×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Leopard Prince (Princes Trilogy #2)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Leopard Prince (Princes Trilogy #2)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Leopard Prince (Princes Trilogy #2)
     

The Leopard Prince (Princes Trilogy #2)

4.1 87
by Elizabeth Hoyt
 

See All Formats & Editions

THE ONE THING A LADY MUST NEVER DO...
Wealthy Lady Georgina Maitland doesn't want a husband, though she could use a good steward to run her estates. One look at Harry Pye, and Georgina knows she's not just dealing with a servant, but a man.

IS FALL IN LOVE...
Harry has known many aristocrats - including one particular nobleman who is his sworn enemy. But

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Leopard Prince (Princes Series #2) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 87 reviews.
chance More than 1 year ago
Lady Georgina Maitland is an independent, 28-year-old woman of means; she owns her own property and manages a large estate with the help of her land steward, Mr. Harry Pye. George has no desire to marry--as she is quite happy with the relative freedom of her life--but when her neighbor's livestock is poisoned and the blame is placed upon Harry, George is drawn closer to her taciturn steward as she defends his innocence and helps him search for the true culprit. Harry and George's relationship is complicated by the class disparity between them, and Elizabeth Hoyt doesn't dismiss the complications that could arise from such a relationship. Harry must face ridicule for being a "kept man" and a fortune hunter, and George must risk her reputation and social standing to make Harry a part of her life. _The Leopard Prince_ was an enjoyable read and a strong second entry to the Princes Series (and cameos from a few _Raven Prince_ characters solidify the connections between the two books). Unlike _The Raven Prince_, this book is a bit slow going initially, but once the narrative picks up, the novel is difficult to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked the role reversal from the usual high-ranking hero and lowborn heroine. Makes for a nice change.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you liked The Raven Prince, be sure to buy this outstanding sequel! The romance is great and the characters are engaging! Don't miss it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Elizabeth Hoyt captivated romance fans with her previous story The Raven Prince. In The Leopard Prince she mesmerizes fans with a sexy and passionate story about a bastard land steward and an aristocrat lady who fall in love. Harry Pye has led a tragic and rough life. As the bastard son of Lord Granville he has lost his father, a part of his hand, his home, and good name in an attempt to save his father's life and mother's honor from the evil Lord Granville who uses and discards not just women, but anything around him. In a strange twist Harry became one of his discards, while Lord Granville kept Harry's brother Bennett as his heir. The handsome Harry is exiled for years, but then recently returns to the land of his birth and becomes the land steward to Lady Georgina Maitland. The beautiful, charming and independent Georgina has inherited the lands next to Lord Granville from her grandmother. Already gossips are focused on her because it is shocking for a lady of the ton to own and operate her own lands. The rumor mill is really brewing now that it is rumored she is infatuated with her handsome steward. Georgina is more than infatuated with Harry. The moment they meet desire sparks and passion grows. She is captivated with his looks, strength and talent for working her lands, as well as his talent for animal wood carvings. As they meet for many moments of passion, Georgina begins to tell Harry the story of a Leopard Prince. The story and Georgina captivate Harry and he gifts her with a carving of a Leopard in a cage. Soon their idyll is interrupted as Harry is accused of poisoning the sheep of local farmers and in a further shocking incident where he is accused of poisoning a local woman. And to make matters worse, Georgina's family become involved with trying to drive a wedge between them and lure her away from Harry. As Georgina and those close to Harry work at proving his innocence, Georgina and Harry's love grows. But then Georgina begins to feel that maybe her love may hurt more than help Harry. She makes a difficult decision to free the Leopard from his cage, obey her family, and marry within the nobility. As the many truths in Harry's past are revealed and numerous accusations are overcome, can Harry prove to Georgina that he truly loves her before she makes a mistake and marries the wrong man for her? Will Georgina come to realize that true love is what can set the Leopard free? The Leopard Prince is a touching and moving story with characters and a storyline so interesting that the reader does not want the story to end. A series destined for romance collectors, fans are looking forward to the next book in the Prince Series, The Serpent Prince.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1760 twenty-eight years old Georgina Maitland is wealthy so she can enjoy being single she has no plans for a spouse as that means giving up her independence. When her sister pleads with her to return to the family estate in Yorkshire, she flees London with her land manager Harry Pye.-------------------- At her home she learns that their neighbor Magistrate Silas Granville blames Harry for poisoning his sheep and demands she fire him before he arrests him. George refuses and directs Silas to leave her home. As tension mounts because Silas and Harry have a history involving his father, George and her estate manager fall in love. However, he will do nothing to jeopardize her position while she fears losing her autonomy if she boldly goes after the man she loves.-------------------------- This is an interesting Georgian romance between an aristocrat and her commoner employee that showcases what happens when a person in authority abuses their public trust. The story line is at its best when it concentrates on the lead pair including incidents fostered on them by their odious neighbor. Silas is so nasty he is more a caricature of an abusive person though his actions serve as a warning not to allow one person so much authority even in a localized setting. He affirms Lord Acton¿s admonition on power and another of his cautionary commentaries that ¿Every thing secret degenerates, even the administration of justice nothing is safe that does not show how it can bear discussion and publicity¿. Elizbath Hoyt provides an exhilarating historical romance that will have waiting for the next prince to appear.---------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But if you're offended by earthy writing,this may not be the book for you. The characterization is perfect and the story has many twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat. Elizabeth Hoyt is a very good writer... I am a teacher with an English degree.
LoriC5 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book, however I admit, I had it wasn’t the easiest to stay focused on. There were some glitches that really bothered me. George is a delightful character. She is strong and independent, and yet she is clearly an innocent. She doesn’t have the lives her life in honesty, not really understanding the blacker side of life until it has forced its way into her vision. I wasn’t a fan of the nickname, I could see the author’s point in emphasizing Georgina’s practical ways. However, it also brings to mind the image of a tomboy and while she may have been as a child, she is certainly all woman at the time of the story.  Harry is the strong, silent type, which can be very sexy. He’s certainly been handed the short end of the stick. His sense of propriety when concerning Georgina is admirable in the beginning. However, he fights it a little too hard at the end. He fails to see that Georgina would be just as ridiculed as he, and instead takes the coward’s way out in seeing only how people would look at him. That is a smaller flaw though. He is honest and an incredibly hard worker. He doesn’t appear to have much ambition, however it is implied that he does in the way he worked his way up to steward. Georgina’s brothers were my favorite characters. Who wouldn’t fall in love with Oscar? And, Tony is the older brother that guides and protects you, showering you with love, while at the same time commanding your respect. I commend the author for taking a different route with the brothers. So many times authors will cast the brothers and the “tough love” type. Putting propriety above all else and refusing to see another solution. However, Georgina’s brothers are so understanding and supportive, despite their wish that she would keep to the rules of society.  I’ve always been a fan of historical romance. However, at times, it can be difficult to get into a story if the author has used a writing style that is old fashioned, or written in a way as to make it fit the time period. The Leopard Prince straddles that line. The writing made it a little more difficult to lose myself in the storyline. Not because it was hard to understand, but because it wasn’t as smooth. It also contradicted it’s self from time to time. The author’s voice is a little more stiff and upper crust (fitting for English Aristocracy), but then at times, she used a more crude language that threw the cadence off. When it came from someone low born, I could see the connection, but it still broke the stream of my concentration on the story. I’m not sure exactly what the author was aiming for with Violet as a character. I don’t think the intention was for the reader to dislike her, but rather to see a spoiled, younger sister, still stuck in the selfish ways of a teenager. But, finding sympathy for her. Unfortunately, I came away really disliking her. She never redeemed herself in my eyes.  The story itself is a good one. I was thrown for a loop when it was discovered who the culprit was. The ending was very cute and left me with the satisfaction of a good HEA. As I said, I enjoyed the read for the most part, however it wasn’t one that pulled me in and it isn’t a book that will truly stick with me. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great series. Easy read and great for those lazy days at the pool or beach.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all her books and look forward to the fairy tales she writes. Yes, I have my favorites in the various series, but they all are five star reads to me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago