×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Leviathan Wakes (Expanse Series #1)
     

Leviathan Wakes (Expanse Series #1)

4.4 182
by James S. A. Corey
 

See All Formats & Editions

This book is the basis for the first season of The Expanse, now a major television series from Syfy!

Leviathan Wakes is James S. A. Corey's first novel in the epic, New York Times bestselling series the Expanse, a modern masterwork of science fiction where humanity has colonized the solar system

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Leviathan Wakes 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 182 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow, from the first to the last page. This science fiction is both detective noir, classic space horror, believable science, space cowboy, and elements building to a great space opera. Usually books only tackle one of these types and this uses them all. The chapter transitions between the main characters was brilliant as the storyline twisted together getting tighter and tighter as you read. You can tell the aurthors really wove and stitched together a great read. Read this book first, then the Butcher of Anderson Station next.
deesy58 More than 1 year ago
This is the first book of the Expanse series. It is very well written with virtually no editing errors. The plot is spellbinding, the characters are believable, and the dialog is crisp. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I plan to read more of this author's work. Book Two of the series is scheduled for release in late June of 2012.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lots of zipping around the solar system. Just the right amount of shooting and destruction. Throw in a little unrequited romance, plus the mysterious aliens and you've got a great classic SF yarn. I could stories like this all day! Had a couple slow chapters here and there, but what book doesn't. I'd recommend it.
ArtJB More than 1 year ago
A great read for all the science fiction readers out there. Has a good mix of action and dialogue, and the plot keeps you hooked all the way through. I found both main characters interesting, and never felt that I was missing out when the narrative would switch to the other characters. One of the several things I found interesting about this book, is the mix of noir and detective story elements. Not something I typically read, and I found it very inetersting and well done. Overall Leviathan Wakes is a great start to the Expanse Series and I cannot wait to see where the outcome of this story leads to in the next book. I highly recommend this book for anyone looking for a great space opera story.
Skuldren More than 1 year ago
Leviathan Wakes is a story that starts small but grows larger without ever losing focus of its core element: the characters. While the authors do present a rich setting for the story with wild action, its strongest feature is the cast. The characters in the story are very deep and compelling. From their run ins with space hijacking to extragalactic horrors, their thoughts and emotions steer the way for a thrilling adventure. There are three main characters in the story. First up is Jim Holden, an ex-naval officer turned executive officer on a commercial ice hauler. Jim makes a living off running crucial water resources to the Belt; the outer colonies in our solar systems. But things go wrong for Jim and his crew when they run into a mysterious ship. Then there’s Miller, a Belter cop living on the fringe and watching the solar system go to chaos. One wrong thing leads to another for Miller, and things get ever more complicated as he digs into a mysterious case. Lastly is the mystery girl herself, Julie Mao. She’s the first character introduced and the puzzle piece that brings together Holden and Miller. Even though her page time is limited, her role in the story proves to be very significant. The book has a lot of good elements working for it. It has well crafted prose that flows smoothly off the page. The storytelling has good pacing and dialog that really brings out the personality in the characters. There are good descriptions of the environments that help keep the scenes easily imaginable even when the setting is beyond anything humans have yet to achieve. The plot is interwoven in a way that keeps the narrative going with intrigue and suspense. At first there is minimal action, but that changes as the story builds. It’s compelling and holds your interest. Plus it gets good really quick. If I had to compare the story to something else, I’d say it’s a mix between David Weber’s Honor Harrington series and Timothy Zahn’s novel The Icarus Hunt. With Honor Harrington, there’s that nice, expansive feel of this giant space setting between different governments. There’s that element of intriguing politics but there’s also that touch of science and military action. With The Icarus Hunt, there’s that smaller scope with a detective bent. In both cases, there’s strong characters. Leviathan Wakes shares some of those traits, but with more grit and a touch of horror. As a pretty big sci-fi fan, I thought Leviathan Wakes was a great read. The characters easily swept me away and the story kept me entertained all the way to the end. While this is the first story in a series, it does a good job of feeling complete and satisfying. I give it a five out of five.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book twice now, and the second time through was just as much fun as the first. That's the perfect way to describe this book: Fun. The pages fly by and the story never lets up. You get to know the characters and the worlds and you begin to care about them, and yet the plot never seems to slow. It remains engaging and fun throughout. If you are interested in a fast-paced, fun-filled foray into a believable future filled with flawed but likeable characters, this is the book for you. Book two cant come soon enough!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm writing this review for my husband. He was completely engrossed and, believe me, it takes a lot for him to become absorbed in a book. He couldn't put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well realized vision of human life as is spreads into the outer planets and the inevitable politcal and social divisions that will engender.
Anonymous 5 months ago
So imagine a noir detective thriller, a Corsair swashbuckling pirate novel, and a zombie apocalypse novel mixed in one. Can't do it? Well read this book and you see it can be done! In the future space is open to us. The human race dwells all over the solar system, from the cold asteroid belt to the warmth of newly terraformed Mars deserts. James Holden is an earth captain dishonorably discharged due to a sense of honor who slums it on a mining ship. Miller is a detective on Ceres station who solves crimes with a gun in one hand and a bottle in the other. They both end up on the trail of a girl named Julie, who is missing. With war about to break out and a deadly disease mutating anyone it touches these are just the beginning of their problems. James Holden's perspective plays out a lot like a pirate novel. Complete with mutiny, being lost at sea (in this case space) and commandeering an enemy ship. Miller on the other hand looks for clues. His is the noir gritty novel set on a claustrophobic city of tunnels and dark passegeways. These perspectives seem like they'll be at odds but they come together flawlessly. You'll be on the edge of your seat anticipating Miller's next clue as much as James Holden's newest escapades with his crew. Both sides are just as interesting and make for a fabulous story. Pick this one up, even if you aren't a fan of sci Fi. You won't regret it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reminds me a bit of Peter Hamilton. I like Hamilton!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Corey's novel is an interesting combination of space opera and detective noir. The plot and characters did a rather good job of surprising and compelling me. Good stuff.
Bifrost More than 1 year ago
Film noir meets space action flick is the best description I can think of. The overall pacing of the novel is thrill ride material. I'd give it a 5 but the authors fired the plot device in order to end the book on a somewhat less than logical note. That will not keep me from reading the next instalment, however.
minininja More than 1 year ago
Easily one of the best books I have read this year, while it's touted as being space opera it's really more of a kitchen sink and has a little bit of everything stylistically. I'll be eagerly awaiting the following titles.
Anonymous 8 days ago
This was a real page turner for me. Which was good because I felt that there were several areas that could be shortened up.
ReadingOverTheShoulder 4 months ago
This book is amazing! The characters feel real, the plot puts you on the edge of your seat, and you're left craving more. Lastly, the world setting is detailed and vast. This is definitely an adult book. Full review @ ReadingOverTheShoulder.com
Anonymous 4 months ago
Then it shifted to an awkward mix of horror and shoot em up western with bad dialog and flat characters. Author shows promise but she needs a better editor
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
purrfectmatch More than 1 year ago
This is the first book in The Expanse series. I had never heard of this series and after seeing a teaser for The Expanse on the SyFy channel, I did some digging on the show and found out it was based on a book series. I decided to give the t.v. series try, and watched the four episodes on demand before the premiere and was hooked, so I thought , why not check out the book. I am glad I gave this book a chance. Its a wonderfully crafted tale that is more than traditional sci-fi. Its a mix of mystery, with a nod to classic noir, a tad of horror thrown in, and a eclectic cast of characters, who are a perfect fit in this space tale. It all starts with a missing gal, and the cop assigned to her case. In space, a crew of ice haulers come across a secret that could change the universe, a secret worth killing for, and the beginning of an story worth the time exploring. P.S. The t.v. series respectfully represents the world of The Expanse series. I enjoy series where you can see the author utilizing additions or subtractions if they rewrote the tale. Not all adaptations are good, but this one is worth seeing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A very well written book. The details of the ships and how everything worked made the space exploration of the story seem possible and attainable. The characters were fleshed out and complex. The plot original and gripoing. A grest sci-fi novel. I don't know why, but this book was printed with another full fantasy book after it... I was afraid this book would go on too long only to find a second book included with it. I did not read this second story, but I didn't like how they squeezed this book into a totally unconnected story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beverly_D More than 1 year ago
If you like noir, and action-adventure, you may love this For a really long book (550+ pages) it's very fast paced. There's a classic noir feel, and Miller, one of the characters is more caricature than character - 40/50-something police detective turned alcoholic, with one last chance to make his life mean something, obsessed by a vibrant young female half his age. At least they didn't make her equally obsessed back. Miller is all practicality, and his opposite end, Holden, is all shiny idealism. Meanwhile, there is a bug? bioweapon? being used [spoiler alert] to turn people into vomit-zombies, lots of narrow escape space battles and things blowing up. There's also inventive space dialogue, good world-building, and interesting extrapolations as to how humans might physically change, after a few generations of living in space. I did keep turning pages, but I was not enthralled enough by the story, the characters, or the writing style to want to read the sequels. While the female characters in the story were not treated simply as decorative space babes, they also didn't have that much to do. The main characters, their major allies and foes, all male. The middle aged drunken detective trope bores me, and I have only so much patience for stories that are basically "whose is bigger?" But if you like noir, sci-fi adventure stories, or measuring contests, you'll probably enjoy this book a lot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago