×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Legend of the White Wolf
  • Alternative view 1 of Legend of the White Wolf
  • Alternative view 2 of Legend of the White Wolf
     

Legend of the White Wolf

4.0 90
by Terry Spear
 

See All Formats & Editions

Book 3 in Terry Spear's Heart of the Wolf Series

A Family Mystery Leads Her into an Unimaginable World...And a Danger They Must Face Together

Faith O'Malley travels to the frozen wilderness of Maine determined to discover what her father saw in that same region ten years ago. But her quest attracts the attention of two very

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Legend of the White Wolf 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 90 reviews.
booklover1335 More than 1 year ago
This is my first book by Terry Spear and the first I've read in her werewolf series. I was immediately pulled into the story at Cameron and Faith's first meeting. Faith had been given the key to the wrong room and walked in on Cameron fresh from a shower. I thought it was a very promising start. There was an immediate attraction between the two and couldn't wait to read the rest of the story. There are many things that I liked about the book, and there are a few things that didn't work as well for me. I liked that the book started out focusing on Cameron and Faith, and while the main story was about the danger surrounding their individual missions I thought that not enough time was spent on the relationship and bond that they were supposed to have formed. For me it seemed like they met, were thrown into a dangerous situation together, and then the reader was supposed to accept that that meant a lasting and loving relationship was formed. While I do feel that a connection was there, I just wish that their love wasn't explained as mostly a reaction physical attraction and to them being "mates". There were several dangerous moments where they needed to rely on each other, but not enough revealing moments or interactions between them to explain why they loved each other, other than their animal attraction. I felt that there were too many plots that made up the entire story and prevented the reader from forming an emotional attachment with any of the characters. You had the relationship between Faith and her father. Faith and her ex. Becoming werewolves. Dissension in the pack, two other minor love stories, and a murder mystery with an unknown enemy hunting the werewolves. I wish more time would have been spent on pack dynamics and how these newly turned wolves acclimated to their new lives. I thought it would have been more intriguing to focus on the rivalries between the two alpha females, the competition between the two alpha males for Faith as a mate, as well as the love story between Cameron and Faith. It took me longer than normal to read this book and I think the main reason was my divided attention between all of the different sub-stories going on in this book that I wasn't as invested in the characters to have a desire to find out what would happen next. The mystery surrounding the murders was intriguing. I did like Cameron and Faith as characters and wanted to learn more about them, and despite not having read any of the other books in this series I didn't feel lost. I think a lot of that had to do with the lack of focus on the werewolf pack aspect despite it being a paranormal romance. In the end I wanted more paranormal, and more romance in Legend of the White Wolf. Ratings: 3.5 stars
SheilaDeeth More than 1 year ago
I like Terry Spear's wolves. I guess that would be a given, since I love dogs so much. But of course, wolves aren't dogs. They're not tame. They're not pets. Normally they're not human either, but Terry Spear creates an intriguing, and ever-growing world of werewolves who are not the scary, all teeth and no brains creatures of children's nightmares, but long-lived, loving, wild, enticing strangers, hiding away from our world, sometimes in plain view. Legend of the White Wolf takes private investigator Faith O'Malley to the frozen wilderness of Maine to look for missing documents. There she meets another PI who's searching for his missing partners. But both of them end up engaging the interest of a local wolf-pack a little more closely than they'd like. These wolves are white and beautiful, "owned" by a man who runs adventure tours in the back-country. But the private investigators weren't intending on quite such world-changing adventures. Throw in a mysterious red wolf, unhelpful cops, the sweet old lady in the hot tub, a snowmobile chase, huskies and lights in the sky, and you have another delightful tale with old friends and new, expanding the wondrous world of Terry's wolves. A worthy addition to the series, I thoroughly enjoyed this from start to finish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is great. I love it very much. Romance howls off the pages!
cathysdesigns More than 1 year ago
Terry Spear is joy to read as she keeps her reader interested in finding what happens next.Her stories of werewolves are different than many others and learning the behavioral moves of different species and their inter actions is fun. This book was different as it dealt with becoming a werewolf without help or mentor ship and the problems that caused.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A refreshing series I bought the first and was caught up in them right off the bat, and bought the rest within the same week. I have now read them all one right after the other
Ladystorm More than 1 year ago
This is the first book of Terry Spear I have read, so I have not read the other books in the series and normally I don't like doing that, but the book sounded interesting. It can be read alone even though it is part of a series. I am a huge werewolf fan so I really enjoyed this book and its interesting tale. Cameron is in search of his two P.I friends who have not come back after a hunt. Cameron and his other partner received distressing calls from them and so Cameron goes in search of them while Gavin stays behind to work the P.I business. Faith is looking for her ex-boyfriend Hilson who she believes has stolen her fathers research paper. Her father swears that he saw some half wolf half man beast while on a search for bigfoot and she desperately wants to prove that her father is not insane. She also needs to deal with Hilson. Both Cameron and Faith end up at Back Country Tours looking for some answers and sparks fly. Cameron is instantly taken with Faith and is happy to find out that they will be stay in the same lodging cabins. With a huge storm coming in they end up spending the night in the same cabin. Kintail, and his pack are the artic wolfs that everyone sees at the back country tour business. When Kintail sets his sights on Faith, he automatically does not like Cameron. Then Cameron is turned into a werewolf causing a whole knew set of problems for Kintail. Then by accident Faith is bite and now they are both werewolfs with out a pack. That is not there biggest problem as there are people out there who are trying to hunt down the magical creatures... This book has great characters. The hero Cameron is sexy and strong and the heroine Faith is sweet and also strong. The bad guys are those kind that you love to hate. Kintail, is agrressive and strong and you don't want to like him but a part of you does. Lila Grayson, well she can just make you mad, but you still like her. If you like urban fantasy romances I think you would like this.
wolf-lover More than 1 year ago
This was a great read by Terry. I have loved all her books in the Wolf Series. This one is different from the other. It takes place in Maine and is about the White Wolfs. Two people Cameron and Faith are in Maine for different reason...neither one of them are wolfs. They are investigating a mysteries on their own. They meet and there is an instant attraction. Without giving the book away they do fall in love and the whole "Terry Spear/Werewolf story" takes on a new meaning. I would recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MyndiL More than 1 year ago
I liked this book in the Heart of Wolf series, but perhaps not quite as much as books 2 and 3.  There was a lot going on in this one and sometimes it was hard to stay focused.  I also didn't feel the pull that I felt with the previous two books where I didn't want to put the book down.  That being said, it was still a good book.  There was a lot of mystery to be solved, more wolf couples to root for, and a bad guy to antagonize everyone.  I'm surprised to be seeing so much of Leidolf in these books and I'm very curious when or if he'll be getting his own story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First book I ever read from Terry Spear. This is were my addiction began. I don't think I've read a book from her that I didn't like!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the characters!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love reading and sci-fi and paranormal romances are some of my favorites. I wanted this to be good as it's part of a series, but I found it lacking. It was difficult to relate to the characters or feel empathy for them. The story is awkward and choppy and just when you begin to like and feel the characters, the momentum is lost.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Has some good points. Wish I had known about bundle of wolf stories before buying this book. I am on page 168 I think I am going to skip rest of book and read the ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The storyline was good, and there were some really gripping sections, but overall it was just ok.