×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Left Hand Magic (Golgotham Series #2)
     

Left Hand Magic (Golgotham Series #2)

4.2 27
by Nancy A. Collins
 

See All Formats & Editions

Located on Manhattan's Lower East Side, Golgotham has been the city's supernatural neighborhood for centuries. Populated by countless creatures from myth and legend, the neighborhood's most prominent citizens are the Kymera, a race of witches who maintain an uneasy truce with New York City's humans...

Tate Eresby has accepted the unusual sights and sounds of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Left Hand Magic 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
BjMiller More than 1 year ago
A great read. The heroine is not a kick-ass, hard hitting, stomp her enemies into the ground type but as she is young that may be the point. The author is doing a wonderful job growing the character. The heroine is definitely coming into her own and I have high hopes that I will get to watch her become someone who will stand on her own two feet with confidence that she can take what's coming at her and if she happens to have a handsome and loyal guy standing with her, well good for her!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely a goth urban twist on magic and bohemian lifestyle, this a fun read. Readers will probably need to read first in series to understand relationships between characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite authors. The series is really enjoyable. Can't wait for the next book!!!!!
chbrown21 More than 1 year ago
Have been reading this series from the beginning and enjoying every word. Good plot and innovative. Buy this one quick.
Masquerader888 More than 1 year ago
This series was one of my “finds” last year when I stumbled upon Right Hand Magic, the first book in this series. Ms. Collons was a new voice with fresh look at the urban fantasy genre that I had yet to be seen done before. The world of Golgotham was a living, breathing, tangible essence that nearly jumped off the pages. It was because of this experience that I was so eager to read the next book set in Golgotham, Left Hand Magic. And while the experience had a few misses, overall I was impressed with my second journey into Golgotham. So, come along with me to the gate of skulls and let us peek into NCY’s strangest neighborhood. In Left Hand Magic we pick up pretty much where we left off with the beguiling Tate still finding her place as a human among the magical residents of Golgotham and Hexe using his right hand magic to heal and lift curses while trying to downplay his status as the heir apparent for the Kymeran throne—as ceremonial—for the most part—as that title may be. Uncle Esau takes the forefront as the villain in this book, and both black or left-hand magic and racial warmongering ensue. I like this story a lot; I was fun and lighthearted while still keeping the tension to stop it from devolving into plain silliness. The plot in this book moved along already foreshadowed avenues, but in such a way as to avoid the often trite-feeling of being lead. My biggest problem with this book lay in the characterization; I even took over a month break from reading it when one too many times the main character made a stupid choice, even with the foresight to know that it was not-so-bright. That kind of decision making tends to irk me, and about two-thirds of the way through this story it managed to so to the point that I put the book down and walked away. Since finishing it, I can concede that the author did seem to have a purpose for sending her heroine into trouble, but even still it annoyed me. I hope that in future installments of this pretty fabulous series we see better choices in our main characters and a depth of characterization to match the stunning breadth of the world building.
Belinda_reads More than 1 year ago
Love the alternate reality. Different than the typical stories. Characters really draw you in, it was a fun, interesting book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful, fun and very enternaing book. The world that has been created is unique, insightful and well laid out. This second book in the series takes the promise from the first book and expands on it so well, that it could almost be a standalone. All in all 5 stars and eagerly awaiting to rad the the third Golgotham novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The world building in this series is engaging and interesting. It's terribly disappointing that the story is average and cliche. The dialog is stilted. The plot is stupidly formulaic. So disappointing given how interesting the premise is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago