×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Letters to a Young Therapist: Stories of Hope and Healing
     

Letters to a Young Therapist: Stories of Hope and Healing

5.0 7
by Mary Pipher
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0465057667

ISBN-13: 9780465057665

Pub. Date: 07/19/2003

Publisher: Basic Books

Mary Pipher's groundbreaking investigation of America's "girl-poisoning culture," Reviving Ophelia, has sold nearly two million copies and established its author as one of the nation's foremost authorities on family issues. In Letters to a Young Therapist, Dr. Pipher shares what she has learned in thirty years as a therapist, helping warring families,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Letters to a Young Therapist: Stories of Hope and Healing 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved Pipher's 'Reviving Ophelia', so when I saw 'Letters to a Young Therapist' at my college bookstore, I immediatly checked it out at the local library. The book is just amazing. The case studies are so interesting, but they are presented in a down-to-earth way. There is no psychological lingo. The whole book is in the form of letters written to Pipher's favorite graduate student. The quotes that Pipher uses are outstanding.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was assigned to read this for my Counseling Theory class in college. This is an easy read, so teens can also read this if they are interested. Pipher is a true artist with storytelling and makes her advice/ideas connect to the reader. She gives a variety of ideas concerning the harms of media, the healing of nature and disconnecting from our busy lives, ethics, how to handle all types of clients,etc. While providing advice, she does this with examples in her storytelling and since this is a book of compiled letters to a dear student ofhers, she relates topics to her life, the student's life, and current events. She helped me feel more assured in my career choice and I feel as if the book caters to being my personal mentor. I feel more equipped in preparation for counseling others. Pipher has become a mentor to me and has since became one of my favorite psychologists and authors. She has a Facebook page- like her page. I left her a comment about how she has impacted my career choice and she messaged back! She is very sweet. With this book, I felt as though I was talking to an old friend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
A highlight in my life was meeting Mary Pipher at a lecture in Pasadena several years ago. She spoke the simple truth of how our society has turned into a 'hotel society' (where the doors go slam-click, and no one ventures outside to meet their neighbors anymore) instead of the 'communtiy society' that she grew up with in the 50's, where directions were given by whose farm you drove by, etc. and your neighbors would report to your parents if they knew you were misbehaving. There was a sense of a 'village' that cared about their youth. I can tell you that this lady is 100% authentic, full of love and optimism in the human race. There is something about being around her, or reading her books, that engenders acceptance, grace, and a certain warmth, and that extends to all people she meets. She inspires us to try living in a more connected way with others. Reading this book underscores our complexity as humans, the need for acceptance of our human foibles, and that most are truly doing the best we can, in a society that never slows down. Please read this book to restore your faith in the goodness in people, and the healing which occurs in relationship to others, never in a vacuum.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is not only fabulously written, but it is a beautiful web of stories offering hope and inspiration, tears and giggles and a guide-to-life. Pipher is an incredible woman. By honestly and wholeheartedly opening herself and revealing her vulnerabilities she helps many people. In this book she offers those widsoms to a young student whom she mentors. This book should be required reading for life on earth - it reminded me to smell flowers, enjoy birds flying overhead, give a hug and not be afraid to be honest, think of my own needs and to be open to change, love and life. All this is the basis for her being able to help others.