×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Leave Myself Behind
     

Leave Myself Behind

4.7 20
by Bart Yates
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Noah’s voice is more than just honest or original; it’s real.” --The Plain Dealer

THE WORLD ACCORDING TO NOAH YORK:


“Anybody who tells you he doesn’t have mixed feelings about his mother is either stupid or a liar.”

“Real life seldom makes me cry. The only thing that gets to me is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Leave Myself Behind 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
HGChris More than 1 year ago
I must say that the cover made me shy away from this book, but i had seen in enough to finally read it. I am glad i did. The story line between the to boys is a unique show of love, but there is a very "cheesy" side story that involves the death of a little girl, but it does bring a reality to the other characters. Here is a small excerpt that i loved. "I took a break around three yesterday afternoon and went to sit on the front steps with a thermos full of hot tea. It was kind of cold out, but warm enough in the sun that I didn't need a jacket. I had my eyes closed and was half-dozing when some instinct made me open my eyes. J.D. was walking toward me, but he was still about two blocks away and hadn't seen me yet. He had his head down and kicking through the leaves on the sidewalk. I watched him come, and i sipped my tea, and i felt the sun on my face. And then he looked up and saw me. "Did I say that my emotions weren't getting through? That's not what i meant. It's only the bad stuff that's temporarily leaving me alone. Because when J.D. finally lifted his head and saw me, it was like somebody had just told him that Satan was finally in therapy and Evil was a thing of the past. I have never seen such joy on a human face, and it was directed at me. Even more than that, it was because of me. And for one eternal instant, I swear to God I swallowed the sun, It's a wonder I wasn't cooked from the inside out, like a baked potato in a microwave. The moment passed and everything went back to normal, but I know it happened and will probably happen again. I may have granted the rest of my feelings and extended shore leave, but i don't seem to need a break from love." From Leave Myself Behind -Bart Yates
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've made it a personal ritual of mine to read this novel at least once a year. I always learn something new everytime I read. The characters are always deep and the story keeps me coming back for more. It never gets old.
Guest More than 1 year ago
as a gay teenager, i feel Noah York and his thoughts. this book is wise and comforting. the characters are perfectly crafted. i suggest this book to everyone.
ericpgh More than 1 year ago
Characters and scenes are so vivid, I could see them and felt I knew them. I read this while there were MANY other stresses in my life and it was a great distraction from them, taking my attention away from things I couldn't control and focusing me on an engaging story about a person I could relate to and understand. I even found myself identifying with his mother and his boyfriend's mother as well. It helped me extend understanding to people in my own life who were in need of it (or, for whom I needed to extend understanding and empathy in order for things to go better for ME). Yes, the book really did expose these things for me. It was a good read, I'd recommend it to almost anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing writer. Love the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When i first read this book, it was completely by accident... my dad ordered a book over the phone called "me myself and i" and the guy taking the order put in "leave myself behind"! But im verrry happy that that mistake was made... this book is one of my favorites! The characters are amazing and vivid. When noah cries, i cried. When he was misunderstood, i understood him. I felt all his anger, joy, pain, and fear... this is absolutely a must read!!! <3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SamuelB88 More than 1 year ago
This is a good novel. The main character, Noah, is a charming, sarcastic teenager living with his poet-Mother who is losing her grip on reality. Things come to a head when Noah finds out the kind of man he is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Holy crap. This novel is insanly accurate and so honest i hade to look away 'tho only for a moment' sometimes. The characters are so real, this couldn't have been more effective even if it here been a movie 'i'm kinda a cinephile'
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a very moving story about two boys, who find themselves in eachother. They find out that they have more in common than just being gay. I started reading it lastnight, and I couldn't put it down. I just finished it, and it was one of the easiest books for me to get intersted in, because it's on my level, being a gay 23 yearold, it spoke to me the way many books cannot.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is true that this plot covers no new ground. Yet, this reader discovered rich and profound meaning in the development of the characters and the description of a small town in a particular place and time. In lesser hands, the clues-in-the-wall device would have seemed a gimmick to move a mystery plot forward. Yates' novel, however, transcends genre. I was surprised to see the book pegged as 'gay fiction' since that theme doesn't emerge until halfway into the novel. It could just as well be described a comedy, a horror novel, a ghost story, a coming-of-age memoir, a tale of sexual awakening, or a fish-out-of-water saga. Much like life, this novel is not all one thing. That Yates pulls off a successful interweaving of these varying moods and genres owes to his skill in fashioning the strong voice of his narrator. Noah York speaks in the present tense, an interesting approach given that three of the main characters are dead. The other three main characters are very much alive and anxious for the future. The tension arising from this state of affairs quickly would become tedious without Noah's quick and savage sense of humor. Noah is no dour, unstable Caufield. He has none of the misanthrope in him. Rather, Noah takes a sane, if skeptical, view of mankind. He protects himself even as he instinctively reaches out. To his surprise, if not to ours, he discovers that others need him as much as he needs them. The themes in this novel are nothing smaller than life and death, good and evil. The small town is one of the last places such dichotomies are so apparent. Noah reminds us that evil is real and bears consequences that outlast death. Yet he reminds us that life and goodness endures. It is a message worth hearing, made poignant in the authentic voice of Noah York. I look forwad to more of Mr. Yates' work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a great book--this author is just wonderful. He really knows how to bring the characters to life. Bart Yates has found a reader for life!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Working in a library, you often come across books that are just simply amazing. This was one of them. It's fresh, it's haunting, it's sweet, but more importantly, it's honest. I recommend it for anyone who enjoys a good read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well I am partial to this book because my best friend Nicole Yates Uncle wrote... I think it shows that ven in todays society there is still bumps and turns one must go through. Society itself is still not excepting and it goes much further than homeseuxality. Young adults today love to dwell on catagorization(sp) ex. if one listens to a spesific style of music they are now a drugie, punk, prep or anything else. Either way it is always negative being punk is never a positiv thing nor' is being a prep. So then why would being heterosexual be better that homosexuality. That's b/c it's not, but like many things in society it is not excepted... We allow steryotypes to gives us false pretenses about people. Wether your religouse or not one person should not be allowed to judge another person by their intrest or sexuality. Anyway... The book is wonderful and I recomend reading it! ****
Guest More than 1 year ago
A few years ago my Uncle Bart began writing a book, not telling any of us in his family what it was about. He only told us that it was a coming of age story about a boy and the hardships he has to go through in order to live happily. And how he learned to cope with the prejadices of an outside world that is not ready. When I began to read this book I was quite surprised. Noah was funny, witty, strong. I cried when he cried. I felt what it meant to not be understood. And I didn't know if Noah would come out well in the end, but I'm telling you that I prayed for it. It doesn't matter that I'm related to the author, I'm glad I read this piece of Literature. And while I may not have picked it up had I not been, I advise you to. This is a story that helps one understand what they may not have been able to understand before. Thankyou...
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fresh, enjoyable, a page turner. Noah is a narrator that I fell in love with easily. The story is haunting and the style is different and enjoyable. J.D. and Noah's relationship is admirable. Recommended for any reader with any sexual preference.