
When his dad decides to start over for the zillionth time, fifteen year old Charley Thompson relocates with him from Spokane, Washington. However, shortly after moving to Portland, Oregon, Charley's irresponsible father deserts him to move in with a married woman. Soon afterward the woman's husband kills Charley's dad. Charley obtains a job working for Del Montgomery at Delta Park racetrack. However, watching what Del does to the thoroughbreds upsets Charley more than his dad's death especially when he learns his employer plans to sell his only friend Pete to people who will kill the horse. Deciding nothing is there to keep him in Portland, Charley steals Pete to keep him safe. Together they flee the Pacific Northwest. Although Charley seems to have incredible luck on his trek with people helping him and Pete providing money, food and shelter without asking questions of why a young teen was .on his own; when no one is there shelter still is easily available. Putting aside the realism probability (Vegas would take Charley and Pete off the board), fans will enjoy his plight and flight as readers will cheer the lad on while knowing all he wants is to be part of a loving family. Harriet Klausner
csrsvivr More than 1 year ago
This book came to my attention by word of mouth. I actually live in the area this book is based on and it was very cool to see this put to print. The book carries a similar darkness that John Steinbeck books do. Darkness or sadness, lost, desperate. Thank God for a happy ending. I’m glad I read this!
ShawnSorensen43 More than 1 year ago
Illuminates a quiet, restless, hopeless and a mostly morally intact side of American life. I pulled more for Charlie, the main character, the more dire his circumstances and the more desperate and short-sighted his decisions. Almost everyone he meets has an agenda, so this homeless teenager just keeps traveling. I don't know what life, good or bad, where I wouldn't see myself a lot in this character. I was so sad for Charlie even though so many have it differently, many worse. It opens up that chasm, that faint hope to bounce back up from rock bottom. This as the pages keep turning more quickly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was so impressed by this tale that I went on to buy all his others. It's sparse and packed with story, but the character of the protagonist is super strong and you'll be rooting for him from the off, I promise. I has the simple, young adult feel of some of SE Hinton in some ways, but there are moments that are graphic which make this a very adult read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LPieroni More than 1 year ago
Vlautin's newest novel, Lean on Pete, is a beautifully heartwrenching novel about a 15-year-old boy who has always had to fend for himself, but is left utterly alone when his deadbeat dad dies. Broke and friendless, Charley Thompson gets a job with a shady character by the name of Del helping him take care of his race horses. It is with one of these horses, Lean on Pete, that Charley builds a devoted friendship. Charley soon realizes that Del plans to sell Pete to men who will kill him, so he steals the horse and leaves Portland, OR and heads towards Wyoming, where he believes his aunt still lives. The story is a travel narrative and also a portrait of the degradation of a human being. Everything that could go wrong does for poor Charley, and we as readers are forced to endure every hardship and act of kindness along with him. For more of this review, and others, go to: laurareviewsbooks.blogspot.com