×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls
     

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls

3.9 160
by David Sedaris
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Sedaris is a remarkably skilled storyteller and savvy essayist....And based, on this latest collection, he's getting only better." —Los Angeles Times

A guy walks into a bar car and...

From here the story could take many turns. When the guy is David Sedaris, the possibilities are endless, but the result is always the same: he will both

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 160 reviews.
wordfiend More than 1 year ago
David Sedaris is at his usual level of fantastic with this book. In addition to being hilarious and thought provoking, I really felt like he was letting his guard down for the first time. There was some interesting, and I felt honest, insights into Sedaris' politics, beliefs and interpersonal relations that go a little deeper than in his previous books. So not your book if you're easily offended by jabs at social norms and religion, or dislike same-sex relationships, Democrats or French people. For the rest of us, it's awesome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
David Sedaris is a very witty writer. He has a grasp of subtle humor not many writers have. I was tickled by his writing in this new book. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is another great book by David Sedaris, one of my favorite authors. The writing in this book is light and fun. I really enjoyed this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I simply love David Sedaris' writing. He is one of the modern masters of the written word. This book is funny and insightful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sorry, I don't know how to say this any differently but, "This is a wet your pants" funny book. I've read all of his books and he is hilarious. No matter what he writes, I'll buy, because it makes your heart happy. Thanks David, keep writing.
Lizzy5 More than 1 year ago
David is still a very funny writer but is starting to sound a little cranky. This is better than the squirrel book though. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny as ever. I love Sedaris and this is his best work yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was so excited to get the newest from David Sedaris (his earlier memoirs are divine), that I unhesitatingly recommended it before reading it myself. That's the last time I do that. Although there were a few gems, I was ultimately underwhelmed and disappointed. Someone mentioned in another review that he's gotten too cranky - I'd have to agree - hyper-cynicism just isn't that funny, ironic or insightful; it's just cranky. Maybe he's running out of the kind of personal anecdotes that made his previous books so good...
DaveNorman1 More than 1 year ago
It's hard to rank this new book. His best book was Naked and it's been downhill from there. Still, on his worst day, Sedaris is a good writer. Other writers are just as good though but never get the press.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It is one of those books you just have to read little bits of out loud to others, cause you just can't help yourself!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There really is a time when "cynical" becomes plain mean. You are a bitter and mean man Mr. Sadaris. A person's pain can ennoble, or cause greater empathy. Sorry to say you chose viciousness thinly cloaked as "humor." Dear reader, don't fall for reviews as I did. Choose something to bring a little joy, mystery, or humor to your life. You deserve more than this mock-humorous diatribe for your hard earned dollars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love David Sedaris--I've been reading his books since high school--and if you've never read any of his books, stop reading this right now and go find one. This is another excellent book by one of my favorite authors; I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good laugh.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sadder than his previous books, a bit heartwrenching, actually. but every bit as insightful and hilarious as i have come to expect from David Sedaris.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
David Sedaris is so funny! I can relate to his life experiences.... He is so comical in his writing, and a can relate to the experiences in his life, and the way that parents were back then. His parents could have been mine. I'd love to meet him! I am not sure that everyone can relate...but I personally loved this book. .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although there were some very funny moments, this book was lacking. Okay but not great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A master of human observation and narrative twists, David Sedarius's narrative draws the reader in. One happily follows him through his adventures in dental hygiene (far more entertaining as he tells it than a mundane dental patient's recount) and further adventures in France. This is a delightful read. Vive Sedarius!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello, I already know that I already posted a review, but there is something I left out in my pther review. I agree a little with written like a cranky man. I kind of think the same.
MaliM More than 1 year ago
Loved the writing and his take on life. Highly recommend. This book made me want to read his other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Written like a cranky old man.
missbeverlyann More than 1 year ago
Light hearted read with every chapter being new and refreshing. Many moments of laughter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bought the CD because I enjoy hearing Sedaris "tell the story." I felt it was not as humorous as much of his other work. I loved Squirrel and Chipmunk but Owls.... disappointed me.
Stephreads More than 1 year ago
Hilarious, as expected. Ridiculously left-leaning, in the best way possible. My favorites were the ones written from very exaggerated opposite personas from his.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Funny as usual.
Marla-Singer More than 1 year ago
Funniest book I read in my life. And the funnier book of his.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago